We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect stay...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
DOUBLE BEDROOM with little terrace on the first floor
MASTER BEDROOM WITH EN-SUITE BATHROOM WITH SHOWER AND BATH-TUB
LARGE LIVING ROOM WITH WOODEN FIREPLACE on the first floor of the Villa
LARGE LIVING ROOM on the firts floor
LARGE LIVING ROOM on the first floor
DOUBLE BEDROOM on the first floor
DOUBLE BEDROOM on the first floor
DOUBLE BEDROOM on the first floor
DOUBLE BEDOORM with terrace
DOUBLE BEDROOM on the first floor
WONDERFUL BATHROOM with bath-tub and shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Panicale, Province of Perugia, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Anthony C
Caserta, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
2,097 reviews
224 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 729 helpful votes
“Perfect stay...”
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We use to own a home in Paciano and are well aware of the area. Last year we booked a villa in Paciano but this year it was not available. We went back to Katia who managed last years villa and she suggested Villa Antico Tabaccaio. What another great suggestion by her.First things first, Katia is amazing and the person you want to contact when you want to book a vacation in this area. The villa itself was in a perfect location. Minutes from Chiusi train station, markets,etc. Only 3 minutes from Panicale and Paciano. The villa had 6 plus bedrooms and most had their own bathrooms. The first floor had a great gathering area,dining area and wide open and functional kitchen. The kitchen had a great island to cook from. There are windows all over the house with great views. The grounds itself had fields of sunflowers surrounding it. There are herb gardens, fig trees,etc all over. The pool was clean and at a perfect temperature. Also, the outside sitting area was vast and with plenty of seating. It had a grill to cook on and a covered area to stay away from the heat and rain. Overall a great stay and will stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lpclark
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“July at Antico Tabaccaio”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Two thumbs up!
Our family and a couple of friends stayed at Antico Tabaccaio for 16 nights, and we had as many as 16 people-- for which the space is roomy. The only thing short of perfection for us was that Katia had not arranged for cooler temperatures: we were here during a record setting heat wave. But it was even hotter in Texas, from whence we hail. We have to say we would definitely do a repeat: in the old building with thick stone walls we were much cooler than we would have been at home without AC, and though temps were in the high 90's during the day, it generally got down to 72 or less at night...one night 66! With fans, we slept well.
Katia is the most amazing host. She had a meal ready for us on arrival...enough that we ate leftovers more than once. There was wine from Querciolana, and we had everything we needed, and more, from bedding to dishes. The beds were comfortable. There was plenty of hot water. We grilled outside in our clothes wet from the pool, and we ate on the covered porch almost nightly. By 8 or 8:30 we were all cooled off.
The building and grounds are lovely, and a covered pergola has been added near the pool since the last Google Earth photo, a nice surprise. The pool was a huge hit with all of us, to say the least.
Panicale is a charming town, and we had a wonderful dinner there that Katia arranged: she even made a special trip to bring us menus to order ahead. We had another wonderful dinner there that we managed to set up for ourselves. Our side trips were to Orvieto, Assisi, Montepulciano, Pienza, Gubbio, Cetona, Cortona, Todi, Siena....and more. We had one small group that went to Florence for the day, and a couple that went to Venice for a couple of days....the most adventurous couple took off for 5 days of scuba diving on Elba. You cannot manage without cars here. But we found that taking the train from Chiusi for some outings was very easy...we found Perugia confusing and pretty much avoided it.
Conad's is the place; I am still dreaming about the apricots from that grocery store. Food is just a thing beyond what we have here.
I must say we were totally mystified by the little washing machine, and ended up just doing light laundry by hand, which worked fine. We were on vacation time.
We LOVED this place, from the sunflowers and grapevines to our views of Panicale and Paciano from the property, waking to birdsong, the lavender and the bees (and hummingbird moths!) outside the kitchen door. Heavenly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Idyllic location and Katia
Liked least: Record-setting high temperatures
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2015 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Villa, was just so lovely, unique, grand, old but well kept!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maurice_t...
Pisa, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Winter paradise! An excellent way to start a new year...”
Reviewed 8 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed in this beautiful villa for one week during New Year's Eve and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! There's plenty of space for a group of 12 adults and 7 children - some children even had their own room.

In particular the living room and kitchen with its stunning original vaulted ceilings are spectacular! There's a beautiful fireplace that is a bit smoky, unfortunately, but in summer this is not an issue of course. The rooms were comfortable and clean.

There is lots to see and do around Panicale, also for children. Tip: take them to visit the Fortress of the Lion in Castiglione del Lago.

The best part of the deal was the warmth and generosity of Katia and Massimo, who were always available and brought us complimentary wine and other delicacies.

We'll definitely come back...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The villa is very spacious and the owners are extremely kind!
Liked least: The fireplace is a bit smoky, so one needs to keep a window open.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing