We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back”
Review of Taha Tai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taha Tai Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Good location, great staff, good size room. All you need.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColinW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 192 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2011

I stayed at Taha Tai in February 2011. As I was settling my bill, they attempted to include a charge for wine and food which I did not order (indeed, I do not drink). I pointed out that the signature on the bill did not match my signature on any of the other bills I acknowledged. After some discussion, they properly agreed not to charge this to my account. Imagine my surprise when I received my credit card bill at home -- there were two charges from Taha Tai - one in the amount of the bill I settled when I left and a second charge for the wine and food they originally attempted to charge me for. When booking my hotel, I saw a number of comments on Trip Advisor about other hotels alleging thefts or over charges. Sadly, Taha Tai is one of those hotels and visitors should be very careful if they choose to stay here

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NyVillaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Good position, not a hotel to relax in. The swimming pool was dirty as was the surrounds to the pool. The beds comfortable but room not clean and wires hanging out of the wall in the hotel. Terrible smells in corridors from chemicals. Breakfast very average. Not great value for money but everything expensive on island

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BarryK58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

This is a nice hotel with friendly staff. Our spacious room was next to the Reception area but was still very quiet. We spent 4 nights here which was probably long enough to see the sights. You can hire bicycles, scooters, cars easily although we chose to do a lot of walking inc. up the Orongo Volcano. The hotel does have a swimming pool but it looked as if it was in the process of being repaired or refilled - however, we did not have much time to make use of it anyway. We really enjoyed our stay on Easter Island and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holly2854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

I stayed at the Taha Tai Hotel for four nights during Oct, 2010 and I was very happy with my stay there. The owner of the hotel (I think his name was Marcelo) made us feel very welcome, and tried his best to accommodate any requests we had. The rooms were clean and spacious, and the location was excellent - right by the ocean, within a ten minute walk into town. There is WiFi access from the lobby, which worked fine most of the time (only US $5 for the entire stay to connect to their WiFi). I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

One word of advice - try to ask for room ten, or any of the rooms located outside of the main hotel building. When we first checked in, we were assigned rooms 34 and 32, which were on the small side, and one of them had a damp smell in it. We requested room change mainly because we wanted rooms with two beds, not one king sized bed. We ended up in rooms 10 and 8, which were great. They are located in little buildings, immediately outside of the main hotel building, but they seem to be roomier and some of them have a nice ocean view. I was in room 10, which I highly recommend. There is a nice hotel view from the patio of the room.

Keep in mind that food is not cheap on Easter Island. Most restaurants charge US $20 to 30 per dish. The price difference between ordinary looking restaurants and nicer looking restaurants seemed minimum. We ate at the Te Moana restaurant as well as La Taverne du pecheur. Both were decent. I especially recommend sitting on the second floor of La Taverne du pecheur - there is a great sunset view from up there, and the fish dish I had was yummy!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sdgt625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanga Roa
0.4 km away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
1.1 km away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 16 in Hanga Roa
313 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Hare Boutik
Hotel Hare Boutik
#3 of 16 in Hanga Roa
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
#1 of 24 in Easter Island
529 reviews
0.3 km away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#7 of 16 in Hanga Roa
453 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Hotu Matua
Hotel Hotu Matua
#14 of 16 in Hanga Roa
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taha Tai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taha Tai Hotel

Address: Apina Nui s/n | Isla de Pascua, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 2770000, Chile
Region: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Price Range: $197 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Taha Tai Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com and Cancelon so you can book your Taha Tai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Taha Tai
Taha Tai Easter Island
Taha Tai Hotel Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing