We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
USD 140
View Deal
Free cancellation until 13/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
USD 141
View Deal
Free cancellation until 13/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreams
USD 140
View Deal
Free cancellation until 13/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
TravelocityUSD 141
Orbitz.comUSD 141
CheapTicketsUSD 141
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
182
23
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
182
23
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner easter island amazing sunset departing flight rooms are huge three nights car rental hot water answer questions paul stories culture moai tours accommodation town rapa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2019

The rooms are huge, clean and comfortable. The real treasure is Paul, the owner, and the private tours he took us on. Paul has been living on the island for at least part of the year for 50 years. He helped with some of the early archeological work back in the 1960s on Easter Island. He is a wealth of accurate information - not the made up for tourists type of information.

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank WLVTahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2019

We were staying somewhere else on Easter island (rapa Nui) and needed to change accommodation and read positive reviews on TripAdvisor about the Tekarera hotel. We tried to book via the Agoda website but was unable, as the Tekatera require 2 days notice of arrival. So, my friend and I visited the hotel to see if we could book a room. Paul ( the owner) was lovely, friendly and accommodating and we stayed for 3 nights in the end ( one night was due to a flight cancellation)

The hotel is clean and there is constant hot water ( it's not like that everywhere!). Paul and his team put on a lovely breakfast spread and there is hot drinks available throughout the day.

Our departing flight was cancelled and rescheduled, so Paul piled us all back up in his car and we stayed an extra night. Then drove us all back the next morning, making sure we all had a good breakfast before departure.

NB: it is interesting to hear Paul's stories of the island and how it has changed over time - we could listen to him the when day!

Also, we found renting a car a must, so that you can revisit historic areas again at different times.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2019

Paul and his staff are truly the highlight of this place, though I also loved the location and the room. The room was very clean and comfortable; they had even electric warming mattress pads on the beds that were adjustable so that two people sharing the bed can choose their own temperature. The location is near to the Tahai moai site, and a restaurant called Te Moai Sunset that has decent food and fantastic cocktails. Perfect place to watch the sunset, though the walk back to the hotel is a bit dark (but super safe). The walk to town is at least 15 min. Paul was really super; I was traveling alone and I felt like I had a family on the island because of Paul and his staff. His tour was great; he is super knowledgeable and was a part of early archaeological expeditions to the island; although, I recommend balancing his expat perspective with that of the indigenous Rapa Nui people; many of whom are happy to engage in conversations and answer questions about their culture and ancestry. Definitely stay here!

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mardi_JF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2019

I had read many good reviews about Paul, the owner of Hotel Tekarera. We stayed for a week and enjoyed a half-day tour with Paul and 3 others (in a van). The tour was a perfect overview for the island. We later rented a car from Paul for a couple of days (so easy - "Could we have a car for tomorrow?" "Sure, here are the keys.") Room was comfortable and clean, small fridge came in handy, fan was necessary (power only went out once the entire week) and we had laundry done one day, Veranda is perfect for breakfasts, but could use a hammock or lounge chairs. Hotel was walking distance to the town, but definitely on the edge of it, so it's a bit of a hike until you learn the shortcut paths. After a week, we felt very fond of Paul, a grandfatherly presence.

Room tip: Garden room was probably better than other rooms that open onto the breakfast area
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank beegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2019

We stayed 6 nights in the Kainga Nui house, and found it perfect for our style of traveling - a home away from home. Comfortable beds, clean bathrooms and kitchen... not luxurious, but all very comfortable. Paul or one of his employees provides transfers to/from the airport, making for an easy arrival and departure. The hotel's breakfast buffet (included) was just right to get us going for the day.

Paul is a great person to get to know - highly knowledgeable about Rapa Nui and its people and history. We took two half-day tours with him, and rented one of his cars for three days "out and about" on our own, so we had plenty of opportunities both to learn and to explore.

TeKarera is on the outskirts of town near Ahu Tahai - either a car or a modest walk is required to get to the center of town.

Definitely recommended!

Room tip: Kainga Nui house is at the end of the building - best privacy, and suitable for couples or families.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews