We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
143
10
3
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
10
3
3
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago but our review has been delayed as we went away again immediately after. As per all of the reviews, Charles and André are magnificent hosts and so helpful.

Seemingly in the middle of a huge vineyard, the property looks as gorgeous as shown in the photos. Our party booked three rooms in total and all of them were so comfortable and very quaint. The view out of the side rooms of Mont Venteux was spectacular.

Overall, it's a wonderful base for visiting a whole host of Rhône wine villages. Beaumes de Venise is just around the corner, Gigondas not much further but our favourite and most picturesque on André's recommendation was Séguret, what a wonderful place.

All in all a fantastic place and we will definitely try to stay with Charles and André when we next visit, thank you for everything.

Room Tip: To be fair, all of the rooms have different qualities, they're all fantastic.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dom364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
escarrat, Propriétaire at Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

Dear Dominic and friends,
Thank you for writing that "the property looks as gorgeous as shown in the photos"...
Many other guests have also told us so because apparently sometimes pictures on websites are not as beautiful as the reality !
Our job is to make our guests happy to stay with us and to give them as many advices and recommendations as possible to make the stay very enjoyable.
We are locates in the center of Provence and most of the interesting spots are at less than one hour drive from le Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat.
Thank you again for your review !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Our stay at Mas de Clos de l'Escarrat was absolutely superb! Charles and Andre are wonderful hosts and we are honoured to have stayed at their beautiful home; Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat.

The B&B is a perfect hidden gem in the heart of the Provence. We enjoyed Andre's deliciously home made breakfast whilst overlooking the breathtaking view of the vineyards and Mount Ventoux. Furthermore, we enjoyed swimming in the perfectly cooled swimming pool!

The absolute highlight of our stay was the wine tasting tour with Charles. He has
extensive knowledge on wine tasting and showed us all the best winery's in the area!

Thank you Charles and Andre for the wonderful time we had at Mas du Clos l'Escarrat!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EliseJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
escarrat, Propriétaire at Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2016

Dear Elise and Friso it was a pleasure hosting you and make you enjoying your stay at le Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat. I'm pleased to read that you have enjoyed the wine tasting tour and that you have learned a lot about wines of the Rhone Valley, specifically Vacqueyras and Chateauneuf du Pape.
Andrée always takes pride in serving home made breakfasts.
Merci beaucoup for your great review and see you again soon at le Mas !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Our last vist to l'Esarrat was 10 years ago and was our top stay back then....this time was no different. This B&B has country charm, and wonderful hosts ( Andre and Charles)... in combination with very reasonable rates, will make this a go-to stop whenever we are anywhere near southern France. Our room overlooked the vineyards, and Mt. Ventoux. The gardens are relaxing and beautiful, and the pool is so refreshing.
Charles and Andre will do all they can to make your stay memorable. We can't wait to go back!

Tip: take the wine tour with Charles....it will be a trip highlight for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mastaflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
escarrat, Propriétaire at Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2016

Such a pleasure, Jude and Les, to read your review ! You came for the 1st time in 2002 i.e. 14 years ago ! And again, you have been pleased to stay at le Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat and to experience the wine tasting tour. Guests like you are our best recommendation ! Thank you very much and see you again by 2030 !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016

My husband and I, along with another couple stayed at Mas Du Clos De L'Escarrat in May, 2016. Better than any hotel. Charles and Andree were terrific hosts. They suggested places to eat, to see and wine cellars to visit and made the reservations for us when needed. All recommendations were great! Andree is an amazing baker. Her croissants were among the very best I have every had; breakfast was wonderful. Charles has a vast knowledge of wine and history. They have four apartments attached to their home which is secluded in the middle of vineyards. The two apartments we saw/stayed in were very clean and nice; both with kitchens. Their property is very centrally located to the other villages in Rhone Valley plus Avignon and Aix-en-Provence are nearby. We only had three days there ,which was not enough, and know we will come back to the area in the near future and, for sure, we would stay with Charles and Andree again. And the Rhone Valley gets five stars, too!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Redconnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
escarrat, Propriétaire at Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

It has been a great pleasure, Connie, to read your review about le Mas du Clos de L'Escarrat. You have given to the readers most of your personal sincere feelings about your stay and I must say that if I were not the owner of the place, I'd like to stay at le Mas because of what you have written !
Our very sincere thanks and "merci" for your terrific review !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

We stay here for two night. My wife and I enjoyed every moment here. There is a big grape yard around this house, we have a breakfast with this beautiful view every morning. The wine tour which the host offer was really great. We have
no experience with wine tasting before. Charles gave us knowledge about wine tasting which is very helpful. In conclusion, we had a great time here, and hope to come back one day in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sebastian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
escarrat, Propriétaire at Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2016

Dear Sebastian, thank you so much for your fabulous comment "Best B&B in France I had ever", knowing that you already have been travelling 8 times to France !
This is the best comment I have ever read !
Merci beaucoup and we hope to seeing you again soon at le Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews