We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
92
75
27
20
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
75
27
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubcoventry airportportion sizebooked a tablepuddingon arrivalevening mealbusiness tripmember of stafffull englishcar parkaccommodationjaynevenue
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2015

We arrived stressed and exhausted at 9:30 p.m.
As soon as we entered the premises we felt welcomed. Although the kitchen was closed, the proprietress asked the cook to make us a couple of sandwiches. We were famished, since we hadn't had lunch! The ham and cheese sandwiches on home made bread were wonderful, as was the bottle of wine we shared as we sat in the pub and listened to the lively bingo game in progress.
The pub/dining room area was renovated two years ago and is warm and inviting, featuring leather chairs and sofa's.
The rooms and halls were renovated this year, and we were very happy with the lovely room we got. Everything was new and the bathroom spacious.
This is a family owned inn. The owner, Gail, was extremely helpful.We had a shopping list of things we needed for our daughter who was starting university in Birmingham, as an exchange student from Canada. Gail suggested stores that we could go to and printed off maps for us.
Every meal we had there was terrific. You must try the homemade meat pies!
The location was very good. We wanted to be out in the countryside a bit, The inn is about 20 minutes to Birmingham Airport and close to Warwick Castle (which is worth the tour).
You really won't be disappointed, if you want a quiet spot in a lovely countryside.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GayleT, Owner at The Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2015

Hi Ellen,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and feedback on your recent visit to The Oak. We are delighted that you found everything to your liking on your visit and that our renowned pies were well received.

We trust you had a safe trip home and everyone here at The Oak looks forward to extending a warm welcome to you both should you return at any point.

Chris & Gayle Goodwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015

Stopped off at The Oak after a visit to Ryton Pools for a lunch with friends. Very warm welcome from the young ladies behind the bar and a good pint of Trooper. Large menu with curry goat being the days special. We all opted for various sandwiches and baguettes and all were excellent, served with nachos and salad. We all swapped the nachos for chips and cheesy chips (all well cooked). Overall a very pleasant place to spend an hour or two (also dog friendly in the bar).

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyrgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GayleT, Owner at The Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2015

Hello,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience and feedback on your visit to The Oak.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stop-over for food after your visit to Ryton Pools and that the sandwiches and baguettes met with your satisfaction. Your feedback has been passed onto our team in the kitchen.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Oak where we will ensure that you enjoy the same high standards of food and service.

Chris & Gayle Goodwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

My partner and myself stayed for only one night, but will stay again very soon. we found the room to be clean, fresh and finished to an exacting standard. we both felt at ease from the second we saw the hotel. we had a great meal in the pub next door, a couple of drinks, a chat with the bar maid who checked us in left us in no doubt this was a great place. after a good nights sleep on a very comfy bed we felt sorry to be departing but we will be back again soon. i am convinced anyone who tries this hotel will not be dissapointed. your hotel is FANTASTIC. thankyou. rich and kaye,

Room Tip: all the rooms are decked out different, check the web site.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swizzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GayleT, Owner at The Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2015

Hello,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience and feedback on your stay at The Oak.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and that you liked our newly refurbished bedrooms. On behalf of the team here at The Oak we all look forward to extending a warm welcome to you both upon your return.

Kind Regards

Chris & Gayle Goodwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2015

I did an overnight here between visiting the Midland Air Museum and spending 4 July at the Bagington Air Pageant. If you are attending an event at the Classic Air Force Airbase this is literally on the doorstep. First impressions were of a busy and popular pub, which is always a good sign. Check in was straight forward, you just go the righthand end of the bar. The room looked newly redecorated, it was clean and very well furnished. There was a slight smell of paint in the corridor but not in the room itself. My room was ground floor looking out away from the pub so very quiet outside. The only noise problem was from other guests who slammed all the doors and shouted down the corridor just after midnight, the rooms are not well sound proofed so any noise inside echoes around. Over all it's good, budget accommodation that I would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GayleT, Owner at The Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2015

John,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback on your visit to The Oak.

We are delighted that found us to be good value and that you enjoyed our newly refurbished accommodation. We hope that if you are back in the area for another event at the Airport that you will choose to stay with us.

Chris & Gayle Goodwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015

I booked this hotel for my son and I as a location which needed to be south of Birmingham with easy access to the A45 with access to the M45/M1 and also north to the M6
The bedroom was very clean and bright and well equipped for the overnight traveller. The pub was a little dark but the staff were very friendly and a great choice of beers, wine and food especially for a village pub.
The summer sun had bought loads of people out and we were advised there was quite a long wait for food - over an hour - so no problem for us. We both had the Saturday Special (2 steaks and a bottle of wine) - we had the large rump steak and can honestly say it was the best steak I had ever had - bearing in mind I have worked in the hotel industry for the past 25 years, that takes some saying!
The hotel is located adjacent to the Coventry airport but as there are mainly light aircraft it is not a noise problem but quite interesting watching them from the garden. If you have time on your hands there are 2 aircraft museums on the airport with some great examples.
The only potential negative side is that being dog friendly the friendly hosts dog does wander about - especially when you are eating- I like dogs but not when I am eating - also not everyone likes dogs.
Yes I would recommend the Oak.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rodder007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GayleT, Owner at The Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2015

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback on your stay at The Oak.

We are delighted that found us to be good value and that you enjoyed the Rump Steak. All of our meat is sourced from a local butcher who delivers in to each day - our Rump Steaks are particularly popular.

We do have a "Dog Free" area for guests who would prefer to dine in an area without the presence. We hope that if you are back in the area you choose to stay with us again when a warm welcome would be extended to you by everyone here at The Oak.

Chris & Gayle Goodwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews