We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful space, great baked goods, good coffee”
Review of El Hojaldre

El Hojaldre
Ranked #1 of 7 Coffee & Tea in Chihuahua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 5 - USD 12
Cuisines: Healthy
Description: El Hojaldre is a restaurant that is commited with all the processes and products it serves. It serves plates that are inspired on mexican traditional food, as well as italian and a mixture of other cultures with a unique and particular style. It also offers a confortable space with vintage details and architecture of colonial times in Chihuahua.
Restaurant details
Description: El Hojaldre is a restaurant that is commited with all the processes and products it serves. It serves plates that are inspired on mexican traditional food, as well as italian and a mixture of other cultures with a unique and particular style. It also offers a confortable space with vintage details and architecture of colonial times in Chihuahua.
Reviewed 19 September 2018

This restaurant is in a thoughtfully restored and repurposed adobe home near the city center. They make their own pastries and baked goods and do a very good job at it. They serve excellently made coffee drinks (Americanos, Espressos, etc.). They also serve bigger dishes like pastas and other dishes, which we did not try. We had their pastries, which are top-notch, and bread - hard to find Brioche and a more rustic bread, very good. I highly recommend this place if you're in downtown Chihuahua. It's very quiet and peaceful.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Honamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

It was so good and the stuff really kindly.... even the place is treated as if it was your home.
Silvia from Italy

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank spiritella86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Nice locations close to the city center.
We had a very tasty and abundant breakfast with different plates - eggs, tarts & French toast, fruits with cereal and yogurt together with cafe de olla. The food was delicious and the waitresses are very attentive. We would definitely come back.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank isande2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Decoration is cozy, people are friendly, but they lack a proper kitchen there are not enough utensils and this makes them way too slow. How slow? Well I waited more than 1 hour and 15 minutes for a couple of fried eggs (from the moment I order to the moment they arrived.)

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Travel_Enthusiast_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessa G, Gerente at El Hojaldre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Hello. Thank you for your comment. We want to get better at this point, we know sometimes the process we put into our plates takes more time than expected and we are working on it. We hope you give us another opportunity some other time.
We want to let you know we moved to another adress, so if you ever want to visit again, you can find us at Allende #200, two blocks form the other place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

A delicious experience, great food by chef, great price, great service. Food takes time but it is worth if you are a lover of organic and fresh food. Portions are individual but sufficient.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SuzDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessa G, Gerente at El Hojaldre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thank you for your comment. We want to let you know that we moved our adrees two blocks from the other place, so if you are back in the city, you can find us at Allende #200.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Hojaldre also viewed

Chihuahua, Chihuahua
Chihuahua, Chihuahua
 
 
Chihuahua, Chihuahua
 

Been to El Hojaldre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing