We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Poets Restaurant and Cafe & Main Street Gallery
Ranked #20 of 26 Restaurants in Montville
Price range: AU$24 - AU$95
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 23 January 2024

Worst customer service I’ve ever seen. Arrived with our 2 year old child which apparently meant we had to sit outside near the main road. The very rude owner, whom I think must be single because he has zero empathy or respect, snatched a decorated table number out of our child’s hand and made her cry before we could even sit down. Don’t think he even knows how to smile looking at the other reviews. Shocking

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 837 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2024

Do not try to take your children here! They are very clearly not welcome. We walked in and it was empty, immediately an old man (could be owner or manager) told us we had to sit outside near the road. My 2 year old daughter sat on a chair and picked up the reserved sign and a little ladybug table decoration, smiling and happy. The man then GRABBED them out of her hand and said ‘NO’ and made her cry. We immediately got up and left. If I could put 0 stars I would. DO NOT TAKE YOUR CHILDREN, awful place.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
1  Thank chloë b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 January 2024

Poets Cafe is definitely a must stop while in Montville.
The staff there are absolutely fantastic, I visit almost daily as I work nearby and have never had a bad experience. The food is delicious and always cooked to perfection.
Poets has been my go to café over any other in Montville.

I am shocked to see any reviews speaking negatively about the staff or owner. The entire team is professional, well mannered and always endeavoured to ensure that my experience has been excellent.

Highly recommend.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank emmajeriksson_
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 January 2024

The building is AMAZING, and the position and views FANTASTC.
UNFORTUNATELY FOR US, we got GABBI as our waitress. I very seldom leave reviews unless I can say something positive, but this waitress really lets the whole business down! It may be that she hasn’t had the correct training or experience, but failing that, she just shouldn’t be working in the service industry. Bearing in mind that the restaurant was NOT busy when we went, her attitude was appalling. She was haughty, grabbed the menu of my grandson with quote”someone else might want to see that”. They didn’t have a high chair, but knowing my grandson to be well behaved, that wasn’t a problem. ( there were no signs saying children weren’t welcome). I did kindly request that we move tables when an outside one became available, at which point she practically barked that “ it was company policy not to move tables after an order had been taken” - no apology, no smile, just an arrogant smirk. Had I been on my own, I would have left immediately, but as I was with company, I felt that would be rude. The whole experience was RUINED by this one BAD EGG. I hope the owners have a chance to allow GABBI some training, and if not, allow her only kitchen or background duties where she can cause less damage to what would have been a wonderful experience.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Donna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 January 2024

Rude staff, unclean bathroom, unable to push two tables together to eat with our family, expensive, minimal gluten free options, can’t bring a pram in with sleeping baby.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Philip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Poets Restaurant and Cafe & Main Street Gallery also viewed

 
Montville, Sunshine Coast
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Poets Restaurant and Cafe & Main Street Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.