We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food Great Rapa Nui Style”
Review of Kotaro

Kotaro
Ranked #1 of 50 Restaurants in Hanga Roa
Price range: USD 35,000 - USD 100,000
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The restaurant is open! 19:00 / 22:00 monday tuesday wednesday friday saturday Same time and same rules And remember...This restaurant work only with reservations then don't be silly make a reservation All the obligatory information of the restaurant will find it : izakayakotaro.blogspot.com instagram : kotaro_bistro Kotaro Exclusive no popular...
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and I made a reservation through our hotel for dinner. The welcome was very friendly and surrounds were a nice mixture of Japanese and Easter Island style.

The food was fantastic! We chose a small sample plate of sushi and some tofu agedashi to accompany our beautiful main dishes - seared garlic steak and marinated steak. The service was attentive and they remained open till we left.

For two Australians, looking for a night out and some good food, Kotaro was a real find!

Date of visit: September 2016
3  Thank Q1006KYmichaelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 53 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

The owner is passionated cooker! So glad I could have dinner twice while in the island... Tried the sushi sashimi and prawn curry, simply delicious

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank Ana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Our answer is Moai was the expected highlight and Kotaro was the unexpected highlight.

Wow, it was a totally unexpected pleasant surprise that an amazing traditional Japanese restaurant exists on Easter Island!

You can tell this place is a labor of love. The Chilean owner/chef spent 10 years in Japan and brought the authentic flavors and culture to Easter Island. Step inside the restaurant and you could be in Japan. Still amazed this exists on Easter Island!

The food is amongst the best Japanese food I've ever had and I've had plenty including in Japan. Great miso soup, fresh sashimi, best chicken karaage (just the right amount of salt on outside) amazing pork in ginger sauce (not overpowering, not bland, just right), yummy vegetables (and I don't usually love veggies).

We had such a great meal we are definitely coming back tomorrow, our last night on the island.

Highly highly recommended you try this place, you won't be disappointed. Email them for a dinner reservation, they respond quickly.

Date of visit: September 2016
2  Thank gregtse
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Loved this place, great food and atmosphere. Owner/chef was friendly and helpfull. Even great and patient with our young children. Highly recommend this place.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 482dbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Not only some of the best sushi I've ever had (including all around the San Francisco Bay Area), but also some of the most unique sushi and Japanese-inspired dishes (sweet miso glaze on fish and Japanese curry shrimp)!! The owner was hilarious and tons of fun and had some incredible food recommendations and ideas for us. The whole experience was amazing!!! It's a bit pricey, but soooooo worth the price!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank jsilverman83
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Kotaro also viewed

Hanga Roa, Easter Island
 
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
 

Been to Kotaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.