We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect base for Co. Clare holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Brook Cottage

Brook Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brook Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Brook Cottage
Rear patio area
Outside
Play area for children
Small stream around Brook Cottage
The Dolmen
The famous Cliffs of Moher
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Kilfenora, The Burren, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Lena L
2 reviews
“Perfect base for Co. Clare holiday”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We met PJ and Margaret at pre-arranged time at Burren Centre in Kilfenora and followed them out the road to Brook Cottage. The cottage is in a very peaceful and beautiful setting which is a bonus (no internet access and very limited phone signal). PJ and Margaret were very friendly and told us all we needed to know. Cake/buns were out on the kitchen table on arrival with fresh milk in the fridge too. They didn't last long with our 3 children! We had a very busy week with visits to Lahinch beach, the Burren, Bunratty Castle and Folk Park, Ailwee Caves and a few more places too. Everywhere was under an hour drive away so this is the perfect place to stay. We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2014
Hi Lena & Family,
Thank you very much for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay at Brook Cottage. It was a pleasure to have you. Hope to see you again in the future. Best regards, Margaret.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa O
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
“Lovely hospitality and beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We were met by Margaret and Pj at the Burren Centre at the time specified and they drove in front of us just a few minutes away to the lovely Brook Cottage. What a beautiful cottage with plenty space inside and out for our two little girls to run around. It felt like our home for the week. The rooms were laid out so well with lovely fresh linen and towels provided. The kitchen had everything we could have needed, plenty utensils, i felt right at home, absolutely loved the kitchen. Washing line out the back and pegs provided was great to have with two small children, washing machine and dryer also provided. Our two girls had a brillant time and were sad to leave Brook Cottage. They really took to Margaret and Pj as they were so friendly and kind to them. Margaret and Pj are a lovely couple with warm hearts and were very approachable and helpful. Pj was great to fill us in on all the local activities and reccomend places to see. The cottage is very central and we were only 15 to 20 minutes away from all the local sites and attractions. Thank you so much Margaret and Pj, we highly reccommend your beautiful cottage and hope to see you both again.

Lisa, Damien & Family Cork

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Kitchen and utensils
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2014
Hi Lisa, Damien and girls,
Thank you very much for your lovely review and compliments. It was a pleasure to have you stay at Brook Cottage. Hope you got home safely! Looking forward to seeing you back in Kilfenora in the future.

Regards,
Margaret & PJ
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bgrif1953
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delightful Cottage & Wonderful Hosts”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We were met by Margaret and PJ (pictured above in the photos) precisely on time at the Burren Center in Kilfenora and led down to Brook Cottage. It's down a narrow lane and gravel drive, about a km out of Kilfenora. The cottage is exactly as shown in the photos, other than the lounge being a bit dark for reading and the rooms are actually larger than they seem in the photos. Margaret and PJ were absolutely enchanting from the first, with PJ regaling us with tales as were shown around. The cottage was spotlessly clean and very well appointed with utensils, cooking items, etc. There is a washer and a dryer, dishwasher, and a peat stove in the lounge-which already had a blazing fire when we arrived! The kitchen is huge and bright with a large table. We had a nice home-cooked meal one evening and many good breakfasts of local eggs and toasted buttermilk soda bread.
There are two brooks that merge next to the cottage (hence the name), so there is always a wonderful lilt from the streams. There is also a resident hare and a cuckoo!
All of us who were visiting are typically early risers. Brook Cottage's setting is so quite and dark that we slept like happy babes. The road to the village is walkable, but uphill into town with a fair amount of traffic, so we usually just drove.
The only caveat I would mention is probably only for us spoiled Americans. As usual with rentals, there is a charge for the utilities used--no surprise, but we did lots of laundry and left the boiler on more than needed so the charge was more than expected. Margaret and PJ were almost apologetic about that, but it was all down to us and could have been easily avoided by more conservative usage. Cell phone signal was poor at the cottage.
We would definitely stay at Brook Cottage again and I recommend it to anyone who wants a beautiful, quiet setting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, beautiful setting
Liked least: No cell service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2014
Hi Brad & family,
Thank you for your lovely review! Glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope you got home safely. See you in Kilfenora soon again!
Regards,
Margaret & PJ
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol C
Kenora, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Feels like home”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We would highly recommend Brook Cottage for your stay in Southern Ireland. Margaret and PJ welcomed us with open arms and that was to set the environment for the stay. The cottage is delightful and it feels like home away from home. It is an excellent location to stay and travel around Southwestern Ireland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Country feeling
Liked least: Not knowing what electricity or oil would cost but it was reasonable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2014
Hi Carol & Tom,
Thank you for your lovely review. Hope you and Tom got home ok!
See you both back at Brook Cottage again in the future.
Regards,
Margaret & PJ
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blankenhain
Reviewed 26 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Apr 2014
Hi Anneile,
Thank you for the review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope you can stay longer the next time. Looking forward to seeing you back in Brook Cottage again soon.
All the best.
Margaret.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing