We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in great prices from these sites
Expedia.comUSD 120
Orbitz.comUSD 120
TravelocityUSD 120
CheapTicketsUSD 120
TripadvisorUSD 120
eDreams
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
11
14
16
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
11
14
16
14
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Upon our arrival at the airport a man from the hotel was holding a sign with my name on it, he had lei's for us & then he drove us 2 minutes to the hotel. That made us feel special! At check in, Ali was very kind, upgrading our room to a suite since the pool was under construction. We walked through many corridors to room 148. The room had two bedrooms (a full & 2 twins), a sitting area & a small bathroom. There isn't anything impressive about the hotel. There are four very thin walls, beds & a bathroom. You can hear people talking through the walls. We took cold showers several times as the gas to heat the water was out. There are cockroaches in the rooms, and you may see rodents if it rains. Be prepared. The mosquitos were not bad during our stay but the weather was chilly, rainy & overcast.
There is a breakfast served but it's very limited; instant coffee, tea, juice, cereal, one type of cheese & one type of lunch meat, a few pastries, jelly & bread. You may request scrambled eggs but they most likely will not be cooked all the way.
We knew going into our 3 night stay that The hotel is about a 15 - 20 minute walk to town. If you want to rent a scooter you must have a motorcycle license from your country. Cars are available in manual only & there are 4 wheelers/ATVs to rent.
We only needed four walls & a bed, we were prepared for the conditions. This is a 1-2 star place. Everyone at the hotel was very kind, friendly and as accommodating as possible.
Please note that you must buy the ticket to enter the Rapa Nui National Park at the airport before you get your luggage. You many only visit each site 1 time, you cannot return multiple times!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Crizo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

The hotel is located just a few minutes walk from the airport and about 20 minutes from the middle of town. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and spoke good English - they took lots of time giving us good advice on getting around.

The hotel itself is fine for the price - showers are warm and rooms clean, but it is need of a substantial refurbishment. A complimentary breakfast was also included with the room price and there was a free shuttle (the 800m) to the airport at 12.00 and 15.00, which was great as we're travelling on a budget.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank miketinmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

This place supposedly had a "Garden View" but the hotel doesn't have a garden - just plants around a pool, of which I could see if I stood right next to the window and looked right, as mainly I was looking at a wall. And to that pool, large groups gather there and play music from their iPhones and talk loudly sometimes as late as 3am. No signs are warding these people off, and staff don't care.

My room was super musty (see above "wall view") and the fan didn't work, so nothing got dry. Ever.

As to be wifi, it would actually be better if the place didn't have it since it's so slow/cuts out it's a waste of time.

Date of stay: October 2016
Thank Gordokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

とても快適な2日間を過ごすことが出来ました。4月ということもあってか、宿泊客は私一人でしたが、スタッフの方には大変親切にしてもらいました。

このホテルに対して多くの否定的で辛辣なコメントが寄せられていますが、どうか無視してください。

私も正直な所、身構えていましたがそんな気持ちが恥ずかしくなるくらい不満という不満はありませんでした。(強いて挙げるならバスルームのお風呂がかなり年季が入ってることくらい)

もし、あなたがイースター島で豪華な食事や広々としたプールをお望みなら他の豪華で贅沢でありきたりなホテルに行ってください。

贅沢なホテルでは味わえない庶民的で開放的な場所です。また、スタッフとの距離も近く優しい気持ちになれるでしょう。

I spent two days in Hotel Hotu Matua and I enjoyed to stay here so much.

I'm the only one customer in here.
Staff were really nice to me.

Other people complain about this hotel and it makes me so sad.

Price is good, room is clean (bath was a bit old but it's ok), friendly staff, how can you say it's bad.

If you want to stay hotel with a big pool or great restaurant, you should go to expensive hotel.

Overall, I like this hotel even people called old-hotel.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
3  Thank GironusFilopos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2015

1st Hotel which was built in Hanga Roa ( 15 - 20 Minutes walk ) Nice big clean room, bath/WC – shower, electric etc. GOOD. Bed was arranged, room was cleaned every day !! Friendly
owner and staff. you can rent his car 40$ p day, breakfast okay ( but every day the same),

usable swimming pool (but a bid dirty) and palm trees. You get a airport transfere, when leaving. Prices are to high !!!!!!!!!!!!

Most other facilities described in booking.com NOT useable. The Hotel is 40 years old and need maintanance, which is done, if there are guests or not. A bid noicy daytimes. All
meal facilities 15-20 walk in Honga Roa. Basic BF, no fried eggs, not enough fruits.
No small shop, for a bottle of coke or water you need to walk 15 Min .......

Room tip: diff. Types, from single with bath/shower to 2 room appartments
Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Porsche911SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews