We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,285)
Filter reviews
1,285 results
Traveller rating
432
534
207
71
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
432
534
207
71
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews american bar the cliff breakfast room lovely hotel overlooking the sea pastries pool side catania airport diving school nice pool room was large relaxing stay hotel restaurant amazing location a ground floor room plenty of sun loungers small terrace
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 1,285 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017

You need a hire car to enjoy this one as it is pleasantly a couple of miles away from the hectic streets of Catania, well positioned for visits to Taormina and Etna. Our room in Sept 17 was clean and comfortable, and nicely quiet.
If you want the bland reaches of a Hilton or Sheraton this isn't for you: it is marvellously Italian, with a huge, sexy pool and sophisticated accompanying bar positioned right on the cliff - think Nice or St Raphael. We thoroughly enjoyed the calm depths of this huge site, the louche bars with deep, cream sofas, the restaurant with a massive external terrace well inhabited by local wedding beauties and their severe be-suited fathers. It's popular with better-off locals - for example, during our week there the upmarket round-Etna car rally was based in the hotel, deep green Ferraris posing with their tops off beside loud red E-types and the modest presence of the odd MG Midget... must have been 50 cars there for four days as they swapped stories of big-ends and lava..
For us, while breakfast was perfectly satisfactory (hot and cold Northern European stuff, pastries, sliced meats, etc) the best thing was dinner. We visit many hotels in Europe and the Northern US; this kitchen measured up well - we ate differently every night for five nights both skilfully prepared amberjack, shelled and poached fish subtly treated, as well as simply delicious local liver, pork, pistachio sauces ... you get the idea. The original plan was to eat out in the evenings but it was difficult to see what would have been gained by going elsewhere. We also liked the increasing wittiness of the young staff as they became used to us - most appealing...
Stick to the Sheraton though if you don't like adventure.... you will leave room for us in the lefthand corner of that upstairs bar, just by the window - and in the distance, mainland Italy winks on the horizon. No wonder the Romans stayed.......

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicholas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We stayed for five nights at Baia Verde, the main things letting the hotel down are the location which is around 25Euros for a single trip to the centre of catania, there are no bars or restaurants in the local area and only a few other hotels, nothing within walking distance really, the local bus service stops every 40minutes past the hour and you need tickets from the sheraton hotel across the way that sells them, in retrospect a hire car would be ideal, the hotel has free parking.
The pool area and access to the sea is beautiful, its well maintained and the staff are friendly and attentive, the facade of the hotel could do with a facelift and lick of paint but there are no major issues worth noting.
At booking I didnt specify a room type and we were slightly disappointed as the photos on the website were nothing like the room, it was basic, had no balcony and slightly dingy, however it was clean and the bathroom was lovely, although a few days the cleaners mopped with filthy water which left a bad smell in the room.
The restaurant seemed more interested in the weddings that were booked every other day than helping hotel customers, we were more or less ignored twice when trying to enquire about food, in the end we just had snacks at the pool bar where the staff were more than happy to help us, however be warned the prices are extortionate ie cocktails 10euro, salads around 14euro no hot food here.
Breakfast is dismal, its included with the price but was basically a limited supply of bread and cheese and cereals, not even worth going to.
I would return, but only with a hire car, and I would want a ground floor room with a terrace or upper balcony.

Room Tip: Upper and lower have balcony and terrace, mid floor are basic no balcony
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank sonicyouth00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Do not take notice of the pictures on line, they are taken a long time ago. This place is not only in desperate need of a refit, it needs a deep clean. The Sheraton is across the road, and its less money. there is a trip advisor excellence award dated 2014 behind reception, I really dont now how. Close it and get a refit!!

Room Tip: Sheraton hotel across the road, I am not joking.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 123j321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Just outside Catania. You walk into a medium sized lobby, walk out of the back & Wow! Lovely sea views, a pool glistening & terraces of volcanic rock pools. Our room was on one of the wings and opened into the gardens. I’d ask for a Garden room. We were just lucky. The upstairs rooms all have balconies. Personal preference really. I loave a garden

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

One can see that this was once a good, four-star hotel. However, it is now looking dated and needs refurbishment. Nevertheless, everywhere was very clean and the room was comfortable, with effective air-conditioning. The position, overlooking the sea, is excellent, but - be warned - you need to be a good swimmer to bathe from the rocks. The pool is attractive, however, and backed by trees and shrubs. Also a plus is the free, on-site parking.
On the negative side, the wi-fi is very slow, and there is nothing to do around the hotel. In fact, you will be at a disadvantage without a hire car. The nearest decent restaurants are a short drive away in Aci Castello, right opposite the Norman castle; a very pleasant place to eat.
We only ate in the hotel on the first night. The food was dreadful, and very expensive. We order swordfish (pesche spada involtini): a typical Sicilian way of cooking swordfish by rolling thin slices of the fish around a stuffing of various types e.g. fish, olives, anchovies etc., depending on the chef. Ours were coated in dry breadcrumbs and tasted like they were stuffed with breadcrumbs too! They were accompanied by king prawns in batter. They'd made no attempt to de-vein the two prawns and the batter was thick and flabby - a horrible main dish which cost 18 Euros, plus an outrageous 8 Euros for one portion of chips, though at least they were edible. The staff were surly and our table was dark. The tables had battery-operated lights but it seemed that no-one had bothered to replace the batteries. Thankfully the breakfast was better, though not spectacularly good. This hotel is well-situated if you want to explore the east and south-east of Sicily. If it were possible I would give it 3 and a half stars out of five.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank handel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews