We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still our favourite restaurant”
Review of The Long Apron

The Long Apron
Ranked #4 of 26 Restaurants in Montville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: AU$70 - AU$125
Cuisines: European, French, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Welcome to The Long Apron The signature restaurant of Montville’s picturesque Spicers Clovelly Estate. The Long Apron is a dining experience that insists on a lengthy stay. Our tasting menu doesn’t change every season but when the time is right. It is an ‘organic menu’ that adjusts to the changes constantly happening around us and highlights the best of our region, seasonal French inspired dishes, which blend classic techniques and the finest local produce with exquisite results. Our A La Carte menu offers a relaxed, fresh and zesty dining experience taking from dishes from the signature degustation. Our enthusiastic kitchen team are continuing to showcase the best of the Sunshine Coast’s stunning produce. We source our produce from our local growers, catchers, farmers and makers, some of which are providing bespoke ingredients for both ‘The Long Apron’ menus. The property’s garden and wild bee hives add to our sustainability commitment and emphasis on fresh and local.
Reviewed 18 April 2022 via mobile

No other restaurant has compared to this one in years for us. We recently had the degustation menu and as always, it was divine and flawless. Love the clean, simple flavours yet complexity in each dish in pairing unusual elements. Every dish was perfect. The service is impeccable, yet relaxed and lovely.

What would’ve made it better: the first time we came here years ago, there were amazing little extras - an edible tree, a palate cleanser. Last year, there was less of this and this year, no little extras. We still love The Long Apron and it still wows us every time but these little extras take it to that next level.

Date of visit: April 2022
Thank NBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2022 via mobile

We had an absolutely fabulous dinner at the long apron. The five course tasting menu was divine.

We started with yellow fin tuna with heirloom tomatoes, next was goats curd with caramelised fig, then amazing Murray River cod, followed by the most wonderful O’Connor fillet, and finally delicious cheesecake.

The paired wines were spectacular and matched perfectly to each course.

Service was efficient and friendly.

One of the best meals we have had in a very long time.

Date of visit: March 2022
1  Thank KawanaTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2022

We have been here before and it was lovely, however this visit was extremely disappointing. We both decided to go for the Wagu main at an extra $20 cost. Ordered medium rare and it arrived so raw that it was cold. We sent it back and the next one arrived overdone, dry and tough. The dessert of crème caramel was just dumped on a plate with no attempt to make it look pretty or appetising. Not the standard expected for the price paid. Won’t be back.

Date of visit: February 2022
Thank Vicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 February 2022

This was simply the best way to spend an evening! The food and wine pairings were sensational and we can't wait to go back.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank JodieS397
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 October 2021

Unfortunately service ruined our celebratory night on what should have been a fantastic evening. We would hope this isn't a common occurrence.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Lets_Diner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Long Apron also viewed

Montville, Sunshine Coast
 
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to The Long Apron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.