We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Cottage”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of River View Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kenmore, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
janemZ733...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Cottage”
Reviewed 7 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second visit to this lovely cottage. The accommodation is spacious, clean & in a lovely location overlooking the river. Very comfortable lounge & beds. Welcome tray & milk in the fridge was a nice touch. Very efficient heating & powerful showers. Perfect location for a very short stroll to the Kenmore Hotel or the Mains of Taymouth both serving food & drinks should you decide to venture out however the kitchen is very well equipped. Can highly recommend this cottage & we look forward to returning again next year. Thanks to Angela for all her very efficient assistance with our booking. Only very slight negative comment would be from the men in our family group who would have liked Sky TV.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Standard of accommodation & location.
Liked least: No Sky TV or internet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review Jane. It was great to have you back. Sorry about the lack of Sky TV but we are currently waiting for BT to connect the Broadband service which will give more options for TV viewing. Look forward to having you back again next year. Kind regards, Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j0sie1953
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We visited the cottage for a family birthday weekend. There were 6 of us and the cottage was ideal. Very handy for pub/hotel and local amenities. Plenty of room for 6 people and everything we needed. Very clean. Visited the Marina Restaurant which is a 10 to 15 min walk from cottage where we had a lovely meal. Aberfeldy is only 6 miles away where there are more facilities. Only negative was the lack of mobile signal and no wifi but can get that in hotel bar. A great, relaxing weekend. Thankyou.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Liked best: Plenty of room for 6 people
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your review. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at River View Cottage. I am afraid that the mobile phone signal does vary depending on your service provider. One of the joys of the rural location! Hope you will book with us again sometime. Kind regards,
Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merlin l
haverfordwest
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A good holiday location! ”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was clean, and well equipped. ( did miss dishwasher and tumble dryer though as weather was not to good). Daughters missed WIFI but we were ok without. Mobile signal was patchy that was annoying as had someone recovering from an illness in the family but that wouldn't have bothered us normally ? The cottage is in a lovely location by the river Tay, nice balcony overlooking the river. Kenmore is a lovely village with all the amenities you need! And we would disagree with last reviewer think the Kenmore hotel is a good mix of traditional and modern. Staff were amazing and food glorious a must to try, when staying at the cottage. As it's walking distance away? We had a lovely holiday, in a quiet and cosy cottage. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very comfortable cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We were looking for a cottage around Kenmore to to be close to the Loch and walks to Aberfeldy and nearby locations. We booked the cottage last summer based on the location, facilities, space and facilities. The cottage is very well equipped and is easy to get to in Kenmore with parking just outside. There are bedrooms above the living area and in the basement. The living area was comfortable and the kitchen had all the necessary equipment. From the deck one can walk down to the river. Beds were comfortable and bathrooms clean.

Loch Tay is very close by though it was still too cold to hire canoes! The Kenmore Hotel is very close for meals and drinks but the hotel has clearly seen better days! The Courtyard restaurant over the bridge has good value meals in comfortable surroundings.

There is a very inexpensive bus service to Aberfeldy and we took the bus in one day and walked along the Tay back - a great walk with great scenery and we even saw red squirrels.

Location wise, Kenmore is not far from Pitlochry, the House of Bruar for shopping. Walks up Glen Tilt at Blair Atholl, and Aberfeldy (the Birks walk is excellent). Lovely views at Loch Tummel.

Overall, we had a great time in a comfortable well equipped cottage. Whilst we did not really miss wifi, it may be something the owners may wish to consider adding. For those desperate, there are BT hotspots not too far away and the Courtyard has it for guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Lack of wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the cottage. You certainly seem to have made the most of the area and its lovely to hear your recommendations for walks etc. We will let the owner know about your thoughts re the lack of wifi. Thank you again for booking with us; we really do appreciate it. Kind regards, Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan P
Insch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent place to relax in beautiful peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a short break in this lovely cottage (fir to mon). Cottage is spacious modern and very clean. The view from the patio doors is gorgeous as you see the river gently flowing by and the ducks swimming. We took fairy liquid, paper towels, salt pepper etc none of which was required. Everything was supplied in this charming cottage. It is only a 2 Minuit walk from the hotel where we ate on two of the nights . Food and atmosphere were great. Will definitely rent this cottage again.

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing