We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
StayForLong
CheapTickets
Expedia.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
77
83
42
8
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
77
83
42
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews accommodation wifi island orientation crow
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2019

Location great but property in a very poor state, these already covered in previous reviews.

The icing on the cake was that this property thought it appropriate to house us amongst a large school trip of teenagers who overran the place partying until late at night. Not against teenagers having fun but not when it is happening in accommodation that I have paid a considerable amount of money for.

I would avoid this place.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pauljrickard62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2019 via mobile

The “hotel” was booked via Intrepid Australia as their standard tour of Easter Island.

This is not a hotel, but more like a hostel or backpackers with a private bathroom.

It needs a good clean- Dirty- floors, surfaces, kettle & coffee cups

Room safe not working.

No aircon, fan, insect screens or security screens, which means no ventilation and it summer it would be unbearable.

Many repairs needed, eg damaged cupboard, broken hand towel rail, light outside front door.

Little security - cannot leave sliding door open, as cats, dogs or chickens are likely to wander into room. Also personal safety a concern if sliding door left open.

Reception - rarely staffed.

The included breakfast - usually consisted of stale bread, some cut fruit, a few slices of cheese and meat and juice. Sometimes milk was available for instant coffee.

Cats and chickens everywhere and the noise was constant.

WiFi poor (only at reception) but this is likely applicable to whole island.

There are better options available - wish we had a choice. I also wish Intrepid Australia would stop using this property, or clear state the quality and better still, provide options.

Would not recommend!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Kel_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2019 via mobile

The hotel is basic, rustic but clean and very convenient location to base your Rapa Nui excursion. We were met with a welcoming fruit juice on arrival. They originally had us in a double but made up a room with twin beds when they realized their mistake. The hotel is walkable to Hanga Roa's main street. The property has a few roosters and they do their crowing at all hours. Breakfast is basic but adequate. We were able to get eggs made to order one morning only.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank mdrivel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2019 via mobile


The hotel is located within a walking distance from the airport, about a kilometer away. Though claimed to have an airport pick up service, no one from Tea Nui showed up and nothing was said about it when I checked in. The grounds are well kept. There is a tiny pool in the garden but not so inviting because of the murky water. The room is too basic for the price, two night tables with no lights above them, no desk or chairs only a bistro set in the balcony. A small green refrigerator and a fan are eyesore. The maintenance is appalling with missing cabinet doorknobs, old shower head, clogged drainage, stiff towels, moldy shower curtains and sagging mattress. Breakfast is absolutely terrible. The choices are very limited, cheese, ham, white bread, jam, and fruit juice. I saw quite a few huge roaches but to be expected in a tropical climate. The beautiful patio that I saw on their website was covered with dust from the wood sanding as part of the hotel improvement. Hotel Tea Nui seems to take no pride to be serving local or international visitors even though it is in such an international destination. It is a pity but that seems to be the fact. This is a family run hotel. I have no idea why the hotel is in a three star category. It is too dingy for such a recognition. The owner and her family reside here. Sometime their conversations could be loud. In one occasion on my first day the management used the cafeteria to conduct a staff meeting. They had no awareness that guesses were present. If they cared enough they could have toned down their voices. For sure it is not a friendly place for me even though it appears to be. Most hotels are run by the locals. They are very fortunate to inherit lands that are on such an island but their ancestor would feel ashamed of the way they treated visitors.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank praipan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2019

We spent 4 nights in Hanga Roa very recently and stayed in Hotel Tea Nui, the helpful staff met us at the airport, drove us back for our flight back to the mainland 5 days later and made our stay very enjoyable, we had a lovely balcony and enjoyed the pool!

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sinead W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews