We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper Greek food with great Greek hospitality”

Maracaibo Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 93 Restaurants in Kissamos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 3 - USD 11
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Tucked away in the small village of Koleni about 6km from Kissamos , This is a true gem, Yannis the owner and host is a walking menu explaining what he has fresh what will be ready soon, The cooking is taken care of by Yannis Mum and a grand job she does. The first visit I had the pork cooked slowly in the wood fired oven , absolutly heavenly. The side dishes are fab too with the best Createn salad ever,

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Terryk67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 113 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

Great traditional food. Very good environment and design. The staff is very friendly and the food delicious.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Κώστας Μ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

If you want to taste Cretan traditional cuisine, this is the right place!!! Just Visit Giannis and his family in Koleni village. taste his meat , vegetables all the ingredients that he use are amazing!!! try mousaka baked in the wood oven , mpoureki , tsigariasto and his salad with mizithra , also try his red wine!!! i put A' cause in his food , hospitality and the traditioal decoration of this taverna are perfect!!!!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MARIA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

If we could only recommend one single restaurant in the whole island... Maracaibo is the one we would pick. Heartwarming waiter/host, delicious dishes and cozy atmosphere turned a dinner into a memorable experience. 5 star! Efjaristo :)

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Cristian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

It's nearly 17 months since or last visit and any changes have been for the better. Our return was on Good Friday evening and so they had been busy throughout the day with locals and visitors who had been at the Good Friday Bazaar in nearby Kissamos. The waiter/son was apologegetic for the lack of remaining specials as most of these had been finished by the earlier customers. However there was still plenty of good Cretan food to satisfy us. Along with our grilled bread drizzled with olive oil we had tzatziki, some of which we held back for my main dish. For mains we had Boureki and pork steak which were both delicious. Two beers, a littre of red wine and copious amounts of raki later we left satisfied and glad we had returned.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maracaibo Restaurant also viewed

 
Neo Chorio, Kissamos
Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
 
Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Maracaibo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing