We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
144
10
3
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
10
3
3
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2015

We had the delight of once again staying at Charles and Andree’s lovely mas but this time would like to thank Charles for his utmost help by taking an ENTIRE afternoon to accompany us to the Avignon police station after our goods were stolen from our car in Avignon, (we inadvertently pressed the unlock remote and walked away without double checking.)

We were parked just inside and along the Avignon wall. This street does not have many pedestrians around. It was also foolish of us to ever leave valuables in the car anyway.

Charles waited with us for a very long time in the police station and also assisted us to fill the police report, which was needed for insurance purposes.

We very much appreciate this effort that Charles made and also the helpfulness of the police in our situation.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LoveNatchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
escarrat, Propriétaire at Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2015

Dear Linda it was a pleasure to host you again at le Mas. You are coming from so far and deliberately chose to book another time at our place. Your fidelity and kindness were very well deserving the time I have spent with you to try to make your bad experience in Avignon a little less unpleasant. No doubt that I have done for you what you would have done for me in the same circumstances.
We have opened the great bottle of Champagne that you so kindly offered me when our son was there and had a toast to your health.
Merci Linda !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015

Charles and Andree were absolutely wonderful and gracious hosts at their farmhouse. They treated us like family. It is a beautiful location very close to all of the great attractions in Provence. Our room and kitchen were wonderful-lots of hot water and air-conditioning.
Charles and Andree were most helpful in directing us towards the Roman ruins I needed to see for the classes I teach. Also, Charles is an expert in wine and we spent the day with him touring wineries. This was a quiet, serene, and comfortable oasis amid all of the touring we did in Provence. There is a great grocery store nearby to stock your kitchen for your meals or you can enjoy a wonderful breakfast served by Andree and then enjoy lunch and dinner in the many restaurants in the area. Our hosts pointed us towards some fine eating establishments. There is a bike/running path adjacent to the property which was great for exercising.
if you plan to be in Provence, this is a spot!

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor - "Ouveze" was wonderful!
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
escarrat, Propriétaire at Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2015

Jeff and Glenda, it has been such a pleasure to read your great review ! I can see that as opposed to the previous review you have been enjoying a lot the kindness of our dogs !
Indeed, Jonquières is in a very centrical location in Provence which makes it easy to explore the most interesting spots.
Thank you also for your very nice comments about the wine tour. We do hope to see you again at le Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015

We spent three days this July with Charles and Andree. The setting is ideal. The location is central, but with a country small town feel. Jonquieres is charming. The restaurant Charles recommended was perfect. None of the wait staff spoke English so the chef came to our table to help with the menu! The two dogs are a real pleasure. " Auguste the cocker spaniel is a true gentleman host, and Titus is his sweet back-up! They helped us from missing our dogs to much. Charles' wine tour is not to be missed. You are welcomed as a friend at all of the winery's when you are with him, and his knowledge is exceptional. If you are traveling to Provence, at least start your trip at Le Mas du clos de L ' Escarrat! It will set the perfect tone for exploring Provence!! Jeff and Glenda

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
escarrat, Propriétaire at Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2015

Jeff and Glenda, it has been such a pleasure to read your great review ! I can see that as opposed to the previous review you have been enjoying a lot the kindness of our dogs !
Indeed, Jonquières is in a very centrical location in Provence which makes it easy to explore the most interesting spots.
Thank you also for your very nice comments about the wine tour. We do hope to see you again at le Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2015

Location was a bit out of the way. Had to meander narrow lanes to get there. A charming older farm house with basic amenities. The air con was a disappointment - it was only in the living room and took forever to reach the bedrooms. We will not travel to Europe in the summer again - sweltering heat is uncomfortable.

Wifi was iffy and available only for restricted hours. We did not have wifi the first two days which was an issue when one had to do work online. Andree was friendly and helpful. The dogs however were scary at first, barking furiously. I thought I would be bitten!

Room Tip: Mistral had privacy but no air con in the bedrooms.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
escarrat, Propriétaire at Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2015
Google Translation

Quand cette famille de trois adultes est arrivée , nous avons été surpris car les clients avaient fait une réservation pour deux personnes. Nous avons dû expliquer que le coût pour 3 personnes était de 30,00 € supplémentaires par rapport au coût pour 2 personnes. Ceci a semblé être un problème alors que nos tarifs sur internet sont très explicites à ce sujet.
Nous avons offert une bouteille de vin rosé de Provence mais dans son commentaire la personne a omis de l’écrire.
En ce qui concerne les routes étroites et sinueuses… merci ! Pour nous c’est un compliment : il n’y a pas d’autoroute pour arriver directement au Mas.
Le wifi fonctionne parfaitement. Toutefois ces personnes refusaient de débloquer leurs téléphones car elles ne voulaient pas risquer d’avoir à payer des sommes importantes de données de leur fournisseur Canadien.Nous leur avons prêté un laptop en attendant qu’ils arrivent à se connecter avec leurs smartphones.
A propos de l’air conditionné : ces personnes sont arrivées pendant une grosse vague de chaleur en France avec des températures atteignant 40°C soit 104°F. Ces clients se plaignent de la chaleur mais celle-ci n’est pas imputable à notre établissement.
Enfin, nos chiens sont très amicaux et n’ont jamais mordu personne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2015

We absolutely loved our stay at this charming, rural oasis of calm. Owners Charles and Andrée are the perfect hosts - accommodating and helpful but not hovering. We stayed in the newly remodeled 'Ventoux' suite, aptly named after the famous mountain viewable from the small and comfortable terrace. We found everything we needed for our stay and the room was decorated in typical "Provencal' style, right down to the dishes embossed with 'cigales'. The kitchen was compact but perfect for our holiday needs. The bathroom proved spacious, especially the shower which was quite large compared to some of the tiny capsules we've encountered in France.
We were in the area to visit several wineries in Chateauneuf-du-Pape and the location was perfect - just a short, scenic drive to the vineyards. Charles if a font of wine information when it comes to the local vintners and kindly hooked us up with one of his friends who owns a marvelous property in nearby Vacqueyras, which was an afternoon to remember.
All in all, this was a wonderful stay - peaceful vineyard views from the terrace where we could enjoy our wine and 'appero' time in tranquil surroundings.

Stayed: April 2015
1  Thank Hilarie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
escarrat, Propriétaire at Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2015

Dear Hilarie, we are most thankful for your excellent review about your stay at le Mas. Your description of the apartment "Ventoux" is very precise and accurate. Our other apartments may differ in size and decoration, but the comfort is similar.
I'm glad that you have mentioned your visit to my friend Henri from le Clos de Caveau in Vacqueyras. I do hope that sometimes you will write about his excellent AOC Vacqueyras wines on your blog. Please let me know. Merci !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews