We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas in July 🎅🏻 ”

Secrets Dining on the Deck at Montville
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in Montville
Price range: AU$8 - AU$40
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Secrets Cafe is a truly special place, nestled in the rainforest on the shores of Lake Baroon with panoramic views of the water, mountains and rainforest. This intimate connection with nature is enhanced by the incredible food prepared in house by our top chef Mathew Law and served by cafe manager Di Dennis and her passionate team of helpers. The cafe has been crafted with exquisite carvings and attention to detail. You may even find a unique gift for that special someone in our Art Gallery. Secrets Cafe and Deck has a fully licensed bar, stocked with a fine selection of spirits, wines, beers and cocktails. We are open six days a week, from Tuesday to Sunday 8:30am to 4:00pm.
Reviewed 21 July 2023

A beautiful place.. love the story behind this lovely place.. Did Christmas in July.. the smell of fireplaces and mulled wine.. so wonderful.. the meal was amazing.. 8 of us all had a fantastic meal.. the staff were lovely Also love the y support local artists ❤️❤️❤️ can’t wait to go back

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank K7361TEnicoler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aldy Johnston, Owner at Secrets Dining on the Deck at Montville, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2023

Thankyou so much for generous review. I am proud of my staff who have worked like Trojans across July.look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards George and Aldy Johnston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2023 via mobile

We were a large group celebrating a special birthday and the restaurant did all they could do to accommodate us. Our setting was beautiful and the food was delicious. Communication was excellent the whole way through as when the booking was made, we did not realise it was a Christmas in July menu. However in the long run that made no difference as all three courses were just fabulous. We really enjoyed the complimentary glass of mulled wine to start!
The restaurant is a great place to celebrate .

Date of visit: July 2023
Thank Watplumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aldy Johnston, Owner at Secrets Dining on the Deck at Montville, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2023

Thankyou Wotplumb! What a great review! We really appreciate you letting us know about your successful group lunch. The team work very hard in July and George and I are delighted with your comments. Kind regards Aldy Johnston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2023 via mobile

We has been refused to see surroundings after booking the lunch. Is this normal practice of your business. Not very friendly welcome.

Date of visit: July 2023
Thank 893olenkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aldy Johnston, Owner at Secrets Dining on the Deck at Montville, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2023

Unfortunately when we did allow this 10 years ago and the antics of the public walking in the private area of our world class accommodation disturbed our staying paying guests. We also hold events such as lakeside interludes, boho picnics, elopements, boutique weddings and larger ones as well, so we reserve the right to hang our private property signs and guests only directions. Where the public ignore these signs we ask them not to walk beyond what is the public area. For small groups we do offer guided tours to view our accommodation where possible. This can be disappointing to some but it is always approached in a professional manner with valid reasons given. The belief that you were entitled is what disturbs me most as well as the obvious payback of a single star rating reveals far more about you than you are likely to understand. Kind regards Aldy Johnston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2023 via mobile

First visit to Secrets and our group of four all agreed we will be back. Service was very good, alcohol was well priced, and all four of us rated our food highly. Between us we had the arancini, seafood chowder, lamb korma (special), and the pork belly. We all agreed the food was very good. Fantastic setting amongst the tree tops overlooking the lake. We will be recommending this to friends for sure.

Date of visit: May 2023
Thank PARKS465
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aldy Johnston, Owner at Secrets Dining on the Deck at Montville, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2023

Thankyou for your great review! You should try our current menu. It is very delicious. Kind regards George and Aldy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2023

We booked for an 80th birthday function and could not fault their assistance with menu choices, attention to detail with the preparations and excellent food and drinks. The bushland and lake setting is amazing and our 20 guests of all ages really enjoyed the friendly atmosphere, AV facilities, drinks for the young ones, photographs,..and did I mention that everyone commented the food was to die for!

Date of visit: March 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ralph d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aldy Johnston, Owner at Secrets Dining on the Deck at Montville, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2023

Hi Ralph So pleased all your expectations were met. Delighted it all went well and our team got the tick across the board. Ki d regards George and Aldy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Secrets Dining on the Deck at Montville also viewed

Montville, Sunshine Coast
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 
Montville, Sunshine Coast
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Secrets Dining on the Deck at Montville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.