We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Kept Secret”

Secrets Dining on the Deck at Montville
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Montville
Price range: AU$8 - AU$40
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Secrets Cafe is a truly special place, nestled in the rainforest on the shores of Lake Baroon with panoramic views of the water, mountains and rainforest. This intimate connection with nature is enhanced by the incredible food prepared in house by our top chef Mathew Law and served by cafe manager Di Dennis and her passionate team of helpers. The cafe has been crafted with exquisite carvings and attention to detail. You may even find a unique gift for that special someone in our Art Gallery. Secrets Cafe and Deck has a fully licensed bar, stocked with a fine selection of spirits, wines, beers and cocktails. We are open six days a week, from Tuesday to Sunday 8:30am to 4:00pm.
Reviewed 22 May 2023 via mobile

First visit to Secrets and our group of four all agreed we will be back. Service was very good, alcohol was well priced, and all four of us rated our food highly. Between us we had the arancini, seafood chowder, lamb korma (special), and the pork belly. We all agreed the food was very good. Fantastic setting amongst the tree tops overlooking the lake. We will be recommending this to friends for sure.

Date of visit: May 2023
Thank PARKS465
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aldy Johnston, Owner at Secrets Dining on the Deck at Montville, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2023

Thankyou for your great review! You should try our current menu. It is very delicious. Kind regards George and Aldy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2023

We booked for an 80th birthday function and could not fault their assistance with menu choices, attention to detail with the preparations and excellent food and drinks. The bushland and lake setting is amazing and our 20 guests of all ages really enjoyed the friendly atmosphere, AV facilities, drinks for the young ones, photographs,..and did I mention that everyone commented the food was to die for!

Date of visit: March 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ralph d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aldy Johnston, Owner at Secrets Dining on the Deck at Montville, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2023

Hi Ralph So pleased all your expectations were met. Delighted it all went well and our team got the tick across the board. Ki d regards George and Aldy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2023

This was the 3rd lundh we had had at Secrets on The Lake. The first 2 times, the food and service was good & we had been recommending to friends.
HOWEVER this time when we went for our 10th anniversary we were extremely disappointed. I ordered Caramelized Crispy Pork Belly. It was so so salty and so crispy it was difficult to eat. I still had a salty taste in my mouth the next day. My partners Pork Belly was not much better. A large square of twice cooked pork , slapped on some green beans. absolutely no presentation at all. Our deserts were not much better either. Not happy and wont be back.

Date of visit: April 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 0410carolmissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aldy Johnston, Owner at Secrets Dining on the Deck at Montville, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2023

Doesn’t sound the best! Take a look at our more recent reviews and you will notice there has been a restructuring of our kitchen and the food is extremely delicious now. As a business owner we are at the whim of staff shortages and it is verybdiffivult to find new staff that benefit our business and who actually enjoy creating delightful food. We seem to be on track now. We would love you to try again! Kind regards Georgevand Aldy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2023

Great spot for a quiet breakfast and great views. Staff were incredibly welcoming and very professional.

Date of visit: February 2023
Thank leilam581
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 February 2023

Stunning treetop location on the edge of a lake. We had a generous sharing platter for two for brunch.

Date of visit: January 2023
Thank CatandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Secrets Dining on the Deck at Montville also viewed

Montville, Sunshine Coast
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 
Montville, Sunshine Coast
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Secrets Dining on the Deck at Montville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.