We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and wine”

Secrets Dining on the Deck at Montville
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Montville
Price range: AU$8 - AU$40
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Secrets Cafe is a truly special place, nestled in the rainforest on the shores of Lake Baroon with panoramic views of the water, mountains and rainforest. This intimate connection with nature is enhanced by the incredible food prepared in house by our top chef Mathew Law and served by cafe manager Di Dennis and her passionate team of helpers. The cafe has been crafted with exquisite carvings and attention to detail. You may even find a unique gift for that special someone in our Art Gallery. Secrets Cafe and Deck has a fully licensed bar, stocked with a fine selection of spirits, wines, beers and cocktails. We are open six days a week, from Tuesday to Sunday 8:30am to 4:00pm.
Reviewed 10 January 2021

The deck dining was great with delicious food and great wine and spirits. the price overall was very good.

Date of visit: January 2021
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2021

We booked in here for lunch to celebrate our wedding anniversary as we had heard so much about Secrets. We made a couple of special requests to add to the occasion. None of our requests were met, we had to wait 10 minutes to be seated then once seated waited for nearly half an hour without any staff approaching us, even to take a drink order. After half an hour of NO service we left and went elsewhere. Very frustrating and disappointing.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JoMick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 November 2020 via mobile

Two of us came for lunch. Parking seems limited. But really scenic setting for a restaurant and ideal for celebrations. We had a table by the railing and had excellent views of Lake Baroon.
The sourdough bread with truffle butter met our expectations.
I had the calamari entree and personally I found it too salty (and I have a high salt threshold) and overpriced.
My hubby had the lambshanks and it ticked the box for him.
Food service was slow but probably because there were many and there was a big group of 12. They came later but got their food first.
But our waitresses were helpful and service from them attentive.
We appreciated that they moved us to a table in the air conditioned section as we were feeling the heat.
Still, overall it was a pleasant experience and I'm glad we came.

Date of visit: November 2020
1  Thank Papitese
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 November 2020 via mobile

Went here for lunch today. Very nice view overlooking Baroon Dam.
Situated high in the trees with lovely heavy carved timber all around you. I understand that a family member loves working with timber - absolutely awesome!
Service a bit ordinary and so was the food but the weather was lovely and position amazing. Little more interest with flavours/sauces/textures would have been nice. Menu was still aimed at winter! - needs to be changed. When only a few items avail for a choice, it's important that you don't run out of one of them at 12 noon !!??
What can I say, yes, this place is probably a max 4 star but the position and surrounds make it a 5.
We'll be back again and see if the staff stop calling us "you guys" and "hey, you finished with that". 🤔

Date of visit: November 2020
2  Thank Mytravadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 October 2020

this venue is stunning for anyone planning a wedding or anniversary celebration hey any celebration at all... the views and location is STUNNING... the food and service was wonderful and we booked IMMEDIATELY to repeat the experience of this wonderful venue and stay overnight...

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank elhowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Secretsonthelake, Owner at Secrets Dining on the Deck at Montville, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2020

Your words are amazing! But why 4 stars?
Kind regards George and Aldy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Secrets Dining on the Deck at Montville also viewed

Montville, Sunshine Coast
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 
Montville, Sunshine Coast
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Secrets Dining on the Deck at Montville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.