We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Stephanie
Deserves the good reviews!
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Nov 2015via mobile
Stayed at Monbii this week, and I can happily say that it was a perfect stay. Could not fault a single thing. Amazing views, new and clean, great breakfast brought to us in the morning. Private. This place definitely deserves the good reviews and I would recommend it to everyone.
Date of stay: November 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$250
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$250
  • Hotels.com
    AU$346
  • Expedia.com
    AU$346
1.2 km from At Sunrise Cottages
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$550
  • Priceline
    AU$550
  • Agoda.com
    AU$550
1.0 km from At Sunrise Cottages
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$427
  • Priceline
    AU$427
  • Agoda.com
    AU$375
  • Hotels.com
    AU$383
1.8 km from At Sunrise Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$215
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$215
  • Priceline
    AU$215
  • Expedia.com
    AU$215
1.5 km from At Sunrise Cottages
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$1,100
  • Agoda.com
    AU$1,100
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Vio.com
2.4 km from At Sunrise Cottages
Booking.com
AU$334
  • Priceline
    AU$349
  • Agoda.com
    AU$334
  • eDreams
    AU$334
3.9 km from At Sunrise Cottages
Homstead.
At the front of the property the Homestead sits overlooking the Blackall range, with full kitchen and lounge area and three large bedrooms to comfortably accommodate the whole family
Booking.com
AU$231
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$231
  • Agoda.com
    AU$231
  • eDreams
    AU$231
7.6 km from At Sunrise Cottages
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$330
  • Priceline
    AU$330
  • Expedia.com
    AU$297
  • Hotels.com
    AU$330
4.5 km from At Sunrise Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$245
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$245
  • Agoda.com
    AU$245
8.0 km from At Sunrise Cottages
Booking.com
AU$389
  • Priceline
    AU$389
  • Agoda.com
    AU$389
  • eDreams
    AU$389
8.0 km from At Sunrise Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Montville
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
19
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
19
2
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2015

I stayed at Monbii for two nights over the Easter weekend. It was heaven! There are two individual cottages with private balconies and uninterrupted views for the valley and all the way to the ocean. I arrived just after 3pm and and met one of the owners, who provided me with my key, let me know when breakfast would be delivered, asked if I needed the wi-fi password and then left me to it. As others have stated, I didn't see her again until I checked out.

I stayed in cottage 2. As you enter this cottage you immediately see the spectacular view. It was raining, but the view was wonderful. Look to the left and there was the little kitchenette, complete with microwave and Nescafe machine & Milk Frother too. I later discovered there was locally grown ground coffee, a selection of teas, and a full 1 L bottle of milk in the little fridge too!

Right in front of you there was a little log fire place, complete with cut wood should I wish to start a fire. Air conditioning and a ceiling fan. The owners had covered all bases environmentally.

To the right was the bed, cabinet that held the TV, DVD Player & Stereo. I also discovered that there was a selection of recent and popular DVDs included should I wish to watch one. There was also a small coffee table and 2 chairs arranged at the bottom of the bed.

When you stepped further into the room there was a closet with cotton robes, and if you turned the corner you found the door to the bathroom. There was a spa bath and shower with the same view out the window as the balcony. It is totally privet so no need for a covering on the bathroom window. The owners had also supplied candles, and local organic toiletries, which included bath salts and bath milk.

Stepping back into the main room and then out onto the balcony, there was a small barbeque, a little fire grate and a table with 2 chairs. It was lovely to sit and just take in the atmosphere of the area.

Breakfast comes to you in the cutest retro esky/cooler. It is a continental breakfast and consists of a fresh warm croissant with real butter and jam, a mini fruit filled pastry, some form of cereal, a container of fruit salad & a bottle of juice. It was totally delish!!

Monbii is in a beautiful location, and right next to Montville village. Maleny Cheese & Dairy are but a short drive away as it Maleny township. There are many wineries and thing other things to do around the area. All this is set out in a fantastic welcome folder in the cottage. There are also printed instructions on how to use the coffee machine & milk frother.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Monbii and recommend it to anyone want to stay in the Sunshine Coast.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JayneMarie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alison V, Owner at At Sunrise Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2015

Hi JayneMarie9
Thank you so much for your comprehensive review of our cottages. We are pleased you had such a relaxing time with us. Thank you for taking the time to review us and share your experience. It means a lot to us.
Hope to see you back some time.
Ali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Monbii for two nights (and wish it were more!).

The cottages are private with a spectacular outlook - you can see all the way to the ocean on a clear day. There are large windows/glass doors off the bedroom/living and bathroom, offering gorgeous views, even from the spa bath. The cottage is comfortably furnished with everything you'd need for a short stay.

On site parking is available and it is only a short walk/ drive (<1km) into the main street of Montville. Wifi is available on request for no extra charge. We loved that breakfast was provided each morning, with warm croissants and pastries, fruit, yoghurt, muesli, and juice, all left in a cute retro esky by the front door (we're not particularly social people early in the morning so this was an especially nice touch!!).

One word of caution though, be careful of the kookaburras on the balcony in the morning - they're quite bold in their attempts to steal your breakfast - with one swooping across the table several times! Keep your eyes on your brekky at all times...

Overall, we couldn't fault Monbii - definitely the best bang for your buck in Montville. We'll have to return in the colder months to take advantage of the fireplace.

Date of stay: March 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenji22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alison V, Owner at At Sunrise Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2015

Hi and thank so much for the lovely review.
It is lovely to be able to have breakfast on your own deck or in your cabin, virtually not having to get out of bed! This would definitely be my preference also. The esky is sealed and we pop in a freezer block so it keeps nicely for those late risers.
Be sure to return in winter as those fire places will be magnificent.
Kind regards
Alison and Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2015 via mobile

Stayed two nights at Monbii, very happy we chose to stay here. Absolutely gorgeous view from the balcony, and windows in the bathroom and main room meant we could look out on the stunning landscape from indoors. The cottage was very clean, and the decor created a warm and modern feel. From the reviews we read previous to our visit, people had mentioned the small touches at Monbii making the stay even better. Couldnt agree more. DVDs were provided, as well as candles and bubblebath for the spa among other little attentions to detail we noted. Lastly, the delivered morning breakfast was a delight. One of us required gluten free options, and this was catered for so well and without any fuss. Couldn't recommend Monbii more from our time there.

Date of stay: January 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank scottandmichelle14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alison V, Owner at At Sunrise Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2015

Hi there,
Thank you for the kind feedback.
We are more than happy and able to provide for special diets, so not a problem and you are welcome.
I am constantly sourcing alternative breakfast choices as well as different options for the spa bath - bubbles/bath bombs/bath milk etc. Recently guests were treated to bath confetti!! and now we have little natural hand made soaps which smell divine! It is lovely that you mentioned these touches.
Thank you and hope to see you back sometime.
Alison and Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2014

My husband and I recently stayed in Cottage 1 for two nights. It was absolutely stunning.
The only time we saw the owners was at check in - they were kindly accommodating of our late arrival (after 8pm). The room was unlocked and ready to go.

It's exactly as pictured - well equipped for a short stay with a little kitchenette, good sized bathroom, even a little TV with some DVDs provided hidden in the cabinet. The bed was comfortable - a little on the small side, but still good.

The whole place was very clean and tidy, I was especially pleased with the toiletries provided - including bath salts and bubble bath for the GORGEOUS spa. Better still is the view... totally uninterrupted and private. We absolutely loved it and the continental breakfast was appreciated. It was the perfect break for us - secluded, quiet, and just a short drive to lovely Montville.

A word of caution - don't have breakfast outside. As beautiful as it is, you'll be swooped by kookaburras who are a little too used to visitors. We also noticed the cottage swayed a little when you walk around - not surprising, being on such high stilts. It was fine... but I wouldn't want to be up there during a storm or strong winds.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kateena
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alison V, Owner at At Sunrise Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2015

Hi!
Thank you for your kind review. We really appreciate people taking the time to share their experience at our cottages.
Glad that you enjoyed the little extras and the breakfast.
Be sure to come back in winter as we now have lovely new fireplaces!
Kind regards
Alison and Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2014

We had a lovely time at the Monbii Private Cottages, it was the perfect get-away! So secluded and peaceful! It was nice to have our own little cottage with a fantastic view from the spa bath. The continental breakfasts included were also delicious!

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank MissShellBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alison V, Owner at At Sunrise Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2015

Hi there!
Thank you for your review. It is so lovely to receive feedback and know that we are on the right track! We are glad you enjoyed it and would love to see you again in the future.
Kind regards
Alison and Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews