We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“escape the city, breathe, and relax... (and drink...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Windsor House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
1st Floor sitting room
Bunkbed room.
Ground floor sitting room to kitchen.
Petrified Forest
Certificate of Excellence
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Borth, Ceredigion, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Treebeast
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“escape the city, breathe, and relax... (and drink wine)”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 for a stay in October 2013

To be honest, the Welsh coast out-of-season didn't sound particularly attractive when my better half first presented the idea to me. I couldn't have been more wrong. In fact, I'd go as far to say as Autumn/Winter is the ideal time to go: the clouds and rain rolling in off the Irish Sea, the big horizon, that sense of getting away from everything for a week or so. If, like us, you work in a big city, then you'll really appreciate the calm here.

The house itself is well-kitted out, although the hob flummoxed us for a bit. Oh, and if you're going with a group, try to nab the top room; it really is something else.

One small gripe: we like our wines, and there ain't much in Borth. The local Londis is incredibly pricey, too (London prices), so make sure you stock up in nearby Aberystwyth.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom H
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“House, terrace, beach, sunset - splendid”
Reviewed 14 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Windsor House is perfect for a holiday. Spacious, all amenities (and more), comfortable and relaxed. The terrace at the back leads straight to the beach. You can sit there and watch the world walk by and the waves roll in. We didn't see the dolphins but the friendly neighbours did. A cafe is right across the street and the pub a few doors down. Aberyswyth is only a few minutes drive away (Ultracomida highly recommended) and see red kites at Strata Florida Abbey a few miles further on. Or just walk for miles up the beach. Brilliant all of it.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa F
shropshire, england
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It just gets better”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

I have stayed at Windsor house several times now, and I just can't tell you how much I thoroughly enjoy my time there. This was the first time that I stayed for a whole week, and even though the weather wasn't exactly kind, the time still flew.

It's a complete escape and the setting is second to none. A very comfortable base for walks along the beach and pints of real ale in the local pub. The house is toasty and welcoming after a blustery day outdoors.

We visited the National Library at Aberystwyth and were really impressed by the ancient manuscripts that they had on display. The lady on reception was very accommodating friendly.

Other places to visit is the great Spanish deli near the pier at Aber (sorry, can't remember it's name) - but such good cheeses and meats, yum! Also, the Friendship Inn at Borth is a great traditional pub that serves real ale and is incredibly quirky.

We have booked again for May and, if it keeps up these high standards, Windsor House will continue to be a firm favourite for holidays with friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmystwyt...
Pembroke
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The location of the property was ideal, straight out onto the beach from the decking. The accommodation was very comfortable and anything that you could possibly require for your stay was at the property. Have already recommeded to friends and colleagues. Will definitely book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: State of the decking
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dafydd Ge...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb location, homely, comfortable - everything you need!”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 for a stay in April 2013

This was our second stay at this fantastic house. Such a treat to be able to walk out straight from the kitchen to the beach first thing in the morning. The kids couldn't believe their eyes when they arrived - a dream come true! The house is incredibly well equipped and comfortable with plenty of space for everybody. And to top it all you can relax on the back terrace in the evening and enjoy the most spectacular sunsets over the Irish sea - heaven!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort
Liked least: notthing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing