We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
124
22
4
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
22
4
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eggplant from france owners and staff barking dogs super nice lush greenery warm hosts local ingredients moussaka light sleeper the entire property hidden treasure fabulous food private terrace yoga teacher water shoes rooms are clean
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We did a quick 5-day first (and I say first, because I know we'll be back!) trip to Nicaragua. We had spent 3 nights in Granada, and touring some of the volcanoes pretty whirlwind speed. We loved all of that.

But a friend had recommended to us that we then come to Laguna Apoyo to spend a few nights. Casa Marimba was an amazingly tranquil and friendly retreat at the Lagoon. The prices are extremely fair, and they include a world-class breakfast, and offer Lunches, dinners and drinks were amazing too, world-class cuisine, with an option each meal for everyone's taste.

Our room had a private hammock and terrace, all of it overlooking the water through various levels of palm and tropical dry forest trees and thatched roofs of all of the tiki-style buildings and palapas.

Definitely get a massage while you're there, in the open air in a private palapa with the sounds of mot-mots, magpie jays and other birds chirping with the breeze.

Room tip: There were three of us, and we loved Tilcara, private terrace with hammock
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

I can't comment on the hotel (other then that it looks lovely) as I've only been here as a day tripper. The bar serves excellent drinks and everything I've had from the restaurant was delicious! It's a really great spot if you want to sit on the shore and enjoy the views of the lake in a relaxing, quiet environment.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

This is a small place with only 5 rooms. It is older home that has been renovated. We stayed in room 3, which is downstairs with a somewhat private patio in front and a hammock. I liked that it is a corner room and had large windows on both sides.
There are 2 French men and a gentleman from the Midlands in England running the place, and I believe they have not owned it for very long.
We loved just about everything about this stay. It is a very quiet, peaceful place. There is not much to do at Apoyo but relax and take in the views. You jump in the lake when you get hot. The food was outstanding. We walked every morning and kept saying we should try a different place but when it came time to eat, back we went to their kitchen. Seriously, EVERYTHING we ate was the best food we had in Nicaragua. Food was very reasonable, about $7-8 per plate and they were more than enough. I appreciated how much detail went into the presentation of the meals too. Drinks were very good, reasonable- and generous.
I admired their attention to reusing. The straws are metal. The plates are real and locally made. Cloth napkins- I saw no paper at all. You don’t pay until the end, and they have a very nice computer system that records everything you eat/drink. They also have a great Spotify music list called Casa Marimba we loved listening to that plays, but never too loudly, in the kitchen area.
They don’t change sheets/towels unless you ask them too. We stayed 3 nights and didn’t need the service.
If you stay in the bottom rooms, anyone above walking, talking flushing, etc, is heard. Since we slept with the AC ($10 extra) that blocked a lot of noise, but still, we suggested some area rugs on the upper floors and just ask guests to remove their shoes. I rarely wore shoes while there- it was cleaned and mopped daily and very clean. Do take water shoes for the lake- it is rocky getting in, and drops off very quickly, so watch your little ones.
Also, a big shoutout to Wester, their Nica assistant. He was such a gentle, kind soul and our faithful server and helper throughout the stay.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank KathyEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

This is one of the most delightful, tasteful, low-key, beautiful and relaxing places we have been to anywhere. The food was excellent, beautifully presented. The atmosphere and spirit of the place was also excellent as the people who run it and work there are kind, attentive and thoughtful. Looking out over the volcanic pond and swimming in it, kayaking as well, could not have been more fun. - David K.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DSKorzenik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

After seeing many of the sights in Nicaragua and getting from place to place on busy roads, this place is a breath of fresh air—literally! Located inside the crater of a volcano, about 50 feet above the water level this place is perfect for swimming in crystal clear and perfect-temperature fresh water. The lake is 3 miles across and over 1200 feet deep, and is about 200 meters below the rim of the crater. There are only 5 rooms, but you can buy a day pass for $5 pp, which some local families do on weekends. If you’re looking for lots of things to do, this isn’t the place for you. However, it is close to the Masaya Volcano, Granada, and the armpit Managua. But if you want to chill out amid beautiful plants, nap in a hammock,hear the waves lapping on the shore, cool off in the beautiful lake, and eat fabulous food with an eclectic mix of music in the background, then this is the place for you. The three young men from France, Germany, and the UK who bought the place are every present, attentive, and friendly, as is their staff. The kitchen is immaculate. After two weeks in Nicaragua, this is absolutely the best food we have eaten. It’s a fusion of Nicaraguan and French.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rwk777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews