We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Lol.travel
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
110
13
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
110
13
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buttercup room continental breakfast fantastic hosts unique experience whole experience thoroughly enjoyed our stay leroy jane weekend retreat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2022

We spent a weekend at the Spotted Chook (2 nights) and only have great things to say about the whole experience! Jane and Leeroy are fantastic hosts, very friendly and caring. We stayed in the Snowpea suite, which was just lovely and perfect for us. The atmosphere at the Spotted Chook is not something you find everywhere, there is something special about it and it is definitely worth a visit. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank melhennache
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2022 via mobile

Our favourite place to retreat to and relax. Always enjoy the interaction with Jane and Leroy. On recent visit due to horrendous rain fall we encountered a few disruptions but our hosts could not to more to help us I the trying weather conditions

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank N791KLdavidg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 November 2021

Our time in Montville was dominated by rain but we were fortunate to be staying in the Amelies room which had a beautiful outlook. We also enjoyed the breakfasts provided, as well as the one night we were able to dine in.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 September 2020 via mobile

My beautiful wife and I visited this establishment for a few days. The location and room was peaceful... Just seemed to be something missing. The host was ok, but seemed to be more interested in what he owned, rather than looking after his paying guests. The restaurant was closed for dinners except Saturday which is ok, but they should say so on there website. My wife and I probably won't bother coming back again as the experience was ok but not great. You could probably do better with a bit more research. The breakfast was pretty boring after a couple of days although adequate.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank robmaizels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 September 2020 via mobile

Our 3rd or 4th trip over the years and the Spotted Chook always exceeds our expectations! Leeroy and Jane are the most accommodating and friendly hosts, ensuring every detail is catered for.

The rooms are spotless and have a beautiful laid back French cottage character to them and the bird life on the property quickly help you forget the hustle bustle of suburban/city life.

Thank you again! xox

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Sambo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leeroy hutton, Owner at Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2020

Thanks so much for your review, its always great to have our guests return and enjoy their stay with us. So glad you got to enjoy the bird life that is so vibrant here and that the French flavour hits the spot. We love creating a relaxing escape and we will pass on your compliments to our hard working staff who ensure that the rooms are spotlessly clean in these challenging times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews