We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A romantic gem by the harbour”
other travellers have booked this property
Cottage on Road above Harbour
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage on Road above Harbour
Kitchen/Dining Area - Cooker/Washing Machine/Fridge etc Lounge Area with wall mounted TV/DVD
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
Cottage on Road above Harbour
Kitchen/Dining Area - Cooker/Washing Machine/Fridge etc
Lounge Area with wall mounted TV/DVD
Lounge with Cosy Fire
Cottage (Now has additional porch on side)
Bedroom
Bedroom View over the Bay
Bedroom with TV/DVD
Bedroom with en-suite
Bedroom View
Bathroom with Shower
Bathroom with Corner Bath
Gardenstown from the Sea
Boats in the Harbour
Gardenstown Beach
Seals on the Rocks
Piping - Bay and 'Muckle Rock'
Fantastic Birdlife
Boats in the Harbour
Sun Setting over the Harbour
Dolphins in the Bay
New Porch
Beach with the 'Apostles'
St John's Historic Churchyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Gardenstown, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
babs089
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A romantic gem by the harbour”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We loved our week in this converted net store ideal for a couple with pooch. Tastefully converted and furnished and loved the window in the bedroom overlooking the harbour as the afternoon sun streams in. We walked everywhere in glorious weather, barefoot on the beach in shorts and tea shirts. A very friendly village and recommend the local crafts in the new ground. Delightful walk to Crovie. Recommend drive to Pennan. Only negative No dogs allowed in the Garden Arms Hotel and too hot to leave our dog in the car! Hopefully we can come for Two weeks next time please!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2017
So pleased you had a lovely time at the cottage and in the village. Great you got brilliant weather - you can't always guarantee that. You're both ... and your dog ... very welcome and we look forward to you staying again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxie M
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place!”
Reviewed 14 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Just back from a great week at Harbour Cottage - fabulous location on the Moray Coast, just steps from the North Sea and the harbor, in the sweet town of Gardenstown (aka, Gamrie). We used the reliable public transportation (buses) to get there, and during the week for shopping in Banff. The self-catering cottage has everything you need...well-supplied kitchen, wifi, very clean and comfortable, great light, open space. Met lovely people at the local, the Garden Arms...both residents and visitors like us. Beautiful, relatively easy, walks to the east and west. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope you managed to get some great photos. It was a pleasure and you are welcome any time!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stay67463...
1 review
“A super little cosy cottage”
Reviewed 31 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This is a fantastic little cottage, which is perfect for a couple. It has everything you could want and really feels like a home from home! The location is stunning and very peaceful. We will definitely be staying here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2016
So glad you enjoyed yourselves. You are welcome any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norman p
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Despite its shortcomings, an enjoyable stay in Harbour Cottage, Gardenstown”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A cosy little cottage near the harbour. A circular staircase to the upstairs bedroom so not for visitors who cannot climb stairs. Good shower, good wifi but astonishingly, no microwave which is practically standard equipment in holiday rentals. Had to clean forks, spoons before use and only one toilet roll supplied by cleaner for two people for one week! Not the most comfortable bed. Good range of CDs, videos, books and local information books and pamphlets.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, amenities
Liked least: Bed, no microwave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2016
I’m glad you enjoyed your overall stay and sorry you felt there were some shortcomings. If there are any problems at all we ask guests to get in touch with our cottage manager straight away, who is on hand to solve any issues. Harbour Cottage is a one bedroom converted net store, situated by the harbour, and the spiral stair adds charm to the property and keeps it ‘open-plan’. This is explained in the description and clearly shown in our photographs, so that those with reduced mobility may consider if the accommodation is suitable for them.

We do provide a full toilet roll, plus kitchen roll and a number of other provisions, not normally found in self catering properties. We hope that it gives our guests a good start. The cottage offers affordable accommodation and value for money. We listen to our guests and for most a microwave has not been a major consideration, as there is a large four ring cooker with oven. We ensure that all the essentials and more are there, even providing 2 TVs with DVD players. Over many years our guests have complimented us, reflected in our reviews, on what is provided for a minimal rental cost - many returning year after year. My apologises if this did not meet your particular expectations.

In respect to ease of booking there is little we can improve when handled through Trip Advisor as we have no control over this. We do however follow up with a six page information pack with full cottage details and instructions, plus contact details for all local amenities and trips. All guests have preferred a keysafe to access the cottage, as it means that they are not pressured to arrive at a specific time or make calls to meet and get keys. This we have found works very well but always welcome guests helpful comments as to how this or anything else may be improved. Thank you for your consideration.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing