We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be so much better”
Review of Flame Hill

Flame Hill
Ranked #10 of 26 Restaurants in Montville
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 9 December 2020

Flame Hill has all the ingredients for a magnificent lunch experience : lots of nice facilities, great wine bar and, above all, wonderful view over the vineyards from the balcony. The most important aspect, the food, however, was a major disappointment. We shared a duck/pork terrine as entree ; it was really dry and lacked taste. It was brought out without any toast or bread, which we had to ask for (the bread too was totally uninspiring : white and dry, instead of a nice crusty sourdough or artisan). I had the wagyu steak, it was rather grisly, but well cooked and came with a good assortment of roasted vegetables. She ordered the burger, overcooked and dry, with a pile of super bland cold fries, which looked as if they were the deep-freeze variety.
So much potential . . . what a shame.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
9  Thank Dirk W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2020

It was our second visit to Flame Hill . We had a booking for 7 on the deck . We were very specific of our booking and requested to reserve a table where we could look at the Vineyard while we dine . We did not find our booking as we excepted . Meal was not that up to our expectation. Fish was undercooked . We booked our second visit due the experience which we had in the first time. But we got really disappointed during our second visit. There were couple of rude staff and we were not very happy. When we inquired about the table which we have asked for, they said it's pre revered weeks ago. But we were on the deck for almost 2 hours and we did not see anyone sitting on those tables. It disappointed us very much .

Date of visit: November 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank prasankae
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 September 2020

Dropped in to taste wine. Staff were very helpful and professional. Wine is very good, we only tried the whites. Not so inexpensive but price is fair for the quality. If you are looking for a nice wine with dinner this is the best place in Montville.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 September 2020

Cant wait to return and stay in their accommodation! Looked so great from the road, very private. Look fwd to dining there also.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank Mumma_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 September 2020 via mobile

The wine is great!

But the restaurant is one of the worst experiences I have had for a long time.

If I could elaborate on the menu descriptions I would say:

Steak of the day - if you love gristle then this if for you.

For the vegetarians - if you love fresh veggies then the vego burger is not for you.

Can you imagine this beautiful setting with great wine to only experience food and service that you wouldn’t conceive you would receive food that was prepared by 12 year olds.

Let’s say that I didn’t have a pleasant experience. It’s a shame as I have been coming periodically for 5 years and then it was great.

If I could put 0 stars I would for the food and service. Where’s the love.

Date of visit: September 2020
1  Thank J7292CHmarkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Flame Hill also viewed

Montville, Sunshine Coast
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Flame Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.