We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing and would never return.”

Montville Cafe Bar and Grille
Ranked #3 of 9 Quick Bites in Montville
Cuisines: Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Top of the hill main street montville
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Worst meal I have ever had - not one of the worst, but the worst. 200gm fillet steak burnt and so tough I had difficulty cutting and chewing it - Had several bites and then left it. Salad was a large pile of rocket with 4 slices of radish and possibly some olive oil sprinkled on it. Large pile of mash with lumps all through it. Ended up leaving whole meal.
Of the four of us dining one meal was brought to the table fairly quickly but we had to wait nearly 30 minutes for the other three.
Only Great Northern draft beer on tap which was flat, no head and not pleasant to drink - $10 per schooner. The only other draft beers on tap were Guiness and three-four unknown craft beers. No bottles or cans of mainstream beer available. No great selection of wine.
Staff appeared to be backpackers who, whilst very friendly really had no idea of what was going on.
On arrival at around 6.15pm we were told all tables were reserved or in use so we were seated outside under a marquee in the rain and cold. After complaining we were moved inside with two of us facing a wall badly in need of painting. The reserved tables remained empty until we left at about 8.00pm.
The entire restaurant is badly in need of an update with aged pine wainscoting everywhere and old wooden tables and chairs. Everything appears grubby and not at all inviting.
We had the impression this place is functioning as a tourist trap and only exists for that reason.

Date of visit: May 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SunshineCoastDingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 1,250 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2024

Terrible food non existent service so overpriced dogs up on laps with dog bums visible then peeing on table legs just horrible

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Laurel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 April 2024

It’s become a dog park and their food fits that marketing strategy. I paid $46 for a rib fillet and asked it booked blue. I received a fatty slice of meat about 8mm think cooked somewhere near well done with all the meat grey at least. I’ve been here about a dozen times before and it’s just been gradually getting worse and now won’t be back. There are dogs everywhere, we watch one held up on a table that actually pissed on the table, it’s just disgusting. Have a picnic in a dog part it would be the same as going here - yes we told staff of our feedback there and then.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Amaphupho_Farm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 April 2024

One of only a few places to have dinner that was readily available when we were in Montville. We were well received and selected a table in the main floor dining area. Drinks are supplied from a small bar section with a reasonable selection of various drinks - expect from $10 a drink as an approximation.
Meals ranged from low $20 mark to $44 while there were some starters if required. The menu, though, was reasonably bland - more a cafe type menu than a restaurant menu (but that is what the name of the place says). The menu however is restaurant level charge rates.
The food was well cooked and enjoyed but over $120 for two mains and a couple of drinks did seem a little expensive.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 February 2024 via mobile

Live music! We went for lunch with our 10m and 3y. Outside covered area , nice service and food/drinks/ice cream and just across from the bad edge place (bad experience)

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Monique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Montville Cafe Bar and Grille also viewed

Montville, Sunshine Coast
 
Montville, Sunshine Coast
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Montville Cafe Bar and Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.