We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pizza in town”

Il Gabbiano Bar Pizzeria
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Lotzorai
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

We asked at the information kiosk where to get a great pizza and they mentioned this one
It was a GREAT suggestion, very thin pizza but still between crispy and juicy
A great collection of ingredients to pick from and the sea view is just beautiful while the prices are between 7 and 12 euros
Service is also fast and friendly
Been there twice and will go again

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank TheWorldsTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2018

The restaurant makes fish'dishes and pizza. I've got a salad with arugula and octopus but to be quite honest the octopus was just a hint...Beacuse of the location I was expected to have a more impressive dish

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank manuela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

We've been visiting Il Gabbiano over 15 years when the beach pizzeria at Tancau was just the Summer location of the smaller home pizzeria on the main drag in Girasole near Hotel L'Ulivo. In all that time the pizza menu had been extensive and consistent.
The view is spectacular at sunset looking as it does out to what must have been the model for Tracey Island in the Thunderbirds!
If you've come in a motor home il Gabbiano is s no brainier overnight stay as there's a camping park next door and it's only shouting distance from Santa Maria Naverese Sagra Della Capra in July.
Anyway, the pizze . . . Good bread ('cos it's all about the bread) thin and not overly crispy but not too soft. Sourdough non ce but toppings good with fresca types with rocket or prosciutto crudo (Soho pizza in London) the star of the show.
Medina has fresh tomato, rocket and parmigiano but you can go for local specialities with octopus or bottarga (tastes like ear wax to me unless you suck it from the top of your mouth!).
By for me a Napoli or Sicilians with tomato, mozzarella, capers, anchovies and maybe black olive is my starter. If you are sharing a quattro formaggi is hard to beat il Gabbiano.
Vino? Try a carafe of the local Rosato. Filieri in a bottle is nice but not really worth the premium. Red - Tancau of carafe. White Terre Bianco or see if they have the champagne beater Torbato.
Service - same pizzaiolo since at least 1999.
Price - top whack €12 but average €8-9 starting at €6 for teenage patate frite which sorts out the most pleb of English children.
Drawbacks - you have to go home sometime! I don't know. A pizzeria with a better view at sunset.
What's not to like about il Gabbiano?

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Squisito_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

Simple restaurant, in front of the beach. Friendly service, good pizza. If you are looking for a fancy dinner that is bot the perfect place, but if you want to eat a pizza in a relaxed atmosfere that's a good option

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank marinam646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015 via mobile

We read about the slow service and were therefore a little nervous before going there. It was the nearest place to where we had been.
Here was our surprise. We got served immediately and the pizzas came even too fast. They must have improved since the bad reviews.
I recommend the pizzas to everyone staying close. Nothing special though.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank Dikkko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Gabbiano Bar Pizzeria also viewed

Baunei, Province of Ogliastra
Santa Maria Navarrese, Province of Ogliastra
 
Santa Maria Navarrese, Province of Ogliastra
Lotzorai, Province of Ogliastra
 
Santa Maria Navarrese, Province of Ogliastra
Santa Maria Navarrese, Province of Ogliastra
 

Been to Il Gabbiano Bar Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing