We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great adventure on the Ocean LIght”

Bahia Sailing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Bahía Sailing Tours is a sailing charter service just north of Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. At 71 feet, our vessel – Ocean Light – is the most unique sailboat offering charter services on Banderas bay. A tropical escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, our tours will take you to some of the most spectacular destinations and best kept secrets in Banderas Bay. We also cater to all private events including engagement/weddings, corporate, yoga, LGBT and quinceañera/birthday party’s etc. Sail alongside humpback whales(in season), dolphins, Mata Rays and turtles while enjoying authentic Mexican drinks and cuisine. Swim and snorkel in crystal blue ocean waters and secluded coves, relax and enjoy the beauty of Mexico’s coastal landscape and amazing sunsets. With affordable rates and top-rated customer service, Bahía Sailing Tours offers a once in a lifetime experience.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Our family went out on the Ocean Light for the day. We had a great time. We stopped and snorkeled, did some paddle boarding and swimming in a small bay. From there we sailed across the bay looking for whales (didn't see any but it wasnt for lack of effort). Did see dolphins and fish. Justin and his crew were friendly and very accomodating. I would highly recommend Bahai Sailing. We will be going again on our next trip to Puerto Vallarta

Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BahiaSailing, Manager at Bahia Sailing Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for the great review David! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your experience. We recommend between December and early March next year for peak whale watching season--look forward to hosting you :)

- Bahia Sailing Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"these guys"
in 2 reviews
"whale watching"
in 2 reviews
"la cruz"
in 2 reviews
"turtles"
in 2 reviews
"snorkel"
in 2 reviews
"sail"
in 3 reviews
"crew"
in 5 reviews
"bay"
in 3 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

This was the perfect day for us as Justin and his crew were very flexible and provided an experience we will never forget. We enjoyed a nice calm cruise to a secluded beach where we dropped anchor and enjoyed paddle boarding, jumping in the ocean and swimming to the beach. From there we had a couple drinks and enjoyed the wonderful food which was prepared by the crew as we sailed to check out the whales. For about 1 hour we were fortunate enough to observe 8->10 whales playing in the ocean as we took it easy and enjoyed the Ocean Light and all it had to offer. Our day was capped off with a nice sail back to port. Our kids haven't stopped talking about their experience that day and my father maintains it was the highlight of his trip to Nuevo Vallarta. Thanks to Justin and his crew as we felt very privileged to be able to enjoy such a wonderful day on such a great boat with such great people.

1  Thank traveliam13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BahiaSailing, Manager at Bahia Sailing Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for the great review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your experience. What a fantastic day to see 8+ whales in one trip. We look forward to hosting you again in future.

-Bahia Sailing Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Our family chose the Yelapa Day Trip and had a great time on Friday, March 23, 2018. From booking online to returning to the marina, we all had a terrific experience. Aside from the amazing weather, we loved the sailing experience. Captain Justin greeted us at the marina gate and introduced us to Agusto and Cristian, once we climbed aboard. The Ocean Light Vancouver is a gorgeous, wooden sailboat kept clean and in pristine condition You can tell the entire crew takes pride in this vessel. We spent two hours sailing to Yelapa beach, having delicious fruit and beverages along the way.

At Yelapa, two of us paddleboarded into the beach, while the other person took the local boat to shore. Yelapa is a unique spot we enjoyed discovering. The Ocean Light crew had lunch ready for us if we wanted to eat on the boat, so you have that option if you choose not to eat in Yelapa. You can have lunch on the boat and head to shore, or you can head to shore and eat there. After three hours of exploring, swimming and lounging, we headed to the boat and enjoyed the last couple of hours sailing back to La Cruz de Huanacaxtle.

On our return journey, we saw dolphins, whales and a manta ray. Very cool! If you’re looking for a unique boat, a friendly crew and atmosphere and a great day on the water, Bahia Sailing is for you. We would highly recommend this Yelapa Day trip. Thanks so much, Justin, Agusto and Cristian, for your hospitality. You helped us create special memories in Mexico.

3  Thank AliJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BahiaSailing, Manager at Bahia Sailing Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for the great review Ali! We are so happy you enjoyed your experience aboard the Ocean Light. It's always a special sight to see dolphins and whales in one day. We look forward to hosting you again in future!

- Bahia Sailing Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Had an amazing time with Captain Justin, Augustino and Christian. Absolutely beautiful wooden sail boat. Saw several whales, dolphins lead the boat for a bit and just a great fun time. Free beer, margaritas, water and ceviche. One of the best days of my life! Will definitely do this again! Muchas gracias!

1  Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BahiaSailing, Manager at Bahia Sailing Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for the fantastic review Justin! We are so happy you enjoyed your experience. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

- Bahia Sailing Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2018

What to say, Captain Justin is awesome, the crew is awesome and wow what a boat the Ocean Light is, it was a treat to sail her on a sunny perfect day.

Captain Justin takes you to the destination but does not hesitate to detour with the sighting of a whale or other note worthy creature to see.

A powered voyage out and a sail back to the marina on a day which had all fall into place the way it should.

Thank you so much for the perfect day on the waters of Banderas Bay

Ben & Michelle

2  Thank Ben V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BahiaSailing, Manager at Bahia Sailing Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for the great review Ben! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your experience. It was a pleasure having you aboard--we look forward to your next visit!

- Bahia Sailing Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bahia Sailing Tours also viewed

La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Bahia Sailing Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing