We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Magical Place to discover one's heart”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cabanas Matavai

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Hanga Roa, Easter Island

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
watershed...
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely spot, friendly manager, a bit basic.”
Reviewed 24 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Violeta, the manager, was quite helpful and friendly. The suite was not the one we booked,but that was ok. This is a step above basic, reasonable value for the price. The big bonus is the location, across the street from the ocean. We slept with a sea breeze and the roar of the surf. It's an easy walk to the best ice cream in one direction and the town Main Street in the other.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and friendly service
Liked least: Hot water intermittent, kitchen equipment
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2016
Dear Peter.
Thank you for your very helpful feedback. It is important to me that my guests feel safe and comfortable and so I work hard to see that Matavai cabins are maintained in very good condition. Unfortunately, materials are not readily available on our little, isolated island, making repairs delayed, at times. But I do strive to make all repairs before guests arrive. I’ve been in this business for 6 months and my goal is that Matavai cabins will continue to earn excellent ratings. A warm greeting to you and your wife.
Iorana, Violeta.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saeeda H
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Magical Place to discover one's heart”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We loved our beach front home away from home. Violeta & her team were great. We plan to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being right near the beach and the hospitality
Liked least: Going in winter. Will return in December 2016 or 2017
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2016
Muchas Gracias Saeeda: Fue muy grato para nosotros tenerte en una de nuestras cabañas, y estaremos felices de recibir a usted y su marido todas las veces que quieran regresar a la isla. saludos, Violeta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Si0bhanD
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
“Lovely simple accommodation ”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent a great week staying in the smallest cabin at Matavai. It is a small room with a comfortable bed, a bathroom, and a semi outdoor kitchen. You can see and hear the sea from the cabin, so we enjoyed several evenings just sitting reading on the patio. It's also close to good restaurants.

Violeta was very welcoming, told us how to get about, booked our tour for us, and sorted us out with Taxis etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2016
Gracias por su opinión. También tenemos cabañas más grandes de acuerdo a los requerimientos de cada cliente.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry H
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Previously Named Te'ora- Best Location For The Price”
Reviewed 16 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed 4 nights at Te'ora (being renamed to Cabanas Matavai) early June, which is slightly off season. It's now owned by a great local woman, Violeta. She was extremely helpful and happy.

When you arrive she picks you up at the airport, greets you with a lei and drives you through the small town of Hanga Roa to your room across from the ocean. It's very tropical with beautiful flowers and native plants outside the rooms.

The room is walking distance from town with sellers of produce, a wine/beverage shop and bread/pastry stores. There are also convenient ATM machines along the way.

Get the Ra'a room (paid in Chilean cash). There are steep stairs to get up to the room but there is an unbelievable sunset while sitting on the deck.

It has a nice kitchen and we cooked something fresh from the market everyday. I would bring your own spices from home and buy some canned beans and rice to in Santiago to supplement meals.

The other rooms looked nice too and did not require stairs. These would be perfect if you can't climb steep stairs. I think there is a shared kitchen for the downstairs rooms.

Equivalent rooms with this view and location are much more expensive. I would book it early since she is getting good word-of-mouth.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2016
Estimada Sherry . Agradezco mucho su opinión. también quiero decirle que fue muy grato tenerlas hospedadas en una de nuestras cabañas, también agradezco el genial video que realizaron de la isla. Saludos, Violeta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buttercup...
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago for a stay in June 2018
NEW
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing