We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
394 results
Traveller rating
227
139
23
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
227
139
23
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews close to the airport minute walk easter island comfortable hotel buffet breakfast welcome drink nice pool rooms are large main town restaurant recommendations wonderful island rapa nui rented a car flight finnish wifi furnishings
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 394 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2020

Puku Vai was an excellent choice of place to stay during our five day visit to Easter Island. The room was spotless, the furnishings and beds comfortable. We were very glad for the functioning air conditioner. A very good and filling breakfast was included with the room price. The WiFi was also very good, much better than we anticipated. After a day of touring we enjoyed lounging at the pool. A family of chickens and a couple of kitties added to the ambiance along with beautifully landscaped grounds. The hotel is very close to the airport, but perhaps a rather long walk (5-10 minutes) with luggage. We rented a car so getting to town was not a problem. It would have been a very long walk. Cabs come quickly when called. There are so few flights from the airport and none at night, so airport noise was never an issue. The staff was very friendly and helpful with excellent restaurant recommendations and in responding to general questions. We were very glad that we picked Puku Vai as our hotel for an exceptional Easter Island adventure.

Date of stay: March 2020
Thank annthelibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2020

Puku Vai is a quaint little hotel on the beautiful small island of Rapa Nui. The hotel is literally a stone's throw from the airport but you are not at all bothered by aircraft noise. The rooms are all at ground level and have double doors leading out to the pretty pool area with beautiful planting. Our room was pretty musty, despite aircon. The bathroom was clean but resembled something out of the 1970's/80's, so the place could do with an update. The small public area is nice enough, as are the breakfasts. Staff all very friendly. The main town of Hanga Roa is about a 15-20 minute walk away.

Room tip: I think all rooms open out on to the pool area.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank SuzeKingsHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2020

Thank you for your review of Hotel PUKU VAI, Easter Island.

Our hotel was constructed 2010 meaning we're among the handful of recently built properties in Easter Island.

The idea behind architecture and design choices – including the materials and colours – is to connect our hotel to an artistic heritage of the island.

The colours – white, black and red – were the ones ancestral of the island were able to mix from the ground.

Wood and stone were chosen as the main construction materials for the similar reason. Thus, we've also avoided metal, glass and plastic when applicable. The furniture in rooms and and dining hall is mainly wooden, as well.

Additionally, the stone art in the rooms, outer walls in the room wings as well as wooden statues in a dining hall represent themes important to the natives of the island. Even our pool has a shape of Tahonga, an ancient symbol of prosperity and fertility.

We hope these choices are seen as a clever way to add value to your Easter Island experience. Considering Easter Island is once in a lifetime destination for the most visitors, we'd find providing a standard accommodation without any thought besides the latest industry trends rather disappointing.

All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2020

It's a fairly standard hotel (more of a motel if it was in the U.S.) that is very close to the airport though most places are quite walkable. What makes the hotel completely worth the stay is the extremely helpful staff. They really simplify the stay. In addition, we arrived a day late due to travel problems and without requesting it, they volunteered not to charge for the night we missed. I was very impressed by this. All in all, it proved a very pleasant place to stay at.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agw350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2020

Thank you for your review of Hotel PUKU VAI, Easter Island.

We advise our future guests to drop us a message in case of any trouble with the arrival flight, just like you did. That way we might be able to be flexible, especially if you did book directly (since there's no 3rd party policies complicating things).

Additionally, we advise our future guests to see our confirmation email that includes detailed instructions for the immigration control at Santiago airport. If you did book indirectly, we ask you to see step-by-step instructions on info section of our website.

All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2019

5 min walk from the airport exit. 10 min walk to the main town street. Large rooms, very clean, nice pool, solid breakfast spread. Free parking on site if you rent a car or ATV. WiFi works but is slow, as is the case across the island. Staff speaks very good English. Excellent choice overall.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank defaultuser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2020

Thank you for your great review of Hotel PUKU VAI, Easter Island!

We have 2 separate internet connections by 2 separate telecom operators (with separate Chilean and American satellites) The actual internet speed might vary depending the satellites being used.

The benefit of this setup is that whenever you stay with us, you're always online since if one of the satellite connections drop, you're automatically connected to another.

All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2019 via mobile

The hotel is nice and small. The staff friendly and helpful. It’s about 10 mins walk into the town centre. The pool is good set in beautiful gardens. The rooms are huge and the beds really comfortable. I loved my stay here.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank SiobhanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2019

Thank you for your review of Hotel PUKU VAI, Easter Island!

We were happy to accommodate you, Siobhan.

All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews