We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stew with a View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Baia Verde
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Aci Castello
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Arrived at the Baia Verde Hotel Iin Catania via 2 buses from Catania Airport paying a total of €18 for the 3 of us.The receptionist was a young obliging chap who booked us into room 236 a double bed awaited us together with a sofa bed the room afforded an excellent view of the sea,the hotel is well furnished and has spacious grounds.There is a spa and gym plus a diving school with equipment on hand as the hotel is next to the sea.
The evening we arrived on preparing to retire we noticed that the sofa bed was uneven and appealed to our dear receptionist that all was not well to which he replied something to do with being a budget deal?? But afterwards suggested another mattress.In the morning we discovered the sofa bed was buckled and twisted....they then promptly gave us a replacement bed.The Breakfast was a help yourself buffet with cereal consisting of cocoa pops or cornflakes or sugar coated granola.One could also opt for the watery scrambled egg and the fat with bacon,there was an assortment of cakes too which I found odd at such an early time...when in Rome??
We felt an excursion to mount Etna a must and upon enquiring as to the cost was told €35 which seemed fairly reasonable but what they forgot to tell us was once arriving you need other forms of transport to reach the summit which add to the bill.
Despite the hiccups we enjoyed ourselves but unfortunately Basil wasn’t far away...
As we had an early flight we opted for a taxi booking it the day before at the going rate of €40 but to our consternation the taxi failed to appear on time....So with the clock ticking away I made my protestations after 15 minutes one arrived albeit more expensive by €20 at least we managed to get our flight..phew.

Room Tip: We had a courtyard room which is at the rear of hotel afforded a sea view,noise was absent
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank tonyjuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

You need a hire car to enjoy this one as it is pleasantly a couple of miles away from the hectic streets of Catania, well positioned for visits to Taormina and Etna. Our room in Sept 17 was clean and comfortable, and nicely quiet.
If you want the bland reaches of a Hilton or Sheraton this isn't for you: it is marvellously Italian, with a huge, sexy pool and sophisticated accompanying bar positioned right on the cliff - think Nice or St Raphael. We thoroughly enjoyed the calm depths of this huge site, the louche bars with deep, cream sofas, the restaurant with a massive external terrace well inhabited by local wedding beauties and their severe be-suited fathers. It's popular with better-off locals - for example, during our week there the upmarket round-Etna car rally was based in the hotel, deep green Ferraris posing with their tops off beside loud red E-types and the modest presence of the odd MG Midget... must have been 50 cars there for four days as they swapped stories of big-ends and lava..
For us, while breakfast was perfectly satisfactory (hot and cold Northern European stuff, pastries, sliced meats, etc) the best thing was dinner. We visit many hotels in Europe and the Northern US; this kitchen measured up well - we ate differently every night for five nights both skilfully prepared amberjack, shelled and poached fish subtly treated, as well as simply delicious local liver, pork, pistachio sauces ... you get the idea. The original plan was to eat out in the evenings but it was difficult to see what would have been gained by going elsewhere. We also liked the increasing wittiness of the young staff as they became used to us - most appealing...
Stick to the Sheraton though if you don't like adventure.... you will leave room for us in the lefthand corner of that upstairs bar, just by the window - and in the distance, mainland Italy winks on the horizon. No wonder the Romans stayed.......

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We stayed for five nights at Baia Verde, the main things letting the hotel down are the location which is around 25Euros for a single trip to the centre of catania, there are no bars or restaurants in the local area and only a few other hotels, nothing within walking distance really, the local bus service stops every 40minutes past the hour and you need tickets from the sheraton hotel across the way that sells them, in retrospect a hire car would be ideal, the hotel has free parking.
The pool area and access to the sea is beautiful, its well maintained and the staff are friendly and attentive, the facade of the hotel could do with a facelift and lick of paint but there are no major issues worth noting.
At booking I didnt specify a room type and we were slightly disappointed as the photos on the website were nothing like the room, it was basic, had no balcony and slightly dingy, however it was clean and the bathroom was lovely, although a few days the cleaners mopped with filthy water which left a bad smell in the room.
The restaurant seemed more interested in the weddings that were booked every other day than helping hotel customers, we were more or less ignored twice when trying to enquire about food, in the end we just had snacks at the pool bar where the staff were more than happy to help us, however be warned the prices are extortionate ie cocktails 10euro, salads around 14euro no hot food here.
Breakfast is dismal, its included with the price but was basically a limited supply of bread and cheese and cereals, not even worth going to.
I would return, but only with a hire car, and I would want a ground floor room with a terrace or upper balcony.

Room Tip: Upper and lower have balcony and terrace, mid floor are basic no balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sonicyouth00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Do not take notice of the pictures on line, they are taken a long time ago. This place is not only in desperate need of a refit, it needs a deep clean. The Sheraton is across the road, and its less money. there is a trip advisor excellence award dated 2014 behind reception, I really dont now how. Close it and get a refit!!

Room Tip: Sheraton hotel across the road, I am not joking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 123j321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Just outside Catania. You walk into a medium sized lobby, walk out of the back & Wow! Lovely sea views, a pool glistening & terraces of volcanic rock pools. Our room was on one of the wings and opened into the gardens. I’d ask for a Garden room. We were just lucky. The upstairs rooms all have balconies. Personal preference really. I loave a garden

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aci Castello
0.5 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Catania Hotel & Conference Center
0.7 km away
4 Spa Resort Hotel
4 Spa Resort Hotel
#4 of 11 in Aci Castello
723 reviews
8.3 km away
NH Catania Parco Degli Aragonesi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
UNA Hotel Palace
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 49 in Catania
1,831 reviews
37 km away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#36 of 87 in Taormina
692 reviews
2.7 km away
Plaza Hotel Catania
Plaza Hotel Catania
#6 of 49 in Catania
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Baia Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Baia Verde

Address: Via Angelo Musco 8/10, 95021, Aci Castello, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Aci Castello
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aci Castello
Price Range: $142 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Baia Verde 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Baia Verde is a 4 star hotel in Catania facing the seawith 147 Rooms, Swimming Pool, Private Rocky Beach, Spa, Meeting Rooms, Restaurant,Roof Garden,Free Parking Area,American Bar and Scuba Diving School.The Hotel has 147 rooms different in typology (Classic & Superior Rooms, with sea view, Deluxe, Family room, Business Suite, Junior Suites and Suites) smart furnished all equipped with: air-conditioning TV LED HD 32'', Pay TV, SKY TV, frigobar, safe,telephone and Free Wi-FI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, HotelsClick, Wotif.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Baia Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Aci Castello
Grand Hotel Baia Verde Province Of Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing