We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and good ceviche ”
Review of La Puesta Del Sol

La Puesta Del Sol
Ranked #3 of 30 Restaurants in Herradura
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 2 - USD 20
Cuisines: Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Since 1952, Family owned and operated. Family Descendants were founders of the town of Herradura. Fresh, quality Costa Rican Cuisine. Our Specialty is our family Recipe of Ceviche. Located 50 meters from the Herradura Bay Beach. You will find very local flair. A place where everyone remembers your name. Local prices for everyone. "Puesta del Sol" the "sunset" enjoy the sunset on or around 5:30 pm-6pm. follow us on Facebook at lapuestadelsolherradura Pura Vida!
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed our sunset here and would go back. Everyone is friendly and you have a great view of the water. I had the ceviche and it was very fresh. Never have tried marlin but it was great! Met the owner and enjoyed talking with him, we will be back for more cold beers

Thank dzink21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrianna B, Public Relations Manager at La Puesta Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. Our Ceviche is our most loved and reviewed item on our menu. The cold beers do make a huge difference and one of the things we pay close attention to. You cannot be on a beach and not have a cold beer!!!!
Dennis is awesome and takes great care of our customers. We hope you will visit again.
Thank you again,
Adriana Berrocal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2018

Amazing staff, and very affordable fresh fish. The drinks are not expensive and the view of the beach is great. Favourite place to go for Sunday lunch.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrianna B, Owner at La Puesta Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience. We hope to see you again.
Pura Vida.
Adriana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We checked this restaurant out based on reviews but were not happy with the selection and quality of food offered and based on that we felt prices were too high. We had to ask for our bill at least 3 times, finally I walked up to the bar to get it - they seemed more interested in chatting behind the bar. Very disappointed with our visit there.

Thank puestadelsol92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrianna B, Public Relations Manager at La Puesta Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review. It is very unfortunate that you had this experience. As far as price goes, we have never had a dispute being that even the locals frequent our restaurant. There are far more expensive places in the area. That being said, we do apologize. There is no exuse for you waiting for your bill and it was brought to the attention of those working that shift. We hope otherwise your experience in Costa Rica was better. Again, thank you for your visit and time.
Pura Vida,
Adriana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We were staying in the Los Suenos community down the road from this restaurant. It is an easy walk from the condo and we were greeted right away by Maldon. My husband can't have gluten and we weren't sure if we could make this clear to them. No problem, he enjoyed the fish taco and I had shrimp with cream sauce. We returned the next night with more of our family and were delighted with the friendly atmosphere. It is next to the beach where the local's enjoy themselves, so it is a very causal place to have a Imperial beer or eat. The cerviche is made with Marlin and outstanding. The two wonderful ladies in the spotless kitchen were tickled when I asked to take their picture. We made a point of thanking Nora, the owner for their hospitality. We have pictures of Eddie and Maldon and will remember them fondly. Venture out from the resort and see what else there is.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KathyD2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrianna B, Public Relations Manager at La Puesta Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you for your review..
We really do appreciate it. My mother Nora is always very welcoming. We hope to see you again.
Thank you again. Pura Vida.
Adriana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Nora and her family run an outstanding business on the beach at Playa Herradurra. She is lovely and personable. The service here is excellent

Thank Y2447IGanthonym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrianna B, Public Relations Manager at La Puesta Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Thank you very much for your review! My mom Nora sure is awesome! We really do strive to do the best we can. Thank you again for your review. Please visit us again. Pura Vida! Adriana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Puesta Del Sol also viewed

Herradura, Jaco District
Jaco, Jaco District
 
Herradura, Jaco District
Herradura, Jaco District
 

Been to La Puesta Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing