We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 312
USD 302
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 334
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Secrets on the Lake(Montville)(Great Value!)
USD 278
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Altitude on Montville(Montville)(Great Value!)
USD 149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montville Oceanview Cottages(Montville)(Great Value!)
USD 255
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Treetops Seaview(Montville)(Great Value!)
USD 197
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
Montville Mountain Inn Resort(Montville)(Great Value!)
USD 127
USD 116
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montville Holiday Apartments(Montville)(Great Value!)
USD 165
USD 99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 146
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Clouds of Montville Eco Resort and Spa(Montville)(Great Value!)
USD 128
USD 118
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
163
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
163
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsavocado cottagelake cottagelocal producebreakfast hamperthe cottagesrestaurant recommendationsprivate locationbacondishwashing liquidsinging birdswood firelake baroonsuper comfy bedspa bathmueslianniversary weekendbeautiful weekend
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2015

I cannot speak more highly of both the accommodation and the service at Montville Grove. I chose this property to propose, and Louise helped me with rose petals, tea lights, a bottle of moscato and made the experience unforgettable. I will definitely be returning to these fantastic cottages in the future, they are perfect for a romantic getaway with amazing views and environment.

Thanks!!

Room Tip: Avocado cottage has great views and is a very large space
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cameron_Grant_92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise B, Owner at Montville Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2015

Cameron, it was our pleasure to help you set the scene for a romantic proposal and we're glad you had a perfect weekend for such a special moment in your lives. Louise and Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015

From the moment we visited the excellent website and booked on line, we knew that this was something special and we were not disappointed.
The confirmation from Louise contained so much information about the location, places to visit, places to eat etc.
We stayed in the Lake Cottage which was just perfect. The log fire, spa, the amazing view of the lake took our breath away. The extras that Louise took the trouble to leave for us made the stay so memorable.
Trevor has done a magnificent job with the garden areas...just beautiful.

Room Tip: Best view 'Lake Cottage'
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lesleyg1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise B, Owner at Montville Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2015

Thanks so much for your review, Lesley. People often comment that our website and confirmation package give them a wonderful overview of the area so they can start planning and anticipating their time in Montville. Thanks for the comments on the gardens; Trevor puts a lot of work into creating such a beautiful green setting for the cottages. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. Louise Boylen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015

Lost count now of the number of visits but we are so happy staying we come back time and time again. We have stayed in every cottage at Montville Grove but we really like Fern. Not too small but cosy. We no longer buy birthday and anniversary presents we go to Montville Grove instead.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise B, Owner at Montville Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2015

Hi Sandra. Thanks for making time to post a review. We've lost count too but it's always lovely to see you again and it's nice to know we're part of your birthdays and anniversaries. Louise and Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile

We have stayed here several times and it's one of our favorite places in Montville. Avocado cottage is perfect, quaint and has a gorgeous outlook with all the trees, birds and can even see lake Baroon from the cabin. Trevor keeps the gardens looking immaculate and Louise is the perfect host, friendly and welcoming with outstanding knowledge of all things Montville. We can't wait to come back again, the breakfast hamper is super yummy too, especially the eggs :)
Rachel & Eric

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise B, Owner at Montville Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2015

Rachel, thanks for your kind comments and thanks also for coming back to stay in our cottages. I love that rainforest view from Avocado Cottage too. I've passed your compliments on the garden onto Trevor who works so hard keeping the gardens looking spectacular and the cottages in tip-top shape. I've also passed your praise onto those nomadic free-ranging chooks who supply such spectacular eggs for the breakfast hampers. Hope to see you again soon. Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015 via mobile

This is our second time staying here and we again enjoyed the Lake Cottage. Even though it is only a ten minute drive from the centre of Montville, it feels like a world away. With just the three cottages, it is so quiet and peaceful with the forest and the view down to the lake. The whip birds are a treat to listen to and this time there was a cat bird in the area too with it's unusual cat-like call.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise B, Owner at Montville Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2015

Thanks, Andrew, not just for your review but also returning to stay at our cottages again. We're glad you enjoyed the bird-calls. Our rainforest makes the cottages a wonderful spot for bird-watching and each week seems to bring a different bird-call or sighting. We even have several species that come back every year and nest in the garden around Fern Cottage; they're also return guests! We look forward to seeing you again. Louise and Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews