We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jon G
Brisbane, Australia
Relaxing Weekend Away
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 June 2020via mobile
We stayed in the one bedroom cottage as a couple and a small dog. It was perfect for our needs.

There is a queen sized bedroom with adjoining bathroom, and a nice lounge/kitchen. It is perfect for two people.

We used the fireplace at night and in the morning even though it was fairly balmy on both days. Johnathan had supplied plenty of kindling and wood to burn. This was my favorite part of the house!

We played the recommended relaxation cd’s and sat on the balcony sipping on some drinks and eating the local cheese. It is a nice quiet area as it sits back 100m or so from the main road. We were even given some fresh avocados from the neighbor next door as we sat there drinking. The outlook is into a well maintained paddock with all sorts of citrus and other food trees.

Town is about a 5 to 10 minute walk depending on where you want to go. Definitely close enough for a late 30’s couple and small dog.

There is a full sized fridge, a two burner element and enough cutlery etc for two people. Bring your own dog bowl.

The bathroom has a nice large shower and also a washer/drier. My only complaint would be the tiny toilet seat. My wife didn’t have an issue though.

The cottage is a basic self contained space and perfect for a quiet weekend away. We will be back!

Date of stay: June 2020
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$427
  • Hotels.com
    AU$383
  • Agoda.com
    AU$375
  • Priceline
    AU$427
0.3 km from Apple Tree Cottage
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$250
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$250
  • Hotels.com
    AU$346
  • Expedia.com
    AU$346
2.8 km from Apple Tree Cottage
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$215
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$215
  • Hotels.com
    AU$215
  • Expedia.com
    AU$215
0.6 km from Apple Tree Cottage
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$550
  • Priceline
    AU$550
  • Agoda.com
    AU$550
3.0 km from Apple Tree Cottage
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$1,100
  • Agoda.com
    AU$1,100
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Vio.com
0.8 km from Apple Tree Cottage
Booking.com
AU$334
  • Priceline
    AU$349
  • Agoda.com
    AU$334
  • eDreams
    AU$334
2.1 km from Apple Tree Cottage
Homstead.
At the front of the property the Homestead sits overlooking the Blackall range, with full kitchen and lounge area and three large bedrooms to comfortably accommodate the whole family
Booking.com
AU$231
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$231
  • Agoda.com
    AU$231
  • eDreams
    AU$231
5.8 km from Apple Tree Cottage
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$330
  • Priceline
    AU$330
  • Expedia.com
    AU$297
  • Hotels.com
    AU$330
6.1 km from Apple Tree Cottage
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$245
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$245
  • Agoda.com
    AU$245
6.0 km from Apple Tree Cottage
Booking.com
AU$389
  • Priceline
    AU$389
  • Agoda.com
    AU$389
  • eDreams
    AU$389
6.3 km from Apple Tree Cottage
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Montville
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
36
9
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
36
9
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2018

We stayed in the studio and it was perfectly tucked away at the end of the garden, very quiet with birds around us. Inside was lovely, spacious and well-appointed with a beautiful balcony overlooking the garden. Only a short walk into town, it had everything you could want for getaway break. We hope to stay again!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank car0linev25
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JonathanA3789, Owner at Apple Tree Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2019

Thank you for your kind comments. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in the beautiful little Studio. It certainly is a lovely part of the world. Hope to have you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

Well appointed with everything that you need and more, The studio was a perfect place to spend our two nights in Montville. We loved the verandah which was a perfect place to soak up the August sunshine. It is an easy walk into the shopping precinct with the nearest restaurant only 400m away.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jonathan A, Owner at Apple Tree Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

So glad you enjoyed the beautiful little Studio. Hope to have you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jonathan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

The Studio was spotless and the added little touches were perfect. Everything you needed for a relaxing weekend. The fire was perfect for a cool night. We walked to town and had a great look around the village and stopped off at a Beer Garden and listened to
some great music . Congratulations to Johnathon and Katina . Hope to return one day soon.It was really easy to give this Studio a five star rating.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loreneedwards27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jonathan A, Owner at Apple Tree Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

Thank you so much for your 5-star rating! So glad you loved your time in beautiful Montville. Hope to have you back again soon.
Kind regards, Jonathan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018

This is a beautiful little cottage ideally located within walking distance to the quaint village of Montville. Everything was comfortable, bed, pillow, lounge etc and there is all that you would need for a short stay. The fireplace is wonderful and kept well stocked by the owners. It is as private and peaceful as one could wish. There is opportunity to sit by the fire or to sit on the deck and enjoy a glass of wine. The cottage is stylishly decorated and immaculately clean.
The cottage represents great value for money.
I would definitely stay here again. It's a little home away from home. There is nothing whatsoever that I could find fault with. A huge thank you to the hosts who were so welcoming and so discreet. For any couple this would be an amazing get away, so close to town and restaurants, yet has the ambience of being in the bush.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Deb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jonathan A, Owner at Apple Tree Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

Thank you for your beautiful words. Reviews like yours help keep us doing what we do. Much appreciated!
Kind regards, Jonathan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018

It’s sometimes difficult to write a review when there are so many glowing reports on trip advisor. We gave this a five star rating simply due to the location and ease of access to the property and also to note that we were mostly comfortable. We liked the carport and traffic noise was non existent at night. It is an easy and pleasant walk into the village.

It is a charming cottage although far too cluttered. We found the beds too hard for us and did not sleep well. All beds could do with a topper giving more comfort.

The microwave is small and underpowered and the turntable did not rotate properly.
There is no dishwasher as cottage on tank water.

The televisions were small and the smallest in the main bedroom unable to be used due to digital breakup.

For the premium price we paid we expected the previously mentioned to be spot on and up to date and the beds comfortable.

The office is attached to the cottage.

Would we stay here again? Given the location and serenity, yes. It is a lovely spot and the deck out the back just gorgeous in the winter sunshine.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dicey09
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jonathan A, Owner at Apple Tree Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

Hello, thank you so much for your feedback. Since you have stayed in the Cottage we have upgraded the bedding (including toppers) and have installed a new digital TV aerial. Hope to have you back in beautiful Montille again soon.
Kind regards, Jonathan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews