We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Paradise823103

How to unwind.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Mar 2024
We were looking for an escape from the hustle of city life and found it here. You really lack for nothing in your villa. We enjoyed the heated private pool and taking breakfast and dinner on the deck. One night we were joined by a possum family that made the deck hand rail their bedroom to escape the rain.

The appointments in the White Cockatoo for 1st class and having croissants delivered each morning was an unexpected delight.

The photos on the website are accurate.

Just do it.
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: Read the inclusions.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ali Khan, Owner at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review
Responded 29 Mar 2024
Dear paradise823103,

Thank you so much for your amazing words about your stay in a private pool villa at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat. We can't thank you enough for taking the time to share your experience.

We are thrilled that you had a 1st class stay in our beautiful white cockatoo private pool villa.

We hope to see you again next time you need to escape the hustle and bustle of the city and recharge.

Best wishes,

Ali and Xochi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Free parking
Spa
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Free parking
Spa
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.1 km from Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • ZenHotels.com
2.0 km from Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Free parking
Spa
Gardens
AU$715
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.5 km from Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
SCE Main Lodge
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$399
  • Hotels.com
3.8 km from Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$293
  • Priceline
2.4 km from Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$495
  • Hotels.com
2.5 km from Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Free parking
Spa
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$285
  • Booking.com
3.9 km from Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Montville
Reviews (866)
Filter reviews
866 results
Traveller rating
836
22
4
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
836
22
4
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cheese platter croissants breakfast hamper each morning lamb curry my partner on arrival spa bath attention to detail dinner hampers complimentary port local produce our honeymoon couples massage log fire delivered daily well equipped kitchen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 866 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2024

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay in the Wagtail villa. It was complete with wonderful amenities and the warm croissants delivered for breakfast were are real treat. The rainforest setting was delightful and the service standards from the proprietors was exceptional.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ali Khan, Owner at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2024

Dear Margaret K,

It was such a pleasure to host you and we are thrilled by your lovely comments about your stay at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat and our service. It means the world to us that you have taken the time to share your experience.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Best wishes,

Ali and Xochi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2024

We went to Montville for a midweek break and stayed at the Narrows Escape. The retreat was absolutely beautiful. The room was so clean and fully stocked with goodies. Using the spa surrounded by rainforest was simply luxurious and stunning. We had daily breakfast provided to us so we didn’t need to rush out in the morning. Dinner was also provided to our room and was delicious. The trials around the retreat were fun and not very difficult and of course the views were incredible. The owners of Narrows Escape are so approachable and lovely - nothing was too much to ask. We throughly enjoyed our stay and cannot wait to come back.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank amandaperna1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ali Khan, Owner at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2024

Dear amandaperna1990,

It is an absolute joy to hear that you had a wonderful quiet and luxurious getaway at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat. The nature in this area is absolutely stunning and it is a real treat to have a spa surrounded by nature.

We can't thank you enough for taking the time to share your experience of Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Best wishes,

Ali and Xochi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2024

Firstly, of course the setting is amazing, and we were lucky to have a King Parrot fly down onto our balcony while we were eating breakfast one morning. There are plenty of birds and wildlife but not always easy to capture on camera.

The attention to detail and comfort of the accommodation is exceptional. The bed and pillows are so comfy. We loved the breakfast hamper which included fresh fruit, bread, butter, jams, eggs, with bacon and yogurts in the fridge (although we didn’t cook). The fresh croissants each morning were delicious. Of course, various teas, coffee, milk and biscuits. A couple of special chocolates which were delicious.

They offer a dine in your villa option, (meals and drinks) and although we didn’t use this, we felt there was a good choice and not over priced.

There’s so much to see and do in the area especially if you like walking. As well as some of the shorter walks we visited Montville, a picturesque artisan village and Maleney, with it’s bustling high street and beautiful views. Id also recommend the short trip to Gardeners Falls as you pass this in the way in or out, it’s nice spot for a picnic on a hot day. We only had a 2 night stay but could have stayed longer and explored a lot more.

Room tip: Montville could get very busy in the high season, so book restaurants in advance. Your hosts at Narrow Escape will be more than happy help.
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 973elainee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ali Khan, Owner at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2024

Dear973elainee,

Wow! It was such a delight to read your words above about your stay at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat. We can't thank you enough for taking the time to detail your experience.

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed a visit from the beautiful King Parrots - they are a delight! There is a lot to do in this beautiful region - perhaps we can entice you back for another stay to get some more exploring done!

It means the world to us that you found your accommodation exceptional. Thank you so much for sharing your experience.

We hope to host you again in the future.

Best wishes,

Ali and Xochi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2024

Absolutely amazing. Very private and secluded and perfect to get away and reconnect with my partner without the stresses of the outside world. The hosts were very polite and helpful and the surroundings are beautiful. Highly recommend for anyone

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Carmel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ali Khan, Owner at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2024

Dear carmels252,

Thank you so much for highly recommending Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat! It is a delight to read that you had a beautiful experience reconnecting with your partner in the seclusion of your rainforest villa.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Best wishes,

Ali and Xochi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2024

Have just returned from a 2 night stay with my teenage daughter and we thoroughly enjoyed Narrows Escape. The cottage was immaculately clean with so many thoughtful extra touches, and Xochi and Ali really made us feel cared about. They bake their croissants and bread onsite, and it is to die for! Being able to order dinner hampers was one of the reasons I decided to book, as I just wanted to sit back and relax and not have to venture out, and the food was lovely. Would not hesitate to return!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tickiboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ali Khan, Owner at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2024

Dear Tickiboo,

It was such a pleasure to host you and your daughter for a bit of respite and calm. We are so happy that you enjoyed the rainforest setting and all of the little details of the villa. We are glad that you enjoyed the dinner and BBQ hampers and that they allowed you to just cocoon yourselves in nature without having to go anywhere else.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, we really appreciate it.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,

Ali and Xochi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews