We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very very dated” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Francis Winery

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St. Francis Winery
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Reynella
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very very dated”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012 via mobile

I stayed there overnight for a business trip. Had dinner in the restaurant and found food to be very average.
Tv in room from 1980 and air conditioner wood grain finish.
Next door alarm went off at 1.00 am & did not go off until morning. Rang front desk but no reply. Never ever again.......

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kidsmum015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    27
    26
    12
    13
See reviews for
18
37
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
south australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

I have spent a lot of time at this venue as celebrant it was excellent ' BELIEVE IT HAS NEW MANAGEMENT WHO HAVE CHANGED EVERYTHING AND NOT FOR THE BETTER' what's the old saying if it aint broken then don't fix it? haven't had work there since and I am one of Adelaide's leading celebrants and was there a lot, before NEW MANAGEMENT decided to change it for the better I believe, the previous staff were helpful beyond their call of duty excellent skills and experience I think they were all sacked or left so that's what's wrong as I can fathom

Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank bigbirthdaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

We stayed because my niece was getting married and holding the wedding reception at St. Francis Winery.
Our room was quite good except for mould on some shower tiles and a crack in the toilet seat, (should be replaced with new seat). Cobwebs around outside windows in most areas of hotel.
The following morning at 7am, we eagerly trundled down to breakfast. Expecting the fully cooked brekkie we had paid for, only to be told by staff member (who was vacuuming at the time)....."I've got some bad news guys...the breakfast chef has called in sick, so it's only a continental breakfast, today"
So looking forward to bacon and eggs. WELL.....packets of cereal, some yoghurts, just orange juice and that was it! Had to ask for some toast, which she cooked 2 slices for me. Partner suggested she put out the toaster so we could cook toast for ourselves.
Very disappointing....can't imagine what the guests who had ordered room service for a cooked breakfast, received!! Demanded some sort of refund for the lack of breakfast food. Received $20 discount off total bill. Management needs to investigate poor service.
Also, a Barmaid was ironing table cloths while in the Gaming Room. Very dangerous as someone could have tripped or knocked over the ironing board and iron upon entering the gaming room.
Very pleasant gardens though...and the ducks were cute.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frunue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reynella hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

It didn't seem to matter that this was advertised as (1) a winery - it isn't or (2) a non-smoking property -the gaming area smoking lounge extends into accomodation area and people smoke out there and outside their rooms until 4am!
Very loud, offensive,unsupervised young people staying there - night "manager" could not get them to be quiet and go into their rooms.
The room was a least clean and comfortable bed - nice if you can sleep.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank janpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amstelveen, Netherlands
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

I spent 10 days here. Big room, bed is ok, bathroom is fine. Coffee & tea making facilities, iron, tv, telephone (expensive rates). Unfortunately no wifi-connection. There is one single internet facility in the lobby (complimentary?).

In weekends it was pretty noisy due to the many guests and (wedding) parties going on, so if you are looking for a good sleep you may be disappointed.

Staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VanZoest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reynella
10.8 km away
COAST Motel and Apartments
COAST Motel and Apartments
#1 of 1 in Port Noarlunga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
14.8 km away
Serafino McLaren Vale
Serafino McLaren Vale
#2 of 2 in McLaren Vale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
17.6 km away
Arkaba Hotel
Arkaba Hotel
#1 of 2 in Fullarton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
12.5 km away
Marion Motel and Apartments
11.9 km away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Francis Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Francis Winery

Property: St. Francis Winery
Address: 14 Bridge St | Old Reynella, Reynella, South Australia 5161, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel St. Francis Winery)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Reynella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Reynella
Price range (per night): $97 - $137
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Francis Winery 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Francis Winery Resort is a 41 suite property and is situated on 5 acres overlooking Lake Carew Reynella & built around the circa 1852 winery building. Just a short journey from the city to Adelaide's south and the gateway to the McLaren Vale wine region, St Francis is picturesque and offers 3.5star accommodation, a gaming room (18+), heated indoor swimming pool, Walters Restaurant, Room service and function room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC and Odigeo so you can book your St. Francis Winery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Francis Winery Reynella, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing