We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stop on our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Margarita's Plaza Mexicana
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Creel
Reviewed 21 August 2012

After a disappointing experience in El Fuerte, we were not sure what to expect in Creel but were pleasantly surprised By Plaza Mexicana. It is clean, charming, comfortable, and well-located. The meals are decent. It was the best night of our four-night trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trottermex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Margarita's Plaza Mexicana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2012

I stayed here only 1 night in the end because therer aren't many tourists in Creel right now and as I'm traveling on my own I struggled to get on a tour of the canyon. The hotel guys were pretty lax about helping me find a suitable tour once they had my payment for my room. Also I relate to others comments about the price and availability of rooms there. There only about 4 other guests but they swore bling the dorm room was full and wouldnt negotiate on the private room price. I seriously understand that things are tight there right now and I'm not into haggling over $5 but I don't like being lied to either. It's just bad business all round. But having said that my room was warm and comfortable.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
Thank Jet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

This place in central Creel offers good rooms, evening meal and breakfast at reasonable price. The evening meal is simple, local cuisine - recommended.
Just one word of warning if you book a tour thru' this place, then make sure you define completely what is included. We took an exppensive trip to Batopilas at 4000MEXP for 2 but the little trip from there to Satevo Mission was apparently an extra - also be aware that their hacienda in Batopilas has no food facilities.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham040642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Pleasant hotel. Staff drove van to train station and handled all luggage plus transported us to hotel. They were able to accommodate 5 couples. Breakfast and Dinner were included with price of hotel room. Food was fair. The staff was very pleasant and attentive to our needs. Good location since we were able to walk to all the shops in Creel and restaurants for lunch. Staff contracted, for us, van and driver so our group was able to view Tarahumara Indian Village and Waterfall.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pcbaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We first looked at Casa Margarita but were recommended to go to the Margarita Plaza. It turned out that if you stayed at Casa Margarita you still had to walk to the Plaza for meals. We stayed here during our wonderful visit to the magnificent Copper Canyon. We negotiated the same rate as the hostel and it included breakfast and dinner. The food was not very good but the room was nice, with tv, wifi and had a wonderful heater and very hot shower which was crucial as it was snowing outside! It's easy to walk from the train station and we got a free ride back to the station when we left. Check out the biggest supermarket which has a wood burning fire and great red wine which I recommend you take to dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geronimoturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Creel hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Posada Del Cobre
0.3 km away
Casa Margarita's
Casa Margarita's
#8 of 12 in Creel
123 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Villa Mexicana at Creel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Cabanas Claro de Luna
0.9 km away
Hotel Ecologico Temazcal
0.3 km away
Best Western The Lodge At Creel Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margarita's Plaza Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margarita's Plaza Mexicana

Address: Calle Elfido Batista s/n, Creel 33200, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Chihuahua > Copper Canyon > Creel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Creel
Price Range: $60 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Margarita's Plaza Mexicana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1979, Margarita´s has been synonymy of quality and style, keeping it's high standards through the years and competition, so if you're looking for a place to rest but also to feel surrounded by the colorfully and warmness of our country in your own room we´re the best choice. Also in terms of rates we've the best in town and of course our tradition: dinner & breakfast included. Hopefully seeing you soon Margarita's... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Margarita's Plaza Mexicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margarita`s Plaza Mexicana Hotel Creel
Margaritas Plaza Mexicana Creel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing