We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairyland for young and young at heart!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thorngrove Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Stirling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We stayed one night in this magical property. It was a uniquel experience like stepping into a fairyland and your inner child just jumping out and wanting to explore more. We were welcomed by the owner Ken with a private entry and shared with the history of the property. It is full of stories and love every corner inside out, the garden, the decor, and so much more. It is a special place that we will remember for many years to come.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorngrove, Manager at Thorngrove Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Thank you so much for sharing your delight and excitement. We are so pleased you embraced the spirit of Thorngrove and its philosophies. To work and create with love is essential to create spirit and soul. We would love to welcome you back here agin soon to discover more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Thorngrove Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2017

Darling Thorngrove,

We missed your birth and your youth, however having known your graceful self since our fateful liaison in your twenties, we've seen you mature into a majestic and heartfelt being. As your alabaster bones age they seem to become more perfect; as your innards grow in complexity your beauty shines in delightful harmony to your raison d'etre. As the womb of your soil bears life, your gardens teem with both delicacy and strength, children raised strong and proud under the heavenly slate of your eyes.

We'll grow old with you, mistress Thorngrove, maintaining our love through our periodic dalliances, and watching each other change with the seasons.

All our love,
Tristan and Sarah

Room Tip: It's a question of style - The Queen's room is our favourite.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tristan_and_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

I was looking for somewhere to take hubby for our Anniversary that was a unique experience. Something special and different to the regular type of cookie cutter accommodation we would normally choose. When I saw Thorngrove Manor I knew instantly this was the place. The owners have created something very special with meticulous attention to detail. It embodies olde world charm with all the modern luxuries. I won't give too much away because some things are best discovered for yourself. I would highly recommend Thorngrove Manor if you are looking for a truly unique and magical experience.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

What an incredibly magical and enchanted experience. From the beauty of the gardens, to the intricate attention to detail of the interior. The owners have done an incredible job of customizing every detail of this manner and putting their heart and soul into creating such a beautiful environment. You truly feel like you have gone back in time and you never want to leave. We could have spent the whole day and evening at the manor and our children in particular were having the time of their lives. My daughter felt like she was a princess in a fairytale story. She has not stopped talking about her time at the manor. I highly recommend this place to all. You will not be disappointed. Well done to Nydia and her husband for creating the most amazing space and putting so much time and effort especially with all the gorgeous hand made furnishings and decor. Cannot wait to come back every season to see the beautiful colours of the gardens.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank WovenAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue L, Manager at Thorngrove Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Thank you Woven Angel for your wonderful heartfelt review. We were inspired by the charitable work you and your family are doing for the orphanage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

We visited the castle on 31 December 2016. We were very impressed by Ken’s passion of his castle, the incredible artistic decoration, and the romantic partnerships of Nydia & Ken. It was a truly escape, a wonder in the never land, only that the castle reflects a wonderful couple turning their dreams into reality. Thank you for a special afternoon, for an outstanding memory. Hopefully, we will meet again in the near future.
Pamela

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chimeiwunv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue L, Manager at Thorngrove Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

Thank you so much for your review contribution. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Thorngrove and hope to see you again. Escaping from the realities of life can be enjoyable in such a magical setting. We are so pleased you embraced the experience and finished the year on such a high note.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stirling
1.3 km away
Mount Lofty House - MGallery by Sofitel
13.5 km away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 56 in Adelaide
1,129 reviews
13.8 km away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Adelaide Hills Country Cottages
2.3 km away
The Retreat at Stirling
The Retreat at Stirling
#3 of 4 in Stirling
34 reviews
24.1 km away
Longview Vineyard
Longview Vineyard
#1 of 2 in Macclesfield
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorngrove Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorngrove Manor Hotel

Address: 2 Glenside Lane, Stirling, South Australia 5152, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide Hills > Stirling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Stirling
Price Range: $884 - $956 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Thorngrove Manor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thorngrove - "Experience another World" - Enter a world of imagination, romance and escape. A unique enchanting destinational choice; South Australia's unique artistic Small Luxury Hotel-20 minutes from the Adelaide CBD in a designated country living zone. Distinctive and captivating architectural expression, individual and privately located accommodation catering for individual selection, with dedicated entries. Individual style with lavish furnishing and the finest European textiles and passementerie.Inspired timeless design with a sense of wonder; complementary appointments with both antique and the finest bespoke furnishing. A dynamic non-conformist signature property, with an indefinable ethereal quality, not replicated elsewhere; a place where creative surroundings and living spaces provide unique engaging experiences for the soul. Unique and commanding outlooks across sweeping vistas, a special sense of time and place -a labyrinthine architectural adventure with integrity and conviction. Only for those with imagination and romance in their soul! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Thorngrove Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorngrove Manor Hotel Stirling, Adelaide Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing