We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
84
17
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
17
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews apple orchard one night the entire property hot water bottles apricot juice food cooked alchi monastery food is excellent hotel management comfortable beds wonderful stay special thanks nimmu house chocolate pie hammocks confluence beauty
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2016

We stayed at Nimmu House in the beginning of May, only 1 week after the road between Nimmu and Leh opened. Nimmu house is is located in Nimmu village, at about 40km from Leh. Nimmu village is situated in the Himalayas with stunning views of the surrounding mountains, which we could enjoy from the garden of Nimmu House during breakfast and lunch. Sure, you can get the same views in Leh as well, and throughout Ladakh, but you would be missing out on the tranquillity of a small village, the kindness of the local people, and above all the great food and ambience in Nimmu house and the hospitality of the team, in the skill full and experienced hands of Will, the French manager, who attended to our every need during our stay and explained everything about the fascinating history of the premises. The food was amazing. A mix of delicious Indian and European food cooked with fresh products form the gardens off Nimmu village. For us (living in Delhi), it was the perfect escape of our daily lives in the busy city to go take long walks, embrace the silence and get a breath of fresh air. Nimmu house became one of our favourite places in India.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ilse C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015

http://blog.happy-tripping.com/2015/09/06/property-review-nimmu-house-ladakh/

Nimmu house is a beautiful place, replete with apricot and apple trees is just perfect to acclimatise to the high altitude either by traversing the journey to Ladakh on road ( from Srinagar or Manali) or to stay put for couple of days at a quite place, while soaking in the stark beauty of the wonder that is Ladakh.

THE SETTING
The location is perfect. Conveniently located 30 minutes from Leh (30 min from the airport) , the village of Nimmu is also close to the ,confluence (Sangam) of the Indus and Zanskar rivers and the monasteries of Lamayuru, Likir and Alchi (30 minutes – 1 hour drive). Nimmu is a charming little village where time has stood still, most people are farmers and happy with their simple lives.
IMG_0133

Nimmu House is a noble house belonging to the cousin of Ladakh’s King from the early 90s, beautifully restored by a Frenchman Alex . During the property tour , our manager told us about the history and the supposed curse on the house due to which the occupants never bore any children, until the curse was dispelled by buddhist monks. Quite interesting!

On offer are 5 spacious tents and 2 rooms in the house , with an open terrace for meals .We stayed in the tent, which had a stunning view of the landscape , comfy bed and modern bathroom . For city dwellers like us the best part is that the property is spread over orchards with hundreds of Apple and apricot trees and the rivulet running through . Lying on the large hammocks ,smelling the sweet scent of apricot and hearing the faint constant gurgling sounds of the stream makes you put all the sightseeing plans on hold. But really who needs to step out when you can experience the nature , warm Ladakhi hospitality in absolute peace and comfort of Nimmu house .
IMG_3901_1
THE SERVICE
There is no formal reception desk , but the staff is always available to make your stay comfortable. This place is serviced by one chef, one french manager and two local women. We received a very warm welcome by the French manager followed by 2 days of comfort and lot of personal attention. There is so much warmth in people that you forget about demanding any hospitality. We wanted to sample momos at one of the local restaurants on our evening walk and we were not carrying any money. To our pleasant surprise, a plate of steaming momos were served to us during dinner in Nimmu House, courtesy the local restaurant. Even as we were leaving , staff come out to see us off . It was almost like staying with family .

THE FOOD
Chef Mahesh cooked simple , delicious meals which were served on the open terraces as the weather was lovely. Breakfast had eggs, fruits and bread, as per preference. We loved the fresh apricot jams and juices. Lunch and dinner were 3 course set meals with starter (soup /salad), main course and desert. Sample this :-
– Green Salad, Lasagna, Lemon Pie
– Tomato Soup, Hakka Noodles, Philadelphia Cheese Cake
– Gobi Soup, Paneer Masala/ Mutton Masala, Mud Cake
All meals are simple and wholesome, using fresh produce from adjoining farms and stables. The food is largely tailored to suit the western palate as most guests are westerners. But they will keep your food preferences in mind and ensure that you leave the dining table with your tummy satisfied !

Lunch at Nimmu House
Lunch at Nimmu House

THE FACILITIES and Activities ON OFFER
Nimmu House offers the following activities to make most of your stay there .
Indoor: A library and game room , Guided tour of the house , stables or cooking classes .
Outdoor: village tour , short guided hike , rafting on the Zanskar, guided tour of the monasteries of Basgo, Likir and Alchi.
For us it was all soaking up the apple-scented air, lying on a hammock during daytime and hiking upto local gompas in the evening.
View from the Gompa
View from the Nimmu village Gompa

WHAT STOLE THE SHOW?
Amazing setting of orchards and Ladakh’s landscape with spacious tents. Best place to acclimatise , relax and learn about Ladakhi culture. It is a far cry from dusty lanes of Leh City and will give you exactly what you came for.
IMG_3899
Now that you are convinced, lets bring you up to speed with the practicalities. Know more about Nimmu house
Getting there
The property is in Nimmu Village and 30 min drive from Leh Airport/ Leh City.

Hole in your wallet
Expect to pay around Rs 10,000 per night for the tent.

Internet / Television
There is no TV in the room and Wi-Fi signal is available on the terrace and house.

What else
– this is a family guesthouse , do not expect 24/7 room service or an elaborate ala carte menu.
– Be prepared to relax and enjoy the simple life

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2015

Most people spend their first night in Ladakh in Leh (the site of the airport) which is fine, but another- and arguably better- option is to drive one hour west to the village of Nimmu near the confluence of the Indus and Zanskar rivers, and stay at the wonderful Nimmu House. I stayed in one of the excellent and comfortable tents, which were both spacious and quiet (unlike Leh). The food was really good, especially the lemon chicken which was absolutely delicious. The staff is friendly, and the only improvements I could suggest would be some better grounds maintenance. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigertomPackwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

We started our journey in lovely Ladakh from Nimmu House. It was a perfect start. We received a very warm welcome followed by 2 days of comfort and lot of personal attention. The apricot and apple trees were in bloom and we were allowed to pick as and when! It is a great eco friendly retreat from busy city life.
Chef Mahesh cooked superb meals which were served in the courtyard in open air as weather was lovely. Sumo is a wonderful lady who is an extremely helpful and pleasant person. Overall a very satisfying stay. Would recommend definitely.
Free Wifi is available but in certain areas only.,
We started our journey to explore Ladakh with Shanti travels. They were brilliant right from pick up from delhi airport till the drop off 10 days later. I would also like to mention guide Wanchuk and Rigzin-driver; they were superb throughout our time in Ladakh.

Room Tip: There is a choice between rooms and tents...both are good. Front rooms have superb mountain view.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015

It is very rare to find a good place to stay in Ladakh when it comes to interiors of rooms and service...but Nimmu House really changed my thoughts as i had wonderful stay in a authentic Ladakhi heritage house with some good service. Though we stayed in the house but the tents they have were one of the best tents i have seen till now, beautifully done interior with enough space , nice bathroom with modern fittings. Really wana give10 out of 10 for tents. Next time i will surely book the tents and those hammock were just lovely..!! . Alice the manager seems to nice lady to explain the history of the house and had enough knowledge about Ladakh.

Though the house is not in Leh city but its worth spending 2 nights in peace and luxury. I surely recommend this place..!

Just a small suggestion: Althogh the food was good, but still they can improve on the variety of food.

Room Tip: If somebody wana experience a different stay..just go for the tents and may be 01 night in each (house & tent).
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7_June
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews