We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, comfortable, ideal holiday home for a...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Foalies Bridge

Front view of house overlooking Upper Lough Erne wetlands
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view of house overlooking Upper Lough Erne wetlands
Lounge looking towards front of house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Front view of house overlooking Upper Lough Erne wetlands
Lounge looking towards front of house
Lounge looking towards the rear of house
Kitchen
Dining area with views of marina and wetlands
Bedroom 1 en-suite
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2 en-suite
Bedroom 4
View from Bedroom 2 window
The Foalies Bridge Estate from the water
The private Foalies Bridge marina
View of the marina
Wetlands looking South
Wetlands looking North
Just one small Pike caught right here at Foalies Bridge
Boat available for hire with house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Belturbet, County Cavan

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Sylvia P
Kettering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely, comfortable, ideal holiday home for a family”
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I wonder if the previous reviewer, Victoria, stayed at this property as we cannot relate whatsoever her comments to our experience.

The house was immaculate, squeeky clean, tidy, well equipped and comfortable and we much appreciated the free WIFI. We were asked at the time of booking how many beds we wanted made up, we said two as we were a party of two adult couples. However, we used the other bedrooms for coats, luggage etc, so they were available. We were advised in advance of the extra charge for gas, which wasn't a problem.

We were met on arrival as arranged in order to gain access through the security gates of the development, and were then given a zapper so we could get in and out when we wanted. We knew that checkout time was 10am and were met by the guardians at the designated time as arranged.

We felt totally at home here and enjoyed the private garden area and picnic bench there. As the development is 3 miles from Beltrubet in a fairly remote area on the banks of the River Erne, we appreciated the security arrangements of this small community. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and found the whole experience a pleasure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ease of use, and comfort
Liked least: Noisy plumbing at times
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2015
All reviews on our lovely holiday home are welcome, be they good or bad as they help us to continually improve and make the place even better. In this case we are very happy you enjoyed your stay and found the house and its surrounding so enjoyable. We really look forward to welcoming you and your travel party again in the near future. Kind regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V1ct0r1a...
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Such a shame - the location is lovely, but the upkeep of this property, much like the level of service is below par.”
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a lovely holiday, but this was mainly down to the unexpectedly nice weather we had.

On arrival, we were told that only 2 of the 4 bedrooms had been made up - we had particularly chosen the cottage for the 4 bedrooms, mainly due to having my mobility-restricted father-in-law staying with us for 1 night, however on arrival we were told that the rest of the linen was locked away. Whilst a 3rd room was made up when we were out for the day, I feel that even if you assume we would only be using 2 rooms, we should at least have had access to the linen for us to personally make up the other 2 bedrooms - we shouldn't have been forced to ask for a further bedroom to be made up.

When going up to our bedroom to unpack, i (thankfully it was me and not either of my two young sons) nearly stepped on two earrings which had been left on the floor, presumably by a former resident, if the upstairs had been even lightly hoovered before our arrival, these would have been noticed.

Along the same lines, there were a great deal of thick black long hairs, particularly in the upstairs of the property, a clump of which I had to remove from my sons pillow.

One of the towels left for us in a bale was badly stained (needless to say we didn't use this one!).

Beware of the damage deposit - a large proportion of the crockery is chipped/damaged - we have been charged for the replacement of a plate that we did not damage, this is despite us writing to Kevin to advise of this and to complain about the lack of cleanliness.

Another warning - you get charged for using the heating, this wouldn't be too bad if you knew how much it was costing, but you get told how many units you've used at the end of the holiday, we barely used the heating and were told that we would be charged 21 euros and that this plus the fee for replacing the plate (thank god they haven't blamed us for all the dodgy glasses/mugs/plates) would be taken out of our £100 damage deposit, but they have taken the fee out in pounds not euros as I was told!!! As if having to wait a week and a half wasn't long enough for getting your own money back, we have also not been refunded the amount we are owed as we've been charged in pounds rather than euros for our heating/damaged plate that wasn't damaged by us!

Finally - me and my family have stayed in many locations and have always expected to have to be out of your lodgings by a certain time - i was a little disappointed when Kevin told us that someone would be round at 10am on our leaving day to get our keys as if we were ready earlier (which we were), i didn't want to have to hang around, as it was, at 10:20am with a ferry to catch, I discovered that neither Kevin, nor the person that was supposed to collect our keys were on site, they were both in another town... omg!!!

Particularly with children, there is also a need to wear shoes at all times as there are sharp staples jutting out of the upstairs carpet and be careful of the sofa as the three piece is not joined together and my husband fell back in one of the armchairs - not fit for purpose.

I have never written a review like this before and had there been a full refund of my damage deposit, I probably still wouldn't have, but having highlighted these issues to the owner/caretaker and had no apology, I felt obliged to warn potential future holidaymakers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2015
Dear Victoria, whilst we appreciate every review of our lovely holiday home as they do help us improve each time for those that follow, I guess, in your case, attack is the best form of defence. I do find it remarkable that in every review we have received thus far, our guests have gone out of their way to comment on the cleanliness of the house. Our holiday home is cleaned thoroughly after each stay by two cleaners and there is also a FULL change of bedding made at that changeover.
All crockery and cutlery is washed at each changeover, regardless of whether it appears to be unused or already washed and there is a full set of spares for the cleaners to draw from should there be any damaged. The dinner plate that was damaged by yourself was very badly burnt and would never have passed the inspection prior to your stay.
I too would like to comment that your booking was clearly made for two adults and two children, one of whom was to sleep in a cot (which was provided, with linen). On arrival, when the additional guest was mentioned, the additional bed was made up without quibble or delay. No charge was levied for your extra person. I would also like to mention that it is clearly stated on the house description and the booking confirmation that the gas heating is charged for separately.
It also seemed that, in your haste to depart, you forgot to mention that the integrated washer/dryer, that you had clearly used, had been broken during your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian_c...
2 reviews
“I would 100% recommend this property. Fantastic place.”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The owners of foalies bridge were amazing. They got us everything we asked for to make our trip a happy one. They even went to other houses to get a stair gate and travel cot. I go to Cavan often and I will not be staying anywhere else. We have been twice and loved it both times. 10 out of 10.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2015
Thank you for your review. Each and every one is very valuable to us as they help us to continue to improve. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMagu
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent and very peaceful cottage”
Reviewed 10 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed here in February whilst visiting family in the local area. The cottage is spotless, large, warm and comfy and easily accommodated our group of six adults and two babies.

The area is extremely quiet with great views of countryside in all directions. The night sky is also crystal clear. We spent an afternoon fishing in the river (without a nibble) and, although it was to cold for us in February, the garden would have been great for a barbeque.

Owners are very nice - offered to meet us in town to guide us in and lent us some binoculars to go otter hunting.

Next time we visit family in Ireland we will booking here again.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2015
Thank you for your kind review, it was a pleasure to welcome you and your travel party to our holiday home. We do really appreciate all reviews.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barry m
2 reviews
“Fantastic Accomadtion”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Very lovely location, house was spotless and everything item you need for a holiday rental was present. Very highly recommended, had a fantastic time.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2014
Thank you for your kind words. It is always welcoming to hear we have a very satisfied guest. We hope to welcome you and the family back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing