We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“interesting old property”
other travellers have booked this property
The Station Master House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Station Master House
Bathroom with over bath shower Bathroom with period and modern wash basin
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
The Station Master House
Bathroom with over bath shower
Bathroom with period and modern wash basin
Double room named Kathleen after one of the locomotives that ran on the GNR line
Double room Kathleen
Double room Kathleen
Twin room named Lady Edith after one of the locomotives that ran on the GNR line
Twin room Lady Edith
Twin room Lady Edith
Kitchen with period decoration
Kitchen
Dining room
Dining room
Sitting room
Sitting room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Belturbet, County Cavan

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
widg2015
Ennis, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“interesting old property”
Reviewed 6 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were really happy to stay in the old Station Master's House, with its simple furnishings and spacious comfortable rooms so it retained a feel of the past. We were impressed to hear that this property and the other railway buildings nearby were restored by a community development initiative and put to good use by the local community, and were more than pleased to support such an initiative. It was an educational experience for the children, and while there is no garden at this property there is plenty of open space around it (which did mean that local youths used it for setting off firecrackers one night!) and the platform, trains and the great little railway museum adjoining the house all add interest. There is plenty to explore in the surrounding area. Our stay was in October and we found the house warm enough at all times thanks to the well-functioning storage heaters. The manager was friendly and helpful and the private tour of the museum & buildings was an added bonus which gave us more insights into the local history of the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: interesting old property
Liked least: Not great lighting in dining room, lack of garden/enclosed outdoor area, steepish stairs (was initially worried about the kids)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathy705
kildare
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“fantastic accommodation”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

really enjoyed our family get together in this lovely , clean , well maintained house. There was much needed space, two bedrooms, bathroom and 2 rooms to entertain in, plus well equipped kitchen.
outdoor area for bbq, with fantastic barbacue, we had a great family bbq, but alas didnt have the weather, but it was truly great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quietness , and real peaceful
Liked least: television was on the blink. need to replace cd /radio player its awful
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2015
Thanks so much for supporting our local community by booking at the Belturbet Station Masters House & for your kind comments. Many hours of hard work from many volunteers in the town have turned this project into a reality, so it is a great pleasure to see people enjoying the house..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yrm121
Liverpool, United Kingdom
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quaint self-catering cottage within easy reach of local amenities”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The Station Masters House allows you to stay in a beautiful historic building. We were thrilled to have the opportunity to get an insight into how the Station Master would have lived in the late Victorian period. The local community who have restored the house have paid excellent attention to every detail - there's an open fire in the sitting room, 1930s furniture in one of the bedrooms, as well as lovely touches like a jug and wash bowl in the bathroom.
I stayed at the Station Masters House with my young family. It was the perfect location for us. It was well equipped and very comfortable. My kids loved the fact that they were getting an insight to the 'olden days'. As part of stay we availed of the tour of the Museum next door to the Station Masters House - this was a real treat! The guide was the third generation to be involved with Belturbet Railway Station and gave us a fantastic tour, full of fascinating anecdotes. Definitely will be staying there again!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for the kind words. As you mention in your review a lot of hard work from many hands has gone into the Belturbet Station Masters House to bring it to the fabulous house it is today and it is yours and other kind reviews that make it all worth while. The Belturbet Community Development Association sincerely thanks you for your support.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uktravell...
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely property in quiet location”
Reviewed 8 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed in this property for 2 weeks in May and loved it! The house has been beautifully restored and is spotlessly clean. The kitchen is well equipped. On the colder days, we found it to be nice and cosy. It is in a very peaceful location tucked away from the main part of town, which is within easy walking distance. Lots to see and do in the area. Lovely scenery, golf, fishing and spa resorts nearby. Cavan town is only 15 minutes away.
Kevin and Charmain looked after us really well, with a warm welcome, lots of useful local information and ensuring that the property is kept to a high standard.
We hope to visit again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The shower - could be more powerful
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2015
Thank you so much for the kind remarks and fantastic review. It was a pleasure welcoming you and your travel partner to our Station Masters House. We look forward to seeing you guys again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freddie66...
Belturbet, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous restoration”
Reviewed 22 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

My travel partner & I recently stayed in this fantastically restored 19th century Station Masters House in Belturbet County Cavan, Ireland.. Every detail of the building has been given care and it is a credit to the community that own & run it. The house has two bedrooms, a twin and a double with a single bathroom, all of which were found spotlessly clean.. Upon arrival our host had the fire lit and the house was very warm & cosy, a warmer welcome you could not ask for on a cold December evening.
During your stay I would well recommend the guided tour of the museum next door as it has many fascinating photos and memorabilia of the station and the town of Belturbet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house
Liked least: No sky tv
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2015
Hi Freddie,
As our guests reviews and thought are very important to us we appreciate each and every one.
We thank you for your kind words and hope to see you in the not too distant future.
Regards, Kevin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing