We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nonsuch Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Nonsuch Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Bembridge, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
herbie140...
Bembridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nonsuch Cottage”
Reviewed 24 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Fabulous location. Had lovely walks on beach; very dog friendly with lovely garden. Lack of loo paper and soaps slight letdown

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Zoe R
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed 24 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We really enjoy our week at Nonsuch Cottage. Fantastic location, good facilities, really close to the beach and walking distance to cafes and a Coop. A lovely house with good living accommodation, plus the master bedroom had a great sea view. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious living area
Liked least: Tight parking
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for your review thats so great to hear!!! Look forward to welcoming you again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Woolford4...
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A great house overshadowed by a number of issues”
Reviewed 3 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this property from 23 -30 July.

On first impressions it was great. Very well equipped with top of range equipment and accessories, open plan living overlooking decking and a well laid out garden.

However these impressions were eroded as the week progressed.

On the first day the tri fold doors (which quite rightly we and other reviewers have rated highly) came off their track and wouldn't close due to a stretched and expanded door seal. Whilst Toby at Wight Coast arranged for local contractor Jason to come around and fix, it was disheartening to hear that this has happened before and all he could do was repair the previous bodge.

Twice during the weeks stay the upstairs shower leaked and dripped through to the downstairs electrics tripping the circuit box.

Again Jason was called to investigate and repair. The root cause of the problem was a "bunged" drain from dog hair blocking the waste away meaning the shower tray overflowed as the door seal had perished.

Both of these things could and should have been avoided by simply better cleaning and maintenance. The cleanliness of the house overall was disappointing.

Overall Nonsuch is a lovely property and deserves a better review than this one however the 3 issues we had completely impacted the enjoyment factor of our week away.

The worse part was the accusory email from the letting agent re my comments in their visitor book of the above.

Apparently I must have been at fault for heavy handling of the tri fold doors and with regard to the leaking shower tripping the electrics, well " these things happen" was his response.....

Overall we will not be back. However I do not think they will have us back anyhow as honesty apparently is not the best policy.

Nonsuch more like NonEnjoyment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Thank you for your comments Graham what a great shame that you choose to write these comments about a truly remarkable property on our books. Once reporting your issues to us we had Jason come to you straight away to fix them even leaving his family BBQ on the Saturday evening to fix the doors which had never been a problem in the past and which yes I did say to you that this could of been caused by heavy handed ness. This was fixed a long with all other issues on the day which were reported. You told us that Jason had done a bodge job on the shower and yet the next guests told us it was absolutely fine. The next guests came in on your Saturday departure were horrified by your comments in the guest book and said "Nonsuch Cottage was beyond perfection." We have between 20 and 30 families a year staying at Nonsuch Cottage with many glowing reviews and yours is the first and only negative one to date. Which indicates the cottage is not at all as you describe.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing