We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort quality is really good, but needs improvement on other areas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eskaya Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Panglao Island
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Chose to propose to my girlfriend in this resort after reading on the exclusivity and how secluded the area is. Had a small plan laid out on how to do the proposal maximizing the resort's amenities. They after all had 10 villas only, but this is before the expansion.

The room is top-notch, having your own infinity pool (which was quite sizable) is great for taking a dip right after waking up or after an afternoon nap. I also liked the outdoor shower and bath, which of course was still private but it's a good design.

Others would complain about the mosquitoes but the resort does provide the repellant lotion complimentary. You can't do much about the mosquitoes since the Philippines is really tropical in climate almost all-year-round, so do bring other items to keep the mosquitoes away if you'd like.

The food was quite pricey, taste wasn't the greatest but it was above-average. The spa was great, we went for some spa services and they don't skimp on what you get.

If anything, the one thing I would complain about is the quality of the pillows. They were flat, thus didn't offer any head/neck support at all. But then again, maybe I should have asked them to replace the pillows.

I would recommend the place for couples who're looking for time to themselves and no one else.

Room Tip: Choose the villa with the infinity pool and the view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kwokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

250 - 254 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2012

At first glance, this is a 5 star resort, however, management at this hotel lost their opporunity to turn this beautiful resort into something great. The rooms are fantastic but when you are paying a minimum of US$700 a night, you expect excellent service to go along with it. Unfortunately, while the staff tries hard, the hotel has not invested in proper training to have them at the level required for their price point.
Rooms - Beautifully decorated local style, large suites with complete ammenities. The bathroom is open air/outdoors, which is nice in theory but you're in the tropics so you can get bitten by a mosquito or spied on by a lizard or rained on. My kids were attacked by mosquitos in the room as well, they provide mosquito net to sleep in but it was dusty.
Internet - free WIFI included
Food - food is decent
Service - the staff is very friendly and they try hard but the service is VERY VERY slow when you order a la carte. It tooks over an hour for a plate of pasta with tomatoe sauce. At this price point, service needs to be impeccable. Staff needs to anticipate guests needs. The hotel needs to invest in proper training. All of this was missing.
Pool - very nice infinity pool overlooking the beach
Beach - white sand, depending on the time of year, could be choppy

Bohol has a lot to offer, the chocolate hills, whale shark/dolfin watching, tarshier monkey.

Room Tip: Suites with pool are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

A beautiful location and a pleasant enough place, but somehow lacking anything too special. Certainly not good value for money, looks a bit tired. The food was overall quite ordinary - although the spa was lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SGC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

in an amazing area of Philippines, Panglao.
very good service, very nice location and will go back again with no question.
The private villa with pool is the choice to stay at this place.
The restaurant is great and the breakfast is very very good.
Please do not hesitate to ask for private diner by the beach or by the pool.
And the fresh cocktails are very good.
the spa is really nice and good massage there

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank francoistiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This is more the kind of resort you might pay USD200 for in Thailand. The room was lovely and the staff tried very hard - but other areas were severely lacking in quality. The resort overall appears run down and lacking attention to detail - the walkways are cracked, the gardens untendered, the ponds full of green slime, the decking round the pool is splintering and had a nail sticking out (on which i cut my foot). The tiles in the pool are cracked, the pool had leaves in, the loungers were covered in dust and dirt.

The quality of the food was the most disappointing aspect, however. Dinner on our first night was the worst we had in the Philippines (including street food) and cost us around GBP80. My sashimi was frozen, and tofu so oily i couldn't eat it. My husband's pork belly consisted of nothing but fat. The food improved on the second day (was the chef absent on the first?) but still fell far below our expectations for a USD500 a night hotel.

In addition, the service was very poor - the staff's level of English was very poor, with (eg) three people and a five-minute coversation required to establish whether they would serve wine by the glass. It look 7 people ten minutes to present our bill to us on check out, despite the fact that they had 12 hours' notice of our departure. Despite there being 9 members of staff in the restaurant (by the pool) and just 2 of us by the pool, we had to approach them when we wanted to order food - they did not come over to offer us a towel or a drink. Then when we were served drinks, the staff did not collect the empty glasses, meaning that there were ants all over our glasses by the end of the day.

Overall, a very poor experience. For the prices that Eskaya charge, you would expect something spectacular. Granted, no accomodation we found outside Manila was anywhere near spectacular, but this place needs a lot of work if it is to become world class.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate12345_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
1.5 km away
Amorita Resort
Amorita Resort
#1 of 15 in Panglao
1,513 reviews
0.9 km away
South Palms Resort
South Palms Resort
#1 of 49 in Panglao Island
903 reviews
1.9 km away
Henann Resort Alona Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
#4 of 49 in Panglao Island
1,421 reviews
1.4 km away
Bohol Beach Club
Bohol Beach Club
#3 of 49 in Panglao Island
880 reviews
8.3 km away
Mithi Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eskaya Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eskaya Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Barangay Tawala | Barangay Tawala, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Panglao Island
#4 Spa Hotel in Panglao Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Panglao Island
#6 Luxury Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range: $345 - $1,822 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eskaya Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Eskaya Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eskaya Beach Resort And Spa
Eskaya Beach Hotel Panglao Island
Eskaya Beach Resort & Spa Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing