We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas party”
Review of Leaves & Fishes

Leaves & Fishes
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Lovedale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 9 - USD 19
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Leaves & Fishes Restaurant is the unique dining alternative, with our proven fresh, smart and simple approach. From entering the lush, landscaped property and wandering down the path to the stylish, inside/outside restaurant overlooking a perch-filled pond, the restaurant is perfect for a relaxed, enjoyable lunch with fabulous food. Our menu features casual classics like Fish & Chips and Spiced Chicken Wings alongside fresh seasonal seafood. The Restaurant is open for lunch Thursday to Monday.
Reviewed 9 December 2019

As always this place never disappoints.Stunning food and service and the atmosphere is always perfect.Beautiful relaxed vista and as a local this is our favourite restaurant.Well done Sharon and crew.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank jandctancred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minborgersen, Marketing at Leaves & Fishes, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2020

Thank you so much John & Christine! So lovely to have you celebrate with us! Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2019

Dropped in during the week for lunch, just love the ambiance of this restaurant and grounds. We both ordered the beer battered dory off the 'Catch a Bite" menu which includes a glass of house wine. For starter we chose the ciabatta loaf and condiments. It was explained the Catch a Bite is a smaller serve of the normal meal. We found the serving adequate and certainly filled our needs. As usual the service and food at Leaves & Fishes was excellent.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Retiredwino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minborgersen, Marketing at Leaves & Fishes, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2020

Thank you so much for letting us know! Really pleased you enjoyed your experience and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2019

Traveled out Leaves and Fishes with friends from Wangi for Iunch. Our second visit in a couple of years. Found the Restaurant had made some improvements to the dinning area and a new building for sales. Food was excellent again this time. The price had risen quite a bit. Service was excellent same as last time we visited. Timing from the kitchen was spot on with each course. Wait staff and management were very helpful and friendly. Very relaxing venue over looking a very large fish pond.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank A9967NMdavidw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minborgersen, Marketing at Leaves & Fishes, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2020

Hi David, Thanks for the feedback! Really glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you on another trip to the valley!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2019

We were a reasonably large group. Most enjoyed the shared entrees and as shares plates go they were very good and value for money
For mains we had confit duck leg which was good but not great. The whole snapper was very good but one wonders about the price. I know it’s the Hunter Valley but do all restaurants have to increase the price of their dishes just because it is the Hunter Valley?
Very attentive and friendly staff.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank WellTravelledAussie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2019

A group of us went on a Saturday, we pre-booked. The restaurant itself is very quaint, it has a lovely setting and a very rustic, natural, homey feel to it. The waitresses and host are very nice.
If you go on a busy night, i would suggest ordering as soon as possible. We went on a very busy night and had to wait an extremely long time for our food. We were given extra bread to eat while we waited which was nice. I would suggest that the restaurant stagger their restaurant bookings a little more to allow for cooking time.
I had the duck, the sauce was delicious, the duck a bit dry. The bread we had as the entree was amazing.
Overall the experience was pleasant, although a tad drawn out. I'd like to go again during a lunch session to see how the food is then.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peramiell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Leaves & Fishes also viewed

 

Been to Leaves & Fishes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.