We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A house of distinction and charm.”

Review of Cliff Cottage

Cottage with beach one minute down the path
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage with beach one minute down the path
Downstairs bedroom with seaview The cottage and conservatory and grounds with St Ives in the distance (20 minutes away)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Cottage with beach one minute down the path
Downstairs bedroom with seaview
The cottage and conservatory and grounds with St Ives in the distance (20 minutes away)
Sitting room facing the sea
View over hedge towards Hawks point and Gwithian
Corner fence by private path to beach one minute away
Conservatory with view of cliff side and scented pink geraniums
Master bedroom with panoramic seaview
Downstairs bedroom with seaview
Sitting room fireplace
Dining table in the window of the sitting room showing the view and stained glass windows
Front door of cottage with scented lemon tree
Decorative souvenirs in the conservatory
Reading room window with sea-view
Table and sofa bed in reading room
Entrance hall staircase dining room door to far sitting room
Front of the house with balcony of master bedroom
Sitting room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Pantry
Carbis Bay beach below the cottage with the view of the cliff path leading to St Ives
View of cliff cottage facing the bay towards St Ives
View of Hawks Point and rainbow over Godrevy lighthouse and seven miles of golden sands at Gwithian
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Carbis Bay, St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tommyorwi...
Matlock, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A house of distinction and charm.”
Reviewed 26 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We travelled by train to this property and found the position of the house breathtaking, sitting as it does with a commanding view of Carbis Bay and across to St Ives. The house itself was wonderful to be in, full of character and interest at every turn. All is within easy reach - shops, restaurants, transport, fresh fish, sea yet you have the happy experience of being quite away from it all. It is the kind of place you see from the coastal path and wonder who is lucky enough to live there. Well, we did for a week and it was marvellous.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location is unique
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
thank you very much Annabel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aly_as247
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great honeymoon location”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Having been spectacularly let down by Holiday Cottages (cancelling our long term booked honeymoon in one of their cottages two weeks before the honeymoon), Annabelle's Cliff Cottage was an amazing alternate honeymoon venue. We fell in love with the house instantly, it's charm, it's beach location, it's layout, it just took our breath away. We did lots of day trips out and about and had a lovely meal at Alba in St Ives (using the branch line, next to the house, to get in and out again). We would love to come again, probably out of season next time as we were told off by quite a few locals for having the dog on the beach!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: private access to the beach
Liked least: Didn't know we weren't allowed the dog on the beach!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
Thank you very much Annabel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseMJo...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect house: Stunning views of the sea, private and secluded, immaculate and plenty of space.”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The house was even more impressive than we had expected. A real home, immaculately clean, full of interesting things, plenty of room to spread out, lots of character and with a lovely garden. Our two young boys loved it. The train was within easy reach and fairly frequent; just five minutes journey into St Ives. It was a short walk down a private path to the beach, which was quiet and picturesque. We loved waking up to the sound of the waves crashing. Highly recommended and we would definitely like to go back. This is a little gem nestled in such a private spot that you could believe there was no one else living nearby.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
Thank you very much Annabel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa A
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous location, beautiful house, breathtaking views”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have visited Cliff Cottage for the past 4 years, and plan to visit again this year. It is a beautiful traditional property in the most stunning location, right on Carbis Bay Beach. The house is perfectly situated for the beach, the costal walk or train into St Ives; its restaurants, art galleries and shops.

The house is very spacious and is equipt with all you need for a perfect holiday. Very comfortable beds and views breathtaking from all the sea-facing rooms.

If the weather is good, there is no better place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: a separate shower would be great!!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
Thank you very much Annabel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle D
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A dream of a house”
Reviewed 26 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Annabel was charming when we booked her house which - without doubt - is the most beautiful seaside house we have ever stayed in. We just loved the feel (and fact) that this is a real home - quirky, light and airy and with bags of history, character and atmosphere. A far cry from modern, boring, boxlike and 'stream-lined' hotel rooms or soul-less flatpack holiday cottages. The house is beautifully furnished with antique pieces and we loved cooking on the old cooker which was incredibly fast and effective. The bedrooms and beds are extremely comfy and the house spotlessly clean (thanks, Deborah!). Best of all though, are the views from the house of the sea, the cliffs and St. Ives in the distance; completely stunning at all times of the day and in all sorts of weather. We made the most of them by having our morning cup of tea in bed, breakfast in the lovely conservatory in the morning sunshine and supper in the bay window in the sitting room. The daily long walks on the amazing golden-white sandy beach, which at low tide went on forever, were hugely enjoyed by all - not least by our two Border Terriers who loved roaming about. The colour of the sea is the most amazing blue, similar to what one finds in the Med. If one can bear to leave the house and the beach there are loads of things to do and see in the area: the coastal walk into St Ives is lovely, museums great, art courses interesting, masses of little shops, amazing fresh fish and crab to be bought (pre-order at Trim's) in town. Our break was everything we had wished for and more, so we have already booked to go back. And we can't wait!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and the glorious views
Liked least: There was nothing not to like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
Thank you very much Annabel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing