We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thorngrove Manor Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Stirling Hotel Accommodation(Stirling)(Great Value!)
USD 186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 291
USD 272
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sherwoode Bed and Breakfast(Stirling)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Hahndorf Resort Tourist Park(Hahndorf)(Great Value!)
USD 102
USD 92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hahndorf Motel(Hahndorf)
USD 74
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tollgate Motel(Glen Osmond)
USD 66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manna of Hahndorf(Hahndorf)(Great Value!)
USD 142
USD 102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
60
0
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
0
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfairy taleunique experienceattention to detailwedding anniversaryfour poster bedonce in a lifetimeheart and soulpure blissyoung at hearthigh teafell in loveyour eyesmakes you feelmodern luxuriesthoroughly enjoyed our staybeautiful buildingnext morning
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Darling Thorngrove,

We missed your birth and your youth, however having known your graceful self since our fateful liaison in your twenties, we've seen you mature into a majestic and heartfelt being. As your alabaster bones age they seem to become more perfect; as your innards grow in complexity your beauty shines in delightful harmony to your raison d'etre. As the womb of your soil bears life, your gardens teem with both delicacy and strength, children raised strong and proud under the heavenly slate of your eyes.

We'll grow old with you, mistress Thorngrove, maintaining our love through our periodic dalliances, and watching each other change with the seasons.

All our love,
Tristan and Sarah

Room Tip: It's a question of style - The Queen's room is our favourite.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Tristan_and_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorngrove, General Manager at Thorngrove Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Thank you so much for your wonderful "love letter". It was poetic and beautifully written.
Kind regards
Ken.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

I was looking for somewhere to take hubby for our Anniversary that was a unique experience. Something special and different to the regular type of cookie cutter accommodation we would normally choose. When I saw Thorngrove Manor I knew instantly this was the place. The owners have created something very special with meticulous attention to detail. It embodies olde world charm with all the modern luxuries. I won't give too much away because some things are best discovered for yourself. I would highly recommend Thorngrove Manor if you are looking for a truly unique and magical experience.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

What an incredibly magical and enchanted experience. From the beauty of the gardens, to the intricate attention to detail of the interior. The owners have done an incredible job of customizing every detail of this manner and putting their heart and soul into creating such a beautiful environment. You truly feel like you have gone back in time and you never want to leave. We could have spent the whole day and evening at the manor and our children in particular were having the time of their lives. My daughter felt like she was a princess in a fairytale story. She has not stopped talking about her time at the manor. I highly recommend this place to all. You will not be disappointed. Well done to Nydia and her husband for creating the most amazing space and putting so much time and effort especially with all the gorgeous hand made furnishings and decor. Cannot wait to come back every season to see the beautiful colours of the gardens.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank WovenAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue L, Manager at Thorngrove Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Thank you Woven Angel for your wonderful heartfelt review. We were inspired by the charitable work you and your family are doing for the orphanage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

We visited the castle on 31 December 2016. We were very impressed by Ken’s passion of his castle, the incredible artistic decoration, and the romantic partnerships of Nydia & Ken. It was a truly escape, a wonder in the never land, only that the castle reflects a wonderful couple turning their dreams into reality. Thank you for a special afternoon, for an outstanding memory. Hopefully, we will meet again in the near future.
Pamela

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank chimeiwunv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue L, Manager at Thorngrove Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

Thank you so much for your review contribution. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Thorngrove and hope to see you again. Escaping from the realities of life can be enjoyable in such a magical setting. We are so pleased you embraced the experience and finished the year on such a high note.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016

We enjoyed an amazing visit to this most romantic establishment again this week. The ambience, warmth and incredibly artistic decor is something to engulf one's romantic vision of another era and place . A walk in the beautiful garden evoked the expectation of Alice and the white rabbit !

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Clythe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews