We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ Very rushed service, told”
Review of Flame Hill

Flame Hill
Ranked #10 of 26 Restaurants in Montville
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 7 February 2021 via mobile

Very rushed service, told us the special of the day whilst rushing us to our table.... which we didn’t really hear properly. Was a 33deg day and very hot under tin roof no breeze no fan. DEF NOT FINE DINING
A tasteless wagyu burger and average salad and 2 glasses of wine cost $75.
Not one to whinge but seriously they need to brush up the act. More like a maccas fast food cafe 😩. Won’t hurry back.

Date of visit: February 2021
2  Thank nikkimC3111SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2021

Worst customer service. We had a booking, they obviously didn't organise it and then was rushing around trying to make a table up for us out on a balcony next to the toilet - then FORGOT about us. Food was served 1.5 hours later, steak was cold also as in literally blue rare, which was asked for medium. The veggies were also cold. Had to go and ask for service to put our meal order in then go and ask for another drink when apparently is table service.. The girl basically rolled her eyes. Will never be back.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Sammi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2021

The view from the veranda is beautiful but the service is outrageously bad and the food is an abomination, especially for the price.

Date of visit: January 2021
2  Thank Onlyreviewingtowarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 December 2020

Flame Hill has all the ingredients for a magnificent lunch experience : lots of nice facilities, great wine bar and, above all, wonderful view over the vineyards from the balcony. The most important aspect, the food, however, was a major disappointment. We shared a duck/pork terrine as entree ; it was really dry and lacked taste. It was brought out without any toast or bread, which we had to ask for (the bread too was totally uninspiring : white and dry, instead of a nice crusty sourdough or artisan). I had the wagyu steak, it was rather grisly, but well cooked and came with a good assortment of roasted vegetables. She ordered the burger, overcooked and dry, with a pile of super bland cold fries, which looked as if they were the deep-freeze variety.
So much potential . . . what a shame.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
9  Thank Dirk W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 November 2020

It was our second visit to Flame Hill . We had a booking for 7 on the deck . We were very specific of our booking and requested to reserve a table where we could look at the Vineyard while we dine . We did not find our booking as we excepted . Meal was not that up to our expectation. Fish was undercooked . We booked our second visit due the experience which we had in the first time. But we got really disappointed during our second visit. There were couple of rude staff and we were not very happy. When we inquired about the table which we have asked for, they said it's pre revered weeks ago. But we were on the deck for almost 2 hours and we did not see anyone sitting on those tables. It disappointed us very much .

Date of visit: November 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank prasankae
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Flame Hill also viewed

Montville, Sunshine Coast
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Flame Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.