We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveller rating
325
68
31
12
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
325
68
31
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate poolbamboo showertuna tartarepresidential villaoutdoor bathroommain infinity poolview deckprivate dinnerpersonal butlerchocolate hillsresident managerdinner on the beachtagbilaran airportbeach resortfilipino fooddolphin watchinghighly recommend this place
Filter
Updating list...
329 - 334 of 448 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2012

At first glance, this is a 5 star resort, however, management at this hotel lost their opporunity to turn this beautiful resort into something great. The rooms are fantastic but when you are paying a minimum of US$700 a night, you expect excellent service to go along with it. Unfortunately, while the staff tries hard, the hotel has not invested in proper training to have them at the level required for their price point.
Rooms - Beautifully decorated local style, large suites with complete ammenities. The bathroom is open air/outdoors, which is nice in theory but you're in the tropics so you can get bitten by a mosquito or spied on by a lizard or rained on. My kids were attacked by mosquitos in the room as well, they provide mosquito net to sleep in but it was dusty.
Internet - free WIFI included
Food - food is decent
Service - the staff is very friendly and they try hard but the service is VERY VERY slow when you order a la carte. It tooks over an hour for a plate of pasta with tomatoe sauce. At this price point, service needs to be impeccable. Staff needs to anticipate guests needs. The hotel needs to invest in proper training. All of this was missing.
Pool - very nice infinity pool overlooking the beach
Beach - white sand, depending on the time of year, could be choppy

Bohol has a lot to offer, the chocolate hills, whale shark/dolfin watching, tarshier monkey.

Room Tip: Suites with pool are nice
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

A beautiful location and a pleasant enough place, but somehow lacking anything too special. Certainly not good value for money, looks a bit tired. The food was overall quite ordinary - although the spa was lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SGC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

in an amazing area of Philippines, Panglao.
very good service, very nice location and will go back again with no question.
The private villa with pool is the choice to stay at this place.
The restaurant is great and the breakfast is very very good.
Please do not hesitate to ask for private diner by the beach or by the pool.
And the fresh cocktails are very good.
the spa is really nice and good massage there

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank francoistiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This is more the kind of resort you might pay USD200 for in Thailand. The room was lovely and the staff tried very hard - but other areas were severely lacking in quality. The resort overall appears run down and lacking attention to detail - the walkways are cracked, the gardens untendered, the ponds full of green slime, the decking round the pool is splintering and had a nail sticking out (on which i cut my foot). The tiles in the pool are cracked, the pool had leaves in, the loungers were covered in dust and dirt.

The quality of the food was the most disappointing aspect, however. Dinner on our first night was the worst we had in the Philippines (including street food) and cost us around GBP80. My sashimi was frozen, and tofu so oily i couldn't eat it. My husband's pork belly consisted of nothing but fat. The food improved on the second day (was the chef absent on the first?) but still fell far below our expectations for a USD500 a night hotel.

In addition, the service was very poor - the staff's level of English was very poor, with (eg) three people and a five-minute coversation required to establish whether they would serve wine by the glass. It look 7 people ten minutes to present our bill to us on check out, despite the fact that they had 12 hours' notice of our departure. Despite there being 9 members of staff in the restaurant (by the pool) and just 2 of us by the pool, we had to approach them when we wanted to order food - they did not come over to offer us a towel or a drink. Then when we were served drinks, the staff did not collect the empty glasses, meaning that there were ants all over our glasses by the end of the day.

Overall, a very poor experience. For the prices that Eskaya charge, you would expect something spectacular. Granted, no accomodation we found outside Manila was anywhere near spectacular, but this place needs a lot of work if it is to become world class.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate12345_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Eskaya Resort exceeded my expectations from a resort in Bohol. I have stayed in other resorts 5 years ago but my Eskaya experience was unique and something to remember. The welcoming part and check-in to the resort was done in a Balai - resort room accommodation which is a private villa. The staff welcomes you with a lei and native delicacies. We had to ride the golf carts to our "Balai". The staff who was a college graduate with HRM (Hotel Restaurant Management) degree gave us an orientation to the resort property and the amenities. The restaurant experience was magnificent - food was excellent and service was exceptionally superb. My husband prefers the authentic Boholoano cooking - all his requests were accommodated from the native chocolate to the hot pepper in vinegar. The beach was calm, clean and serene. We were spoiled with someone attending to our needs all the time while we were there. I enjoyed eating breakfast on the deck overlooking the beach. It was a grand vacation experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cynthiamay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews