We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational Views”

Secrets Dining on the Deck at Montville
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Montville
Price range: AU$8 - AU$40
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Secrets Cafe is a truly special place, nestled in the rainforest on the shores of Lake Baroon with panoramic views of the water, mountains and rainforest. This intimate connection with nature is enhanced by the incredible food prepared in house by our top chef Mathew Law and served by cafe manager Di Dennis and her passionate team of helpers. The cafe has been crafted with exquisite carvings and attention to detail. You may even find a unique gift for that special someone in our Art Gallery. Secrets Cafe and Deck has a fully licensed bar, stocked with a fine selection of spirits, wines, beers and cocktails. We are open six days a week, from Tuesday to Sunday 8:30am to 4:00pm.
Reviewed 11 January 2021

We had lunch there on our last day stay at Narrows Escape. The food was lovely, service mostly excellent, & of course the view over Lake Baroon fantastic. It was very well patronised & there were lots of things to see & buy there, eg some very interesting woodwork. A truly lovely spot. We will definitely dine there again next visit at Easter.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank Rottie2450
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Secretsonthelake, Owner at Secrets Dining on the Deck at Montville, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2021

Thanks Rottie2450 for your lovely review. It appears we ticked all the boxes for you. Much appreciation George and Lady!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2021

This place is AMAZING, the wood work with the animals carved into the posts was our favourite.. The scenery, gorgeous.. The lake, amazing...The scones, DEVINE... we ordered the savoury scones and the cinnamon ones with coffee.... service was slow but the scones were delicious.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank susansI1268VK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Secretsonthelake, Owner at Secrets Dining on the Deck at Montville, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2021

Thanks Terry and Sue. Pleased you enjoyed your devonshire tea. Kind regards Aldy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2021

For years we loved coming here, not this time, on booking we were not told there are two sittings of 1.5 hours but were told very smartly on sitting down. The place was very crowded being holiday time. The food was good but for those prices it should be and unfortunately the service was pretty average and even rude on one occasion. Will be a while before any of us feel like going back. What a pity for this beautiful location and building.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 592uwes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2021

The deck dining was great with delicious food and great wine and spirits. the price overall was very good.

Date of visit: January 2021
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2021

We booked in here for lunch to celebrate our wedding anniversary as we had heard so much about Secrets. We made a couple of special requests to add to the occasion. None of our requests were met, we had to wait 10 minutes to be seated then once seated waited for nearly half an hour without any staff approaching us, even to take a drink order. After half an hour of NO service we left and went elsewhere. Very frustrating and disappointing.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JoMick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Secrets Dining on the Deck at Montville also viewed

Montville, Sunshine Coast
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 
Montville, Sunshine Coast
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Secrets Dining on the Deck at Montville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.