We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A unique place to stay on an island untouched by...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
3 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Beach Rental -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wasini Island, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jaffa1720...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A unique place to stay on an island untouched by tourism”
Reviewed 20 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Wasini Island is a beautiful place to get away from all the hustle and bustle for a peaceful and relaxing holiday untouched by tourism. We spent 3 wonderful nights at the Banda Mlimini.

Overlooking the sea it is nestled in amongst some lovely trees, plants and flowers with just a couple of monkeys, cats and exquisite birds for company. The banda is large and beautifully made using traditional natural materials and it feels like you are sleeping in the outdoors and at one with nature. The amenities are comfortable, stylish, and eco-friendly.

Amina and Feisal were welcoming, friendly and helpful . Feisal was very patient with my children taking time to help them feel at ease with snorkelling and the following day took us on a short boat trip where we saw some beautiful corals and fish. On the way he spotted an octopus and showed us how to capture and kill it. We cooked it for dinner and it was delicious.

I would highly recommend staying at this unique and beautiful place and will definitely return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beauty and serenity
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2016
Dear Tracey, it was a real pleasure hosting you. We enjoy sharing this piece of nature with guests and especially love to introduce children to the marvels of our underwater world. We are looking forward having you with us again some time in the future!
P.S.: a special thanks to John for the lovely note he left for us
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rejoicing
Ngong, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I had visited Wasini Island twice in the past, spending two nights with local villagers and eating with the families, plus staying one night at the lodge. The other time I only did the snorkeling tour and had the seafood lunch afterwards without spending the night.

However... this time I was pleased to discover Blue Monkey Cottages! Feisal and Amina run their business very professionally but also with a lot of warmth and friendliness. They definately are a cut above the other options!

The Banda Mlimani is a fabulously constructed structure, and also has a nice view of the channel. The meals were absolutely delicious, with Amina at the helm!

My family loved the fishing excursion. We all also thoroughly loved the dolphin and snorkeling cruise. We saw several dolphin just alongside our boat. Feisal was great teaching my grandchildren how to snorkel with confidence. They got to see sea turtles and star fish, in addition to all the beautiful fish.

We also enjoyed the boardwalk and coral garden, with Feisal as our guide. Additionally he told us about their admirable efforts in the community with the youth, Wasini's future generation of leaders.

I'm already dreaming of my next visit and am 110% sure I will book with them again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2016
It was a pleasure to host you and your family in Banda Mlimani at Blue Monkey Beach Cottages. We deeply hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once again! ...and warm greetings from Captain Ali of Blue Whale Boat Operators!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre P
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A small piece of paradise”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Quiet, relaxing, simple and perfect place to escape from Nairobi or any big cities. Amina and Faisal welcomed us on Wasini and helped us to organise the trip from Mombasa to Shimoni and then to the island. Everything was smooth and they were extremely responsive by email about any topics. Prices were good money for value, very clear and no bad surprise.

We spent 2 nights split over 1 cottage and 1 big banda. The banda is spacious and spotless clean. A great terrace offers a view on the sea and the surrounding vegetation is lush. There's no powergrid on the island and no tap water but Amina and Faisal have arranged for solar lamps and large buckets of fresh water. We also enjoyed having fresh meals at their place and couldn't resist in succulent sea food plates, including crab and lobster!

The stay was very cosy and the only regret was that it was too short, we'd have enjoyed travelling over the island (clearly can take 1 good day just walking around through the tiny villages, coral garden and huge baobabs). We shall be back !

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2016
Thank you Pierre for your review - it was a pleasure hosting you and your group of friends. We are looking forward to your next visit - there is still so much more to explore at sea and on land! Well, the snorkeling equipment is ready for you! All the best in the meantime, Amina and Feisal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing