We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nadine B

Just wow!!! Luxury, romance and nature!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
We recently stayed at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat to celebrate my fiancés birthday.
From the moment we arrived we felt an amazing sense of calm, peace and romance.
The wonderful hosts Ali and Xochi have created an amazing escape from the hustle and bustle of every day life. Relaxing music was playing in our cabin when we arrived, beautiful fresh red roses on the table, and delicious local chocolates on the bed.
The rooms were very spacious, with high ceilings, a huge comfy bed and a stunning marble bathroom. The fireplace was all ready to light, with plenty of wood and kindling to keep the fire going which was a real treat!
We had a lovely bottle of champagne and cheese platter, and they had some delicious sounding curries and bbq hampers which we will try next time, along with an extensive array of cocktails, mocktails, spirits and wines.
Relaxing in the outdoor spa was a highlight, surrounded by the sounds of the bush and beautiful bird songs. We even saw a native possum in the evening and got to hand feed king parrots in the morning with the birdseed that was thoughtfully provided.
A breakfast hamper was in the room on arrival with plenty of yummy options including fresh bread and local butter, jams, cereals, local yogurts, freshly laid eggs, bacon and fresh orange juice. Plus warm croissants arrived in a bag outside our room in the morning, so we were extremely well fed.
We highly recommended a stay at this amazing retreat and we can’t wait to go back again one day!
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: We wished we had booked for longer as we didn’t want to leave! Lots to see in surrounding...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ali Khan, Owner at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear 224nadineb,

Just wow to you too! Thank you so much for taking the time to detail your experience of Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat. It was an absolute pleasure to host you both and we are thrilled that you enjoyed celebrating your fiancés birthday in style at Narrows Escape.

The outdoor spa is definitely a highlight for the Dove villa, and listening to the sounds of the rainforest is the best way to fully relax and unwind.

We are so happy that you enjoyed all the little extras.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you need a little romantic escape.

Best wishes,

Ali and Xochi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Free parking
Spa
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
0.6 km from Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Free parking
Spa
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.1 km from Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • ZenHotels.com
2.0 km from Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Free parking
Spa
Gardens
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.5 km from Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
SCE Main Lodge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$365
  • Hotels.com
3.8 km from Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$250
  • Priceline
2.4 km from Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$677
  • Hotels.com
2.5 km from Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Free parking
Spa
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$310
  • Hotels.com
3.9 km from Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Montville
Reviews (866)
Filter reviews
866 results
Traveller rating
836
22
4
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
836
22
4
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cheese platter croissants breakfast hamper each morning lamb curry my partner on arrival spa bath attention to detail dinner hampers complimentary port local produce our honeymoon couples massage log fire delivered daily well equipped kitchen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 866 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a beautiful place to visit. The cabins were well set up , every little detail was thought of. The team were really friendly and walked to your cabin to music playing and the fire crackling. What a perfect way to start, instantly relaxed.
The grounds had a small creek running through where you can go for a walk. As we sat for breakfast on the deck of fresh hot croissants delivered to your cabin, a fresh hamper waiting on you arrival, we could hear the birds life in the trees and even visited by them on our deck.

Room tip: They do supply meals for dinner, if you are planning on eating out I recommend you check local restaurants as most are closed mid week
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ali Khan, Owner at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear E3532YZjasone,

Your best sleep in years!! That is fabulous to hear. There is something quite special about being tucked down in the rainforest canopy so that early morning sunshine doesn't reach here until a little bit later and then having a nice comfy bed and the beautiful rainforest sounds of the creek and birdlife, that make sleeping in a treat.

We are so grateful that you have taken the time to share your experience of Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat and all of the little details that you enjoyed.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best wishes,

Ali and Xochi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2024

We stayed in May 2024 and had the most wonderful weekend exploring the nearby shops and restaurants. Our accommodation was incredible and exceeded our expectations . We loved dipping into the pool and setting up the fire each night.
Ali and Xochi were also very hospitable, dropping us freshly baked croissants every morning and being there for anything we needed. We will definitely be coming back next time we are in Queensland.

Room tip: Be sure to get a hire car and explore Montville and the nearby restaurants.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kieran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ali Khan, Owner at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 698kierang,

It was such a pleasure to host you both at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your heated plunge pool in the rainforest and there is nothing quite like snuggling up by the fire as the Autumn chill sets in.

We are so happy that you came to explore the beautiful Sunshine Coast Hinterland and we look forward to welcoming you back, next time you get a chance to visit Queensland.

Best wishes,

Ali and Xochi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2024

Wonderful experience with fantastic hosts, ideal setting, great food and excellent accommodation. Location is close to fantatic restaurants, lovely walks and scenery but still far enough away to be totally private. 100% will recommend to all.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lloyd A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ali Khan, Owner at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2024

Dear lloyda902,

It was such a pleasure to host you and we are thrilled that you found Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat to be a "Magical Destination". You are right - it is the perfect blend between being nestled in your own private rainforest escape but still in close proximity to all the things you could want like fabulous dining, exceptional hiking and breathtaking scenery.

Thank you so much for recommending Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat - it really means so much to us.

We hope to welcome you back again.

Best wishes,

Ali and Xochi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2024

It was our anniversary and we wanted to get away and do something special for ourselves - Narrows Escape ticked every single box! We had the most relaxing weekend and left already planning when we could go back. Ali and Xochi were so accommodating. Cannot recommend highly enough, and definitely worth getting an in-room massage!

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ali Khan, Owner at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2024

Dear G4018HYsarahp,

Wow - thank you so much for taking the time to share Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat as the "best weekend getaway"! We are so happy that you had a wonderful stay, and we are very excited to hear that you are already planning a return visit.

Massages are definitely a great way to find that perfect element of relaxation in the rainforest.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes,

Ali and Xochi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2024

I could not fault the amenities and customer service from Ali and Xochi. They were so kind and welcoming. We received a complimentary upgrade to the Whipbird luxury cabin with an outdoor magnesium spa which was unexpected and a lovely surprise! This was our 2nd time coming to this place, the first was in May 2010. The place has expanded but it still remains intimate and private. The little touches like the welcoming pack and the fresh, warm croissants every morning just makes you feel that extra special. We will definitely be returning again but much sooner!

Room tip: This place has everything you need and more for a romantic or relaxing getaway! The owners are very kind and accommodating to our needs
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ali Khan, Owner at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

DearjackiewN5632NY,

Wow - you put a huge smile on my face with the words "warm hug feeling"! We can't thank you enough for taking the time to share your experience of Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat and we are thrilled that you loved it again on your return and that you will be back! It was an absolute pleasure to host you both and we are thrilled that you found the magic of a Narrows Escape stay nestled in the rainforest.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes,

Ali and Xochi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews