We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and honest establishment”
Review of Shali's Cafe

Shali's Cafe
Ranked #8 of 9 Quick Bites in Montville
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 November 2023 via mobile

Stopped here as we didn’t want anything too heavy for lunch and all the other eateries weren’t really offering what we were looking for. Good prices were exceptionally good for what you received and the quality was great. Staff were friendly and welcoming. If you’re happy to pay over inflated prices for a table with a view, you need to go elsewhere but for an easy and varied menu at sensible prices, visit Shali’s and you won’t be disappointed.

Date of visit: November 2023
Thank HDAJEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2023 via mobile

Took a day trip through the Sunshine Coast hinterland, stopping at Montville for lunch break. Checked out some restaurants on the coastal side of the main road; they offered stupendous views but unfortunately these were matched by their meal prices. These were serious restaurants. On the other side of the road sits Shali's - a much more modest establishment. No views to speak of but an extensive menu with lots of regular budget options (burgers etc) as well as some Indian meals and some some daily specials. Ordered the tandoori chicken salad and the spinach and feta filo with salad which were both excellent, followed by coffee and yummy, inexpensive pastries. Friendly service that was perhaps a tad slow, but then they were pretty busy. Also doing takeaways.

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank JElliot32
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2023 via mobile

The menu is bakery/burgers type food on a budget... but no kids menu and no high chairs? Was disappointing as we, and at least 2 others, had small children and we left early due to their discomfort and not being able to feed them from a high chair. Very disappointing.

Date of visit: August 2023
Thank Katelyn091
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 July 2023

Called in for coffee and brunch, selected the breakfast special, poached eggs on toast with bacon. Waited around 10 to 15 minutes for the coffee, which wasn't bad but wasnt too hot - we then sat waiting for food. Three lots of people who arrived several minutes after us were served with theirs, so we had to go back in and make sure they hadnt forgotten us. We then received a slice of dry toast with two very well cooked (solid) poached eggs and bacon on the side. So dry ... we both tried one mouthful and agreed that we couldnt eat it so we handed it back to them and left to go eat elsewhere. Wouldn't recommend!

Date of visit: July 2023
Thank Macs2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 January 2023

Great food excellent service great variety of food nice setting to sit and watch the world with something nice to eat highly recommend this place

Date of visit: December 2022
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Shali's Cafe also viewed

 
Montville, Sunshine Coast
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Shali's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.