We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Noel Coward
Blenheim, New Zealand

very nice location & great hosts

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Sept 2016
really nice room with spa bath. just what we needed after a day of exploring the village & its many cafes & shops. very quite location with beautiful views.
very comfortable accommodation, choice of log fire or heat pump.
Great breakfast !!
Very welcoming hosts with heaps of local knowledge.
Would recommend to anyone looking for luxury at a good price.
Pool looked really good but air temperature was a little too cold to try. next time.
Max & Charlie
Date of stay: September 2016
Room Tip: all rooms would be good
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
2.5 km from Montville Boutique BnB
Free Wifi
Free parking
SCE Main Lodge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$391
  • Booking.com
1.3 km from Montville Boutique BnB
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.7 km from Montville Boutique BnB
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Montville Boutique BnB
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
2.3 km from Montville Boutique BnB
Free parking
Spa
Gardens
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.1 km from Montville Boutique BnB
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.7 km from Montville Boutique BnB
Free parking
Spa
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Montville Boutique BnB
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$286
  • eDreams
0.8 km from Montville Boutique BnB
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • ZenHotels.com
3.2 km from Montville Boutique BnB
Free parking
Spa
View more hotels in Montville
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
35
3
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
35
3
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2016

My husband & I stayed for 2 nights on the weekend & enjoyed our stay very much. This place is great for a romantic weekend away, with the in-room fireplace & privacy. The location is perfect; close enough to town to walk there in a few minutes but far enough away from the traffic & crowds that can hit Montville on the weekends. We had a lovely breakfast there as well & were treated to the warm hospitality of Laura & Tony throughout our stay. I would recommend booking directly with them as this means a few extra inclusions that weren’t available with our online booking through a travel site. We would highly recommend Montville Provincal as an ideal winter or summer getaway.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 October 2015

We have stayed in many B and B's in Australia and overseas, but we have to rate Montville Provencal as one of the best. My husband and I were in Montville to attend a wedding, and chose Montville Provencal for it's quiet surroundings and easy walk to the town centre, where the wedding and reception were held.The rooms are beautifully furnished and very comfortable. Our hosts were excellent and friendly - attentive to the needs of their guests. Breakfast was generous and sumptuous. Montville Provencal was part of a very memorable weekend, and we highly recommend it.

Room tip: Room 1 is at the end of the verandah - very quiet and private!!
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2015

Relaxing, beautiful setting. Clearly a lot of thought and care has gone into delightful, spacious, immaculately clean and super comfortable rooms. This would have to be the best set out B & B I have ever stayed in, with glorious gardens and wonderful hosts, along with tickle your tastebuds delights offered for breakfast. Thanks again guys. We shall be back.

Room tip: Old world charm, spacious but cosy feeling
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank angela jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2015

I have stayed at Montville Provencal on quite a number of occasions over the last 15 years or so, although, I have to say in response to mistersoftlys review...I myself and my partner have stayed in all of the rooms on various occasions and I am very unsure of which room you are talking about!!
All the rooms are absolutely beautiful. Big bright and airy in summer, warm and cosy in winter. Not sure why it took 4 hours to heat up your room with the slow combustion fireplace ( inexperienced I suppose) but if you were having problems I know for sure Laura and Tony would have been more than happy to show you how to get the fire going ! Upon arrival you are warmly greeted by Laura and Tony and taken to your room, which we might add is beautiful, from the lovely clean bath towels to the crisp white linen on the most comfortable of beds that I have yet to compare too anywhere else we have stayed, so you know your in for a good nights sleep! All of Montville is on tank water so I don't know why drinking out of the tap would have been an issue for mistersoftly! ( The carafe of cold water in the fridge is from Montville Mist as Laura explains upon your arrival.) We absolutely love Montville Provencal and have no hesitation in recommending anyone staying here ! Also you are within walking distance to the shops and local restaurants so you don't have to worry about finding a car park which can be quiet difficult especially on weekends!! Oh I must also mention your brekkies are just awesome ! lovely home style cooking....better than a couple of the cafes we have been too...We will see you both in about 4 weeks !! Thank you once again Laura and Tony for another wonderful restful stay as always.. Mandy and Walter

Room tip: All rooms are quiet, middle room has a spa, all have private entry. walking distance to shop
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank mandy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2015

We love Montville Provencal. We have been coming to this B&B for the past 10 years. I love the summer time as we spend our time relaxing around the very private pool and beautiful gardens. Two weeks ago we were very fortunate to be able to stay for a long weekend. It was quite cold at night and we made full use of the wood fireplace. I had to call Tony up as we were not familiar with lighting fires. Tony happily lit our fire and gave us instructions on how to keep it going. The fire lasted us into the early hours of the morning. The rooms are beautifully furnished and very cosy. Our Queen size bed was very comfortable. Breakfast in the mornings was just amazing. Would definitely recommend. Sitting outside our room in the morning sun overlooking over the pool. So relaxing. We walked to the main street afterwords. A easy 5 minute walk into town. The owners Laura and Tony are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble. We would recommend this B&B to everyone and can't wait for our next long weekend. Glenn and Monica

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews